We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswolds Gem in Oxfordshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cotswolds Gem in Oxfordshire”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek in August. The hotel was easy to find from the motorway & an ideal base to explore the Oxfordshire area. We visited Banbury, Bicester and Fringford which was the inspiration for Candleford Green (the TV series "Lark Rise to Candleford"). We also visited Blenheim Palace about 20 minutes drive away. Deddington itself is a charming Cotswolds village with a handful of shops, pubs & a coffee shop/restaurant. Our room was away from the main building, on the first floor of the courtyard area, which meant that it was quiet & we were not disturbed by the constant noise from the kitchen extraction fan (my husband had done his homework!). The room itself was fine, although a dressing table with a mirror above would have been useful for hairdrying purposes! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Overall, we had a wonderful break in a great location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet. Rooms near the kitchen at the back will be affected by the very loud nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartonsunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    188
    47
    23
    4
See reviews for
55
292
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Arrival::: It was very good, easy to find and looked like a nice place. Parking was easy.
Reception:: staff were very welcoming and very helpful, even if they seemed to be rushed of their feet.
Room :: Number 20 On entering it was really nice. A small downstairs seating area with a TV and a nice settee. The bedroom was a few stairs up was classic and cosy. Nice traditional room with everything being spotlessly clean. A nice comfy bed with crisp clean linen. A nice big TV meant we could settle in comfort.
Bar :: We met friends in the bar for a drink (Loud music) We wanted to chat not shout at each other. Prices were good and beer / wine was good value.
Restaurant :: The market menu was our deal so ordered. Soup, not much taste to it. Main meal Pork Fillet very nice bit very small, had to order extra fries to bulk the meal out. Desert was lovely.. The following night tried the al a carte menu. Nice steaks and served just right.
Checking out ::: Here comes the rub ........ We were charged £56 over the price of out stay. All the extras we had, we paid cash for on delivery. I felt sorry for the receptionist who had to sort it all out. It seems the fault lay with the restaurant. We did get it sorted in the end, but it did take the shine of an otherwise lovely stay.
Would we Return ::: Simply yes we would. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Room 20 is spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We called for an evening meal, not knowing what to expect.
We received a warm welcome, and immediately felt at home.
They obviously take a pride in their restaurant service, and the quality of their food, and we were more than pleasantly surprised at the value for money of both food and drink.
We enjoyed our visit very much, and hope to visit again next time we are in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stuhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for 3 midweek nights with friends on a Travelzoo deal which included tickets to Bletchley Park. We chose premier rooms, and at a cost of %7 pppn for DB&B it was excellent value for money. Deddington is an excellent base for visiting the NW Cotswolds, Stowe Gardens, Waddesdon Manor, Bletchley Park and much more.
Staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful and service was courteous.No complaints about the menu whcih had adequate variety. The food overall was of a high standard and nicely presented. The wine list is good and sensibly priced with a fair selection of wines available by the glass. Breakfast was a delight with food freshly cooked and real scrambled egg, not from powder which is used so much these days.
Our bedroom was spacious, but a little noisy with the window open as it overlooked the main street. The bathroom looked as if it had recently been refurbished and was spotless.
Helpful advice was available from the manager on places to visit, itineraries and best routes - couldn't have been more helpful.
The only minor negative was the bar, which is a bit small and dowdy. The atmosphere in the bar was not helped by the rather loud background music of the "thump thump" pop variety. I'm not against pop, but it wasn't appropriate in that environment and effectively made conversation impossible. Background it certainly wasn't - comment about it was made to management and I hope they take notice
Overall it didn't detract from a very enjoyable stay.We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a premier room but not room 4 which is noisy if you like to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just had a wonderful two night stay with my wife, step children and their partners, our room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and well lit.The staff are very friendly polite and professional.
The evening meals were excellent with good choices and the waiting staff very good. The breakfast was also very good plenty of options and of course the happy friendly staff.
The bar is very good also, good choice of wine and beer well served by helpful Paul

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We met friends here for a catch up on news along with an evening meal. We are frequent visitors to this small group of hotels however we found this meal to be totally lacking in flavour. My soup had all the right ingredients but .......can't quite put my finger on it, it just wasn't 'right'. Three of the four of us had the mushroom risotto which was so bland, it prompted one of our party to comment to the waiting staff. It was passed to the kitchen and an alternative offered but we declined, possibly a mistake on our part. This was a very busy night for the restaurant and we found the noise level in the dining room to be almost unbearable, so much for hearing all the news! On the plus side, the wine was very good!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Haveyougotthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel with another couple and a deal through Travelzoo, at a very reasonable price for two nights bed, breakfast, evening meal and tickets to Blenheim Palace. Meals were excellent, choice of breakfasts including full English. The evening meal menu provided was the same each night but with plenty of choices. I had the salmon both nights as it was so good and the chicken was decided on for my companions after it was deemed delicious on the first night. We had problems with both rooms, number 7 leaked throughout the rainy night, which the room maid was well aware of as our companions didn't even have to mention their room number on complaining. Bad lighting for hair and make up. Room 1 was noisy throughout night one, creaky stairs, banging fire door and shouting until 3am, a wedding party we were told. To be fair we were offered new rooms but decided to stay put because of the charm of our existing rooms and the angst of moving for one night. Drinks in the bar expensive. Staff very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
24.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
691 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
427 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
424 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Property: Deddington Arms Hotel
Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing