We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel in a nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in a nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for a week whilst on a walking holiday. Although not luxurious, it has all the amenities you require. I would rate it very highly for cleanliness - the bed linen is changed every two days and the room was thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis. The minibar/fridge was useful, and prices not too overdone. The staff are a credit to the hotel, everyone was so friendly and polite, from restaurant and bar staff, front desk, housekeepers and anyone I bumped into around the site. Location was perfect for me. Twenty minutes up the hill is Bellapais village, such a lovely spot for lunch, a drink or just mooching around. Some nice little shops too, and a very interesting monastery to visit. Again, very friendly people everywhere. An hour or so's walk down the hill gets you into Kyrenia (though the hotel has a shuttle a few times a day, and taxis are plentiful and cheap). Kyrenia harbour is just beautiful, one of the best harbours I've ever seen, so picturesque, with it's own castle. I didn't use the pool or sauna/steam room at the hotel, but friends did, and I understand the facilities are good. The breakfasts and dinners were very nice. I have no criticisms at all of this hotel, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    153
    60
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
256
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in hotel apartment in March. I ate breakfasts (full English) and some dinners in hotel restaurant. Food ranged between acceptable and quite good. I found staff to be helpful and friendly. I stayed in a mezzanine style twin bedded room with tv (BBC World), and shower - good enough but not luxurious.

Location is not ideal, it's about 15 minutes walk into Bellapais village (gorgeous) and 30 minutes walk to Kyrenia harbour (equally gorgeous), along a fairly non-descript road. No shops/facilities in immediate vicinity. You do get a view of the sea though. Hotel has 2 outdoor pools (a bit too cold at this time of year) and a small indoor pool. There are a few exercise machines but you couldn't describe it as a gym. There's a small bar - prices very similar to everywhere else. Hotel is quite clean and generally seems well run. The guests were mainly from UK on group walking holidays - no children under 10. Wouldn't suit people just wanting to laze around the hotel all week.

Rooms were quite cold on arrival - in fact it seemed warmer outside than inside, but this wouldn't be a problem later in the season. There is a disco next door on Friday and Saturday nights - I couldn't hear it from my room though. There is wifi access in the bar/lounge and a computer for guests beside reception, but this was very slow. These gripes though did not detract too much from a very enjoyable holiday and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CheshireWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

my husband an i stayed in a hotel room in 2011 very cosey and clean with such lovely staff we could not complain the veiws were stunning....would return again.....thanks for such a lovely welcoming stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a hotel room not a villa and i have to say it was spot on all round. The room was a good size with every thing that we needed for a comfortable stay. The bathroom with a shower was very clean and well supplied with toiletries and nice white towels. There was tea/coffee making facilities and a well stocked fridge. The beds were comfortable with good quality bedding. There was a large balcony that would be nice if it wasn't raining!! Slippers were provided. We had the evening meal, you chose off a menu. There was a very good slection for all three courses and every thing was done to perfection. The staff were very nice and the dining room was spotless. In the morning we had breakfast, again we were very happy with every thing. All the staff were nice, but i have to mention Mustava the maintance man who went out of his way to make sure every thing was ok for us.We would not hesitate to use this hotel again, it's one of the best that we have stayed in while in the north of Cyprus.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel room rather than a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in February as we were after a relaxing week away, the Bellapais Monastery Village did not disappoint. The room and view were wonderful (no bath but not a problem for us).

We wanted somewhere where the food would be good and BMV did not disappoint. The soups were wonderful and garlic mussels for starter really impressed. Also of note were the wonderful meat dishes including pepper steak which was full of flavour and deliciously tender. Mousaka was good as were the large selection of pasta dishes.

Drinks in the bar and restaurant were reasonable 6TL (about £2.20) for a beer and 30TL for a nice bottle of wine in the restaurant and nicely served. I don’t think we poured our own wine in the restaurant once! The service was wonderful, polite and informative. The cocktails in the bar were lovingly made by Mhemet (I hope that’s his name!), at 10TL (£3.70) were really good value. I would recommend the Pina Colada.

The room was nice and well equipped, ok there aren’t many TV channels but we spent most of our time in the bar! The toothpaste and toothbrush came in particularly handy as Turkish airlines didn’t put our bags on the connecting flight from Istanbul but even this was sorted out quickly and professionally by Green Island and we got them the next day.

There are some nice walks from the hotel, Bellapais Monastery is about 20 min walk (bearing in mind this was Feb) where you can have a nice drink or explore the Abbey. We didn’t feel the need to eat there though as the food in the hotel was so good. Kyrenia is about a 40 min walk down hill but the hotel runs a bus 3 times a day.

The indoor pool was freezing when we arrived but they soon switched it on and it warmed up over the course of the week. The sauna and steam room were also nice and everything was spotlessly clean.

We did a trip to Salamis (roman ruins) and Famagusta which was nice and just about right for a day trip, lunch was included for £35 each.

There is a night club next door and we didn’t experience any issues until our last night (Friday) and there were people outside shouting and making noise until 4am. We are told this is only in the winter so I would suggest a villa room at this time and not the main hotel as the hotel rooms look straight out to where the nightclub kicks out. The villas are further up the hill and so wouldn’t be as disturbed I would imagine. Although we did hear complaints they were quite cold.

All in all we had a really relaxing trip and the food and the staff really make this place. Please don’t let the nightclub put you off, I don’t know what the hotel could do about this and we were only disturbed one night. They could consider chaining off their car parking area which is where a lot of he clubbers seemed to park their cars to standby them chatting.

Northern Cyprus is a unique gem and the people are lovely, I would tell anyone considering it to book right away. BMV also lived up to our expectations and we had a really nice time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is situated next to the local football stadium so didn't see the hotel sign post because it was obscured from view by lots of football supporters. When we eventually found it it was a nice set up. Room was comfy and plenty of bathroom comps. The TV was v-limited to 1 English channel, but we didn't exactly come for TV so no major dramas. The evening meal was excellent in the hotel restaurant, as was the attentive service. The problems began at about 1.30 AM when everything seemed to kick off from the local nightclub, 25 meters away!!! And, didn't subside until after 4 AM. This little gem of information that the 'disco' kicks off every Fri and Sat during the Winter months was the norm!! But it will be closed in the summer months....well that doesn't exactly help matters at the time. In short nice place but steer clear in the winter unless you go to the 'disco' until 4AM.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Do not stay in a twin room in this hotel on a Saturday night if you want to get to sleep before 4.30am. I read previous reviews of htis hotel and booked on this basis but there is a nightclub next door to the hotel and there are cars roaring around, people shouting and yelling outside your room until 4.30am. At 4am there was a group of people fighing outside my patio doors - I went to see reception and the security guard said he was trying to sort it out but they were customers of the club and didn't I know there was a nightclub nextdoor?? Not before midnight I didn't !!. He told me too the next morning that it was like that every Saturday night.
They start serving breakfast at 8am so not a hotel to choose if you have an early start like I did - they offer you a sandwich if you can't make breakfast and none of the rooms have a bath.
The room was large and very clean with lovely duvets and blankets but it is all wasted if you only get 2 hours sleep on the one night you are staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin rooms - they over look the car park and are very noisy on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LCAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
#1 of 4 in Bellapais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
5.3 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Property: Bellapais Monastery Village
Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9944, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing