We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out at BMV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bellapais
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Its not luxury nor boutique but it is a lovely hotel that offers a good standard of accommodation.
Yes it has wear and tear but it is very clean and the garden areas are well looked after.

We had a hotel room which was to say the least compact, but again very clean and the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning efficient and there was plenty of hot water for showering.so as we spend little time there, it was adequate.

Nothing negative to say about any of the staff, they seem to be on a mission to ensure you, the guest enjoys your stay, I will say they were all pleasant, hard working and if any of them were ever having a bad day you did not see it, they know the value of good customer care.

We stayed B&B but tried the restaurant in the evening and again good food, pleasant surroundings.
Breakfast was served to you, none of this standing behind someone at the buffet who takes all the bacon and you are left standing there clutching your plate like an extra from Oliver, no, you order from the menu and it is served to you.

We had a couple of maintainence issues and theses were sorted promplty on the day. There are a number of stairs around the place so if you have mobility problems you may find it difficult.
There were a mix of nationalities but mainly British, age group mixed ( but mainly mature) and as it was school holidays a couple of famlies with teenagers.

The pool area was relaxing, with plenty of sunbeds even though they are alittle too close to each other and pool towels provided.

If you want to get out and about hire a car.

We enjoyed our stay, would I stay there again? Yes .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kittycat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

I absolutely loved this holiday. The hotels staff were amazingly friendly and helpful they had most peoples’ names within the first day or so. I stayed in one of the Villas overlooking the dining area and the views were breath taking overlooking Kyrenia. A massive plus for me, the hotel is adults only so no screaming kids. The rooms were cleaned everyday and kept spotless by the cleaners. When I arrived I found the safe did not work, I went up to reception to let them know and the maintenance man followed me back to my room to fix it immediately. The food was generally good and loads of it, I never managed to finish a meal. Cost of drinks was about what you would expect to pay in a 4* in this area. One note here you book all your drinks to your room you can not pay cash but if you are worried about running up a massive bar bill just pay it every couple of days. The pool chemical content was checked every day and adjusted accordingly. I believe the perfect hotel and holiday do not exist but for me this was as close as I have ever been to perfection.
One last comment about Solos guests at the hotel; While we were there all the Solos guests were middle aged professional and acted accordingly. I can not praise them enough for their help and advice when approached for information about the area and things to do and see. I found them a well behaved at all times, they were a fun loving bunch and a welcome addition to the holiday, thank you Solos.

Room Tip: The best rooms are overlooking the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, so relaxing and peaceful. The young receptionist, Lisa D. could not do enough for us. We had a little trouble with our car - Lisa quickly and efficiently came to the rescue, sourcing a mechanic who, at a reasonable rate, fixed the problem. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Breakfast was good value and the staff catered well to our requests.

Room Tip: Don't think you could find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We arrived at 1am in the morning on 27th June, uptight and stressed and left 7 nights later chilled and relaxed. We had a mini villa and it was lovely to retreat to for a quiet sit on the balcony to read and enjoy the sea view after a hard morning by the pool or after a trip out to explore the surrounding area. Temperature end of June/early July was 34 degrees or so. Bellapais is on a hill so there are steps - but good exercise I say! Staff were all lovely and always helpful. Standards were very good. Food was great. Excellent value and easy to get into Kyrenia in the evening if required. Car hire very reasonable so worth having one for 3 days to do a bit of exploring too.
Would definitely return for a good value, good quality, chill out holiday.

Room Tip: we had room 2054 on the end of the higher level - it was perfect for us - no-one walks past but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank petrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from BMV after spending 2 wonderful weeks there. We arrived quite late and was made to feel very welcome by Lisa the hotels receptionist who we are sure t that time of night was as tired as we were. Lisa Is English but speaks fluent Turkish, she will help you with all your needs and we had a few, we were her (needy couple). All the staff here are great everybody works really hard. Our room was kept clean everyday with a change of towels and bed linen changed every other. The food is exceptional and was by far our favourite meals, the waiters are attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts served at your table, there is a wide choice and you can have a little or as much as you like. The restaurants up in Bellapais village were of good quality and good value for money with the Kybele and the family run Bella Moon being our favourites. It maybe best to hire a car (they drive on the left) so that you can visit the many interesting places,St Helarion castle with its fantastic views and Famagusta with a return drive through the mountains,lovely.Nicosia is also worth a visit. We would not normally return to a hotel but would definitely return to the BMV. It is a shame that a previous reviewer who was there at the same time as us found it necessary to moan about more or less every single thing from the chairs to the air conditioning, obviously very hard to please and doesn't know a good thing when it's staring them in the face.

Room Tip: The mini villas are with double or twin beds on a mezzanine level and are fairly spacious and are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherries8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Fabulous 2 weeks away with the BMV hotel as a base for touring the Island, ALL the staff (but esp' Lisa and Joseph) are so friendly and helpful, really cant praise them enough, Food & drinks are great too, We stayed in a mini Villa which was good and cleaned daily and the views are to die for!
Book it up you wont be disappointed! Our thanks to Lisa, Joseph, Joyce, Mohammed & Mehtin Thx

Room Tip: Go for a Mini Villa opposite the restaurant if you like a bit of atmosphere in the evening if you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived for our 10 day honeymoon and we were made to feel really welcome by lisa on reception, we had a standard room and it was lovely not smelly or musty like some people say, staff were brill and spoke very good english, the food was hot fresh and amazing, rooms were cleaned everyday airy and comfortable, the grounds were spotless and everyone always had a smile, taxis were very reliable and always prompt.Overall it was pretty darn perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
2.3 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
274 reviews
7.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
252 reviews
10.1 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella View Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9514, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing