We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A gem in the countryside”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Whilst quite difficult to find this is a gem of a place to stay for a couple of days or en route.
Charming rural hotel with bags of character and firendly staff. Great pool and lovely gardens. Very quiet. Dinner is from a small pre ordered menu- super and with a well priced and interesting wine list.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    83
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
59
101
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Lovely peaceful setting ,building and surroundings plenty of history BUT...room was cramped & very 'chainey' . We had a cupboardy box which required careful manouvres to get around unscathed. Modern IKEA style furniture wedged in.

Evening meal well cooked BUT staff couldn't wait to scarper at 9:00pm so kept asking if we were finished minutes after delivering each course.

Breakfast - nothing cooked, nothing fresh, conference coffee

Room Tip: Don't choose 'comfort' class. It isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on our drive through Limousin and Auvergne. We had prebooked and our room was on the first floor and was pleasant. We had a fairly ordinary dinner and breakfast at the hotel as it seemed a long way to find an alternative. Both dinner and breakfast were adequate but not special and people seemed robotic. There were around 10 guests for breakfast and dinner, mostly French business travellers. The grounds were bare in places, overgrown in others - to put it bluntly, unloved.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haarlem
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This relais is not the "tres comfortable" that the guide states.
The rooms are small, the shower made for dwarves, the pillows a very flat small cushion, the bed very hard.
They have 2 rooms with a " large" 160/200 bed! I had requested a large bed by phone and mail, but we got a small bed! Those rooms are also very small.
Fortunately( we thought at that moment)there were only 3 more guests, so we were given 1 of the 2 rooms. That room was in the pigeonnier and has low beams, so my husband had to mind his head all the time.
The set dinner very average, but okay for 19 euros you can't expect too much.
But the real disappointment was the walls are made of paper. We heard our neighbour,
cough,Brush his teeth, phone, shower,etc. And..he got up at 6 am!
So relais the silence? LOL!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here en route to a holiday in the Charente, and it was an ideal overnight stay. I don't know that I'd want to stay more than one night here but it was comfortable with a good breakfast. If it's a pleasant evening, it's a lovely place to sit in the garden by the pigeon loft and enjoy the sunset views across the fields. Chatellerault, 15 minutes drive from the hotel, offers a good selection of restaurants, and if you're lucky, entertainment in the town square outside the town hall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Availles-en-Chatellerault
4.1 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
17.1 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
12.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers Nord
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers No...
#5 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
11.6 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pigeonnier du Perron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pigeonnier du Perron

Property: Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Address: 22 Lieu Dit le Perron, 86530 Availles-en-Chatellerault, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Availles-en-Chatellerault
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Availles-en-Chatellerault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pigeonnier du Perron 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Did you know that French philosopher Rene Descartes once lived in Poitou-Charentes, more specifically in Availles-en-Chatellerault? His handsome 15th-century residence is now a lovely, distinctive hotel from which guests can admire the square pigeon house that gave the property its name, L'HOTEL LE PIGEONNIER DU PERRON. The peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside is a boon to the 12 rooms and 2 suites. They are full of charm with their parquetry and understated decor. Many have a slightly rustic style with stones and exposed beams. But the modernity and comfort of the furniture places them squarely in our century. They are all equipped with a shower or bathtub and an LCD flat screen TV with DTT. Some also have a telephone, Wifi, air conditioning, a DVD player, hairdryer, and/or heated towel rack. The dining room is warm and also reveals signs of the past, creating a unique setting where guests savour traditional cooking prepared with seasonal products, particularly fresh vegetables. The garden at Le Pigeonnier du Perron is a splendid venue with authentic charms. You can take your breakfast here, or laze around the pool, play table tennis or shoot hoops. You will be much better off here than on the beaches of Charente-Maritime! Because Availles-en-Chatellerault is near Poitiers and Chatellerault, you will undoubtedly leave this hotel in Poitou-Charentes for long enough to visit the Futuroscope as well as the Moulin de Chitre, Chateau de Dissay, the Descartes Home and Museum, and the Pinail Nature Reserve. European Eco label. Qualite Tourisme label. Seminars. Family friendly. Access for guests with reduced mobility. Quiet destination. Car park. No pets allowed in restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pigeonnier du Perron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing