We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend Break”
Review of The Bark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bark House
Ranked #1 of 9 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed on Friday 30th and Saturday 31st of March 2012.
Martin and Mel were very welcoming and the room was outstanding. We were allowed to bring our dog and on entering the hotel and indeed the room you would never know that dogs are permitted as there isn't a trace of pet hair or any type of smell. The room itself was far superior to what we were expecting, exceptionally clean, spacious and self contained.
The breakfast was delicious and previous reviews and recommendations regarding the evening meal were spot on, exceptional and very much worth the visit in itself.
We found the cost of the meal and the evening bar to be very reasonable and we spent it in the presence of good company.

During our visit we walked the Wimbleball Lake and paid a visit to Minehead and Dulverton which were all just a short drive away.

Overall we were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Apart from the bed, far too comfortable. :o)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stamford69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Bark House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

I rang up regarding a booking, and was told there was a room available. When I mentioned we were staying as my husband was a triathlete and was in the ironman close by the next day, we were told the room 'wasn't available for that' and they put the phone down. If this is how they treat prospective clients I would not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hell081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Like many people we were given gift vouchers to use at accommodation of our choice. As we live the West Country we found the Bark House well located to tour around. What can I say, it was a nice place and a comfortable room, but it's clear feature are the owners. Such nice genuine people who go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food, not just the breakfast and especially at dinner was excellent. With so many restaurants serving bland food, often veg out of a microwave, Martin knows how to season and cook food to a high standard. My only suggestion to the owners would be to add wifi. It would cost very little, but with communications in the West Country very poor, it would certainly add bonus to the stay.

Room Tip: Room six a great choice
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryHornet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We visited the Bark House in February 2012 for two nights, we chose this location as we had been given a buy-a-gift two night stay away, as a present.
We were welcomed by our host's Martin and Melanie and made a tray of tea and biscuits upon our arrival. We had a lovely room with a large bay window, beautifully decorated throughout,Martin and Melanie were the perfect host's and we had decided to book in on our second night for our evening meal, this is NOT to be missed ,, we had a main course with a sweet and tea or coffee served in the lounge after for just £22.00 well worth it ,we felt so relaxed and at home here and would definitely go back again, it is a good base for exploring the Devon countryside and coast. when we returned home we both remarked that it had felt like we had been staying with friends. just wonderful.you can even bring your dog along if you wish !

Room Tip: make sure you book ahead for your evening meal as they are open to non-residents as well.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theparkertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I recently stayed with Martin and Mel - and what a lovely place ! I was travelling on my own for work and they could not have been more welcoming. From the moment I arrived i felt settled and the home made cake and pot of tea was a very welcome addition. My room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. As for dinner - wow - delicious! I ate far too much but could not resist - Martin is a truly fantastic cook and i would highly recommend staying with dinner as well - it would be real shame not to. I would like to come back for some cycling with my husband as it is a lovely part of England to explore with lots to do nearby. Definately recommend staying here - for the good night's sleep and the outstanding food. Thank you to both of you - you made a lone traveller feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stook_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Martin and Mel who own the Bark House are just the best hosts; welcoming, relaxing, nothing was too much trouble, but not obtrusive and without any of the false 'have a nice day' salutations one can receive in some hotels. The food is wonderful with Martin cooking the mains and Mel the deserts. They have good reasonably priced wine and a well stocked bar. The countryside around the Bark House in the Exe Valley is charming and there are both great walks and interesting little towns and villages to visit. Dippers in the river and owls calling before dinner - we will be visiting them again in May.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We actually stayed here in June this year, but it has been on my mind to write a review ever since... it is situated in such a lovely peaceful area, surrounded by nature, woodland and a quaint little river which runs opposite. When we arrived we pulled up in the car park, the weather was drizzling whilst we started unpacking the car but we were promptly introduced to martin the owner who kindly sheltered us with an umbrella, the owners are so welcoming, helpful and really very lovely people, which makes your stay fantastic. The food is impeccable, and the rooms are too! Lots to do around the area, we took our two little Lurcher's and they loved the moorland, and other walks around the area. Hopefully we will return. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable earlier on in the spring this Year! Best, Jo and Dan (Gloucestershire)

Room Tip: They have a fab dog friendly room....
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverexe, Owner at The Bark House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thanks so much for a lovely review, it's always nice to receive a pat on the back - hope all is well with you both (and your lurchers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
23.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
19.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
6.3 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#2 of 9 in Bampton
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bark House

Address: Oakfordbridge, Bampton EX16 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bark House Hotel Bampton
The Bark House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing