We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
219
174
82
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
174
82
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini villa northern cyprus sauna and steam room pool area villa room sleeping area mezzanine floor mobility problems a free shuttle bus bathroom downstairs walking difficulties half board overlooking kyrenia a la carte menu hired a car per day main building
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel with a very good view of Girne/Kyrenia.
+ Breakfast and dinner were fine.
+ Peaceful location.
+ Friendly staff.
+ Decent rooms.

- A bit off the city center.
- No wi-fi in the rooms.
- You need a car to go there.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank mutlucaliskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMV2003, General Manager at Bellapais Monastery Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Clients,
Thank you very much for sharing your your experieences at Bellapais Monastery Village at this platform.
We hope to see you again at BMV.
Best Regards,
BMV Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

I was quite surprised by how poor this place was. The setting is lovely; the pools look welcoming; there is a sauna and steam room. However... the staff are unhappy and defensive; the indoor pool is only open until 6pm so if you get back late from a walk you have no chance of using either; prices are 'flexible'. You are quoted costs in euro - who knows why since Turkish lira is the currency. When you come to settle your bill, the price is in lira. The exchange rate is poor in the hotel so my advice would be to check the bill carefully and make sure you pay the amount you were quoted. A few cents here and there can add up and I don't think they should get away with it.
The dining room is OK - shame no buffet but I don't think there were enough people staying to warrant it.
Christmas dinner was a bit of a disaster. The food was good but they had told us that other people had booked when they hadn't. It was just us and a singer. Pretty flat.
The hotel is 5k away from Kyrenia and while the hotel runs a courtesy bus, it doesn't necessarily operate at convenient times. It was a bit too far away for a wander after dinner unless you want to fork out for taxis.
You have to ask for the sauna and steam room to be switched on and they charge you for tea bags and milk in your room. There are signs everywhere telling you that no food or drink not purchased on the premises can be taken into the hotel. I was left with the impression that they didn't like tourists much. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it. Frankly I'd choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Raquelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMV2003, Manager at Bellapais Monastery Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor about our hotel. I feel very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are Bellapais Monastery Village workers try to make every clients who visit our hotel, but some time we could not reach every one. Our hotels 99 % clients are from Europe, to make them understand the prices we decide to use €, and we did not have any bad comment about this up to your comment. Our clients can asked their room accout as £ or € or $ or Lira, and exchange rate is from central bank. Money exchange rate is different as like other hotels in world. As like any other hotes in the world we do not accept foods and drinks from outside, and this is noticed several places in resort. Sauna and steam room is operated on the times clients requested, and I do not think that it will be a smart idea to live it open during the day due to save enenergy. We do like tourists, we do not know how you get thet impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Stayed 4 nights, Dec 2017. Rooms arranged as studio apartments, sleeping upstairs, sofa, bathroom and storage downstairs. Room had a good view over the town to the sea. Bed comfortable, bathroom spacious, clean. Kettle and TV.
Breakfast in dining room on a lower level, help yourself, very similar every day, whole site is very sloped! There are two pools, too chilly to try!
Only two tour groups staying so quiet. Internet in reception, or in room by paying extra.
Slopes steps and stairs require a reasonable level of mobility.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMV2003, Manager at Bellapais Monastery Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Clients,
Thank you very much for your comment on trip advisor about our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at this platform.
Best Regards.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I had a small chalet with an upper floor. It was like a cottage. I liked it a lot. I liked the restaurant. Food and selection was great and staff were brilliant. A bit out of the way. A nice walk up the hill to the lovely village is a pleasant couple of hours. Useful and reliable shuttle bus to marina .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wavyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMV2003, Manager at Bellapais Monastery Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your nice comments at Tripadvisor about our hotel Bellapais Monastery Village. It is nice yo hear that you have enjoyed your holiday which you have made at our hotel.
Looking forward toı see you again in future.
Best Regards,
BMV Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

This hotel is very nice with pleasant staff who mostly have a good command of English. It in the Turkish Occupied north part of Cyprus within easy reach of Kyrenia and the beautiful Bella Pais Monastery. Beds are well serviced, clean and comfy. Food is good; evening dinner is tasty and varied, although breakfast is a bit of a lottery with Turkish tastes well catered for. The hotel is situated on a large and quite spread out steep hillside site, with many steps and steep slopes to negotiate. Do not expect a compact block. We had 63 steps to negotiate between our mini villa and the dining room, and these seem a lot steeper after a good dinner!

Room Tip: Mini villas have bathroom downstairs and beds upstairs
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMV2003, General Manager at Bellapais Monastery Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your nice comments at Tripadvisor about our hotel Bellapais Monastery Village. It is nice yo hear that you have enjoyed your holiday which you have made at our hotel.
Looking forward toı see you again in future.
Best Regards,
BMV Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews