We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average accommodation with poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty average accommodation with poor breakfast”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short break, the position is good and the accommodation fairly average, it was basically clean but we did lay in bed looking at the amount of dust on the beams - it should be a regular job to get up with a pair of steps and a duster but apparently not. There is wifi in the reception area, but not in the rooms which was a little bit frustrating but other than that the room was perfectly adequate. We spent an hour in the indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room which was a bonus and we had the place to ourselves (there were very few guests in the hotel from what we could make out, but it was January and hardly peak season. However, the whole place was let down by the breakfast - considering how many oranges are literally on the ground for anyone to pick up in Cyprus at this time of the year, the orange juice at breakfast was out of a carton and tasted like orange squash, the tea and coffee were of poor quality and extremely weak. The breakfast is from an a la carte menu and my partner who had the full English said it was perfectly OK, I had the toasted cheese which was processed and rather like plastic and the yoghurt with honey which had far too much honey and was very sickly. Whilst Bellapais is a lovely area and the Monastery Village was not expensive, there are better places available which I would choose on another visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    155
    66
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
263
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a week recently - the chalet rooms that we stayed in were warm and clean and the surrounding areas were fairly quiet.

The restauarant was adequate - the food not much in the way of local cuisine and a bit pricey but was OK.

There were two niggles though
The wifi coverage is restricted
The tea and coffee in the rooms is charged for

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

All in all a decent hotel if not a little far from town. (There is a shuttle bus but only 3 times a day).

Stayed in a 'bungalow - not all have central heating - those that don't can get very cold at night. (There is a noisy air con/heater on wall). WI Fi only in reception (and a bit hit and miss for connectivity).

Restaurant food very tasty and reasonably priced.

Reception staff a bit grumpy - restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

The charge for milk and tea bags in the room is ridiculous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with central heating in winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazTKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good points: Most of the staff were really friendly, although one of the restaurant staff seemed to be a bit obnoxious towards me for the first few nights. The villa was basic but well laid out with a decent wardrobe, TV, kettle, etc. Good views over Kyrenia. The food was overall consistently outstanding. Swimming pools and sauna well maintained and clean. Location was great for accessing the beautiful Bellapais Village (note that the hotel is not actually in the village, which is about 20 mins walk away). Regular courtesy bus into Kyrenia and back.

Areas for improvement: The villas are clearly not designed for cold weather as mine was freezing at night and in the morning despite having the air con on full heating capacity. I had to get them to send in a portable heater to make the villa somewhat comfortable. Several light fittings in the villa didn't work, and crucially nor did the radiator. The villa walls are quite thin. And after my 1st night with a noisy neighbour I requested to be moved to another villa, which reception staff made a bit of an ordeal out of. Was not provided with clean tea cups the day after i had used them, so i basically washed up the crockery myself. Steam room smelt like something had died in there and was a health hazard from a hygiene perspective but it was still left open with no warning / out of bounds signage. One of the regular young lads on reception spoke almost no English, and hearing "no speak English" in answer to almost every question got a bit grating after a while. No tourist information maps or guides were available from reception. A few nights I was woken early hours by screaming stray cats and dogs, but that seems to be a common thing in Cyprus (as well as Turkey). Despite keeping all of my bar and reception receipts I was still overcharged on my final bill by a few quid (bang goes the staff tips). My transfer coach to get back to airport on my final day was 5.30am, so I needed to be up for 5am. I asked reception for a 5 am wake up call. The wake up call never happened and I nearly missed my coach (by a freak stroke of luck I was woken at 5 anyway by a howling stray dog)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in a bungalow and enjoyed the quiet this offered. We were disappointed that wifi was only available at reception (not in rooms), especially as the reception lounge are is small. Bathroom amenities were lovely, but the bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. I have never before stayed somewhere that asks you to put toilet paper in the bin provided, rather than flush it. Pool was lovely. Breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We needed a short term stay near Kyrenia, before sorting a long term rent, we could not have booked into a better place.
We extended our initial stay twice, and almost didn't want to leave.
The staff could not have been friendlier & more helpful.
The breakfast & dinner were amazing, huge portions, fabulous choices. Probably the best menu from any hotel we have ever stayed in.
The location was spot on mid way between Kyrenia & Bellapais.
We made good use of their lovely sauna, steam room & indoor pool.
Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 933judith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for one night in a room in the Hotel, not a Villa. It was warm and comfortable with lovely furnishings. Very clean beds, room and bathroom. Excellent bathroom goodies. Tea and coffee making in room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Courtesy bus into Kyrenia saved us getting a taxi. The breakfast is a la carte.....so there was no queuing up behind people piling their plates up at the buffet! Pots of tea and coffee brought to your table and the choice of different breakfasts is excellent. We got a really cheap deal on the internet so didn't expect a brilliant room but it was really lovely. Will definitely recommend it! The only negative was the pressure was very low in the shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalypso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
#1 of 4 in Bellapais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
5.3 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Property: Bellapais Monastery Village
Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9944, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing