We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding duck farm tour and restaurant”
Review of La Ferme de Biorne

La Ferme de Biorne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ferme de Biorne
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Sept 30, 2012
Our guides, Francis and Sandra Ho Tham Kouie, transferred us from the Dordogne Noir to our hotel destination in Saint Emilion. We passed through Dordogne Purple and stopped at the largest chateau in the region, Chateau du Biron, and an interesting marche in Issigenac where duck products are the featured food item. In transit to St Emilion we stopped to visit La Ferme de Biorne in Lunas, near Bergerac. We had requested a guided tour of the farm and particularly the gevage laboratory. Although gevage was not in season, we saw the duck pens and equipment. It was here that we felt that the best foie gras could be purchased without question.
From there we had lunch at the restaurant, a locals only kind of place that families could enjoy on a Sunday. Again this was one of those authentic, rustic restos that exist for the locals and not just for the tourists. I ordered a huge salad du jour that was loaded with foie gras, gizzards, and pate. My wife enjoyed the rabbit dish. Previously we saw the rabbit cage on the farm. All the products on the menu are supposed to be sourced from the farm.
If a duck farm and its resto are in your must-dos, then you should include this place.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

My family and I stayed at this wonderful farm house for a week , the last week of June 2012. We had a good time and nice memory from the holiday in the middle of real productive farming. There are 4 gites / villas. We stayed in the one for 4 people. The villa it self was well maintained and well equipped., including the kitchen. The owner, Yvon & Martine , were very friendly and generous (knowing we did not have eggs for morning bfast, they gave us fresh eggs from their chicken farm !! ). Our Villa was the one facing wheat field and have a little manicured forest on the side, while the other side was the one they put their funny donkeys...yes it's a big area and yes they have donkeys, goats, ducks, rabbits etc ( all those animals are well cared and have their owned designated area ).
Not to be missed is their sumptuous lunch, only Saturday and Sunday in summer and have to be pre-booked.....they served stars meals.
Swimming pools, ping pong and definitely visiting the farms were activities we did. The place is only 15 minutes drives from Bergerac, a beautiful city in South West France.
On our way back we brought their duck related produce, such as maigret du canard fumee, rilette du canard, foie gras etc.... it's a waited post holiday presents in Paris & Jakarta.
We plan to return next summer !!!

Room Tip: This is a quiet farm area, therefore all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nikos62123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Tifenn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelenciki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank crisvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank véronique r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Ferme de Biorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme de Biorne

Address: 24130 Lunas, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Lunas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lunas
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing