We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franco's Friendly Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diecimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franco's Friendly Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Diecimo B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Franco is a true angel and should be wearing a halo. He is kindness itself and the perfect host. There is nothing Franco will not do to ensure your every need is met. He is kindness itself. I cannot believe our luck in finding this B and B where we were treated like royalty. Rooms are immaculate and lovely touches at breakfast include Franco's wife's homemade jam and cakes, and organic peaches picked that very day. The Italy of the past still exists in Diecimo which is unspoiled and charming with many places of interest closeby. I can think of nothing negative to say of Franco's Friendly Villa and would most certainly return. I cannot think of a better name for this B and B. Franco's vocation in life is to make other people happy, and he succeeds.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good although there is one room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMR396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Franco is a charming, friendly, thoughtful and dedicated host. He couldn't have been nicer or more attentive. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and Franco serves up an incredibly good breakfast. We would definitely recommend him and his wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Balcony room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ed g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our vacation to Italy was made perfect by our stay at Franco" friendly villa . we were very impressed with the accomodations and the surrounding areas of italy. The staff at Franco's was excellent and made our trip so wonderfull as they assisted us with everything we asked for and about. We cannot say enough about Franco and the villa.I would never go to italy without staying at the Villa as it made day outings to the local countryside so easy and we got to see the areas that tourist never see. Tuscany is special and I would recommend Franco's to all. Theirs no finer way to stay in Italy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard289_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullins, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This lovely B&B nestled in the historic village of Diecimo was a an unexpected find and truly one of the finest B&B's ever. Franco Marchetti is the consummate host seeking to provide every guest with the perfect experience. The rooms are large, well appointed, and exceptionally clean with every amenity available.
A forty five year veteran of travel, I have very high standards. I hit the jack pot when I arrived at Franco's Friendly Villa in more ways than one. Dollar for dollar (Euro for Euro) you will not find a better value.....anywhere.
I recommend that you arrive....unpack your bags....and make Franco's your travel headquarters. As for me, I made it my home for 10 days and had tears in my eyes upon my departure.
Franco's Friendly Villa and the lovely village of Diecimo.....simply a little slice of heaven.

Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Beautiful hotel, Great breakfast, great staff. Met the owner who was from the US. Franco was great and was very helpful. He told us the whole history behind the hotel. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. My cousins know Franco and put us up in this hotel so it was very convenient for us to visit them in the next town. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikeanello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We encouraged to stay here because we would experience the "real" Italy, not the typical tourists' destinations. You can take the train from Diecimo to nearby Lucca, Pisa, Florence, or the hotel management, with notice, can arrange to drive you to your destinations. Make sure to vist the town of Barga, find a vinyard, ask for a recommendation to a nearby restaurant and tour the Serchio River valley. Before you arrive, take some time to learn the history of this area and it will mean much more to you. Franco and Ida are truly wonderful people and will do everything to make you feel like family. This would be a great place to stay with other friends, but they only have 6 rooms, so book well ahead of time. We also visited Venice, Rome, Florence, Positano, Capri, but on our next trip to Italy we want to see MIlan, Como and Chinquatera AND stay at this villa again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BConRiverRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

This is a very lovely inn. The rooms are spotless. Each room includes individual heating/cooling units, a nicely stocked mini bar, a safe, a television (International CNN was available in English), a hair dryer, a towel warming rack and very nice toiletries. Breakfast is a wonder; lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, bread, ham, salami and homemade hot breakfast specialties. It's served in what was once the 'cellar' of this lovely building; all of the walls are stone - it is cool and inviting.

The owners have a computer available for the use of their guests, which comes in very handy when checking train schedules. The train station is a 3 minute walk from the front door of the inn. The small town of Diecimo is quaint and lovely. There is a beautiful cathedral, several small, 'little' churches, a wonderful flower shop (where train tickets can be purchased), an adorable grocery and wine shop (run by the innkeepers), two casual restaurants, a bakery cafe and a small department store. There is also a car rental location.

We enjoyed our 4 night stay there very much. Pisa is a 45 minute train ride, Lucca (not to be missed) is about a 15 minute train ride from Diecimo. Because a train change is required, it takes at least 1 Hr 45 Min to get to Florence, which is slightly limiting because there are no late trains; making it difficult to have dinner in Florence and get back to Diecimo before the trains stop running. One can arrange with the innkeepers for a ride to and from one or two regional restaurants that are not within walking distance.

We would certainly stay here again, probably renting a car this time to have more mobility. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little out of the way.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NewHampshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diecimo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Milano
Hotel Ristorante Milano
#1 of 2 in Borgo a Mozzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#12 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borgo Giusto
Borgo Giusto
#1 of 5 in Borgo a Mozzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Podere San Rocchino
Agriturismo Podere San Rocchino
#2 of 2 in Borgo a Mozzano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Franco's Friendly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franco's Friendly Villa

Property: Franco's Friendly Villa
Address: Via del Santo 236, 55023 Diecimo, Borgo a Mozzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Borgo a Mozzano > Diecimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Diecimo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franco's Friendly Villa, built in the 1900s, is a family home lovingly restored to its turn of the century elegance and transformed into exquisite bed and breakfast accommodations set in the heart of Tuscany. We offer a peaceful stay in one of our 6 rooms and suites and an excellent breakfast experience, made fresh daily on the premises with local products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing