We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bellapais
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We needed a short term stay near Kyrenia, before sorting a long term rent, we could not have booked into a better place.
We extended our initial stay twice, and almost didn't want to leave.
The staff could not have been friendlier & more helpful.
The breakfast & dinner were amazing, huge portions, fabulous choices. Probably the best menu from any hotel we have ever stayed in.
The location was spot on mid way between Kyrenia & Bellapais.
We made good use of their lovely sauna, steam room & indoor pool.
Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 933judith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for one night in a room in the Hotel, not a Villa. It was warm and comfortable with lovely furnishings. Very clean beds, room and bathroom. Excellent bathroom goodies. Tea and coffee making in room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Courtesy bus into Kyrenia saved us getting a taxi. The breakfast is a la carte.....so there was no queuing up behind people piling their plates up at the buffet! Pots of tea and coffee brought to your table and the choice of different breakfasts is excellent. We got a really cheap deal on the internet so didn't expect a brilliant room but it was really lovely. Will definitely recommend it! The only negative was the pressure was very low in the shower.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalypso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This holiday was made perfect by the location and staff at this resort hotel. Josef and his dining crew, especially Joyce, Mark and Oz, were wonderful and Lisa and Mustafa on reception couldn't do enough for us! The views are gorgeous and the free taxi service by all the local restaurants in Bellapais made travel and eating a pleasure!

Room Tip: The mini villas are better than the hotel rooms, in my opinion. Lots of room, and the 'skylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddecliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with an Explore walking group. Overall it was a good experience though the hotel could do with some tlc.

The location is good, in a quiet cul de sac (though there's a football pitch immediately opposite with some shouting during training). There isn't much within easy walking distance but the hotel runs a minibus to and from Kyrenia (Girne) a few times a day and taxis are quite cheap. We also found that some restaurants (eg the excellent Bella Moon in Bellapais) were willing to come and pick us up and bring us back free of charge.

Service at reception could be a bit surly and there seemed to be some inconsistency around charging a deposit for use of the safe but staff were generally helpful (although some of the bar/waiting staff don't speak much English). There's a small bar near reception with rather old fashioned chintzy decor and seating outside (though the wifi doesn't reach outside).

The rooms are also quite old fashioned and could do with some updating. Beds in most are on a mezzanine so are not suitable for those with mobility problems. The whole hotel in fact is built on a slope and some of the rooms are quite a walk and/or up steps from reception, the restaurant and the pool. The bathroom was small but adequate and well cleaned.

Breakfast in the restaurant is prepared to order rather than buffet style and there's a wide choice. The menu gives various groupings like "English", "American", or "Cypriot" but you could have any combination within reason. We also ate in the restaurant one evening - it was ok but not as good as other meals in Cyprus. There's entertainment on some nights.

The hotel has three swimming pools - two outdoor and one indoor, though all of them are very cold! There were plenty of sunbeds around the main outdoor pool when we stayed even though the hotel was full.

The hotel obviously has a devoted clientele with one couple returning for the 11th year while we were there, but I'd probably have given it a 3 and a half "good" rather than 4 "very good" if that had been possible

Room Tip: Check location if you have any mobility problems. Some terraces are in a sunnier position than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vagab0nd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Clean and cozy accommodation, friendly staff, quiet area and nice view of Kyrenia coastline, large swimmingpool but very cold.., nice breakfast and a great dinner selection. A very good choice for a relaxing week in North Cyprus.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are in the main building, the villas are mezzanine suites with large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wibecke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a week at the lovely Bellapais with a Solos group and can highly recommend it! There were seven of us and we were made very welcome. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful and my room was spacious with a large terrace and a wonderful view. I found the food excellent, a very good choice with plentiful breakfasts and we ate there five evenings in the week. I would recommend going up to Bellapais for an evening as there is an excellent atmosphere there too and we also went to a concert at Bellapais Abbey which was wonderful. If you love cats, do also visit Deirdre for a drink or a meal, just up past Durrell's Lemon House, as she runs a sanctuary there.
Kyrenia is nice to walk around and have a drink at the lovely harbour which is great at night too! The weather first/second week October was fabulous, 30 degrees and cooler in the evening.
Jane our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable and the hotel shuttle service so useful.

Room Tip: lower levels easier as no steps from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suffolkgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited this hotel in Sept.this being our third visit. Everything as usual was spot on, even the weather, 28 - 30C every day. The receptionists, the barman, Jousef the Restaurant Manager and his friendly efficient staff, the cleaners and even down to the gardener who on our final day gave my wife and my friends wife a freshly cut rose from the gardens at BMV. all of the staff were very, very friendly. We were B&B at the hotel but did have three excellent evening meals in the open air at the hotel. We had meals at a few restaurants on the other evenings, and the places that stood out and deserve recommendation are:- PEANUTS ( doesn't sound too good ) but believe me outstanding service in a brand new restaurant, value for money and the views were amazing from the restaurant. Situated at the waters edge just East of Kyrenia Castle on a road at the rear of the Hospital. COURTYARD INN to be found about half a mile on the coast road East of Kyrenia. Super food, reasonably priced drinks and a welcome from the staff who have amazing memories from previous visits to this establishment. BELLA MOON to be found on the right hand side of the narrow road leading into the square at Bellapais Village. This restaurant will on request collect and return you to your hotel free of charge, here again quality of the food was A1 eaten in the open air in an enclosed garden at Bellapais.
We hired a car for the four of us from The British Rent a Car which I can recommend, just a few hundred yards down the hill from our hotel. Part of the deal by hiring for 10 days was collection from Larnaca Airport in a new People Carrier for £30 for all 4 adults and also obviously the same cost for the return journey. The car that we hired which we used extensively to all parts of N.Cyprus, was very reasonably priced and suited our needs. The only down side to the holiday in my own personal view were the flights to and from Manchester to Larnaca. Seating very uncomfortable and leg room ( I'm 6ft.tall ) very, very poor. Finally a super holiday which all four of us enjoyed in a clean, friendly and quiet hotel situated in a beautiful location, I'm looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glascwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
2.3 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
269 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella View Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9514, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing