We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent weekend.”
Review of The Bark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bark House
Ranked #2 of 10 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 11-13 April 2014. Yet again an excellent welcome from Mel and Martin and we put in to room 6, which we haven't used before, and found it to be very spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean.
We bring our dogs here as a treat for them and they are made equally welcome but you would never know dogs have stayed as the carpets don't have a trace of hair etc. The field opposite is an excellent area for them to run around in and explore and even jump in to the river. It's only a relatively short drive to the coast, north or south, to visit the beaches and more exploration.
Breakfast here is excellent, local produce and cooked to perfection.
I would certainly recommend Bark House as a base to see what Devon and Somerset have to offer.

Room Tip: Room 6 - Spacious but only has a bath. Room 1 - Smaller but does have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stamford69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at this b&b in April and had a really lovely stay. Our two dogs were welcome and also enjoyed being away with us. The room was quirky and very clean. The bed was very comfy and the food was to die for. Martin and Mel couldn't have been more friendly but knew when to give you space as well. Breakfast was served with local bacon and sausages. Toast with homemade marmalade and the prefect start to any day. Evening meals used local ingredients and filled the place with lovely smells to tempt you. We would certainly visit again without any hesitation.

Corinne and Neil Simpson

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 680CORINNE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our stay at The Bark House was average, with some points being excellent and others not being so good! We stayed in room 6.
Plus points:
-Breakfast was good, with a nice selection of cereals and yoghurts too
-The room was huge and the bed, desk, bathroom etc. all seemed very clean
-There was a large selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate etc.
-We were helped in with our bags and had a lovely cup of tea and cake in the lounge when we arrived.

Down points:
-Our room had no lock. This was because the fire exit was the other side of the room. In a good way, we had a door outside so my partner could easily go for a cigarette when the door downstairs was closed. However, this meant we got no room key (the other room keys had keys to the front door too, this meant we could not come and go as we liked during the day or at night) and also meant we were wedging the door shut at night and moving things infront of it so we felt secure. We also couldn't leave anything of value in the room. It didn't have an unsafe feel to it in any way, but you just never know!
-The room was very cold. There were heaters provided, but they just didn't do a good enough job
-The room was quite damp due to the fire exit. The room and the fire exit door were very old, but there was a slight gap under the door and I did find two woodlice in the room!
-The TV remote hardly had any buttons working and was hard to use

In all, I would stay here again. However I wouldn't want that same room as I felt very uncomfortable about having no lock. Having stayed here on a buy a gift voucher it seemed good value (about £75 for 2 nights), however I wouldn't want to pay the full price (£50 per person per night) as it definitely didn't seem worth it!

Room Tip: If you want a lock, avoid room 6!! Also room 5 seemed to have its toilet / bathroom outside of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Lovely food but the rooms needed a lot of attention. Very dusty. Whole establishment very run down except downstairs which has recently been replaced because of flood damage. Garden very over run. Such a pity as the whole outlook of the place on the web page looks so good.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, don't be forced to use the small double room just because you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A perfect place for a quiet get away :) dinner superb! Breakfast amazing! It has a very homely atmosphere. The only thing I can say is that our TV is too small but I guess you really don't go there to just watch telly. Martin and Melanie are really friendly :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pina1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends. It was lovely and clean, warm and welcoming. Just across from the Bark House is a lovely orchard and a huge field which backs onto a Weir. The hosts were super-friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawumpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay here which was booked last minute. I won't go into great detail as it has all been said on previous reviews and we agree with most of this, good breakfast, nice room and lots of advice willingly given on local walks. The downside for us was not having a proper shower in the room, just one over the bath but as there is no shower curtain it is difficult not to get the floor very wet! Also, we had a packed lunch to take on our walk which I felt was overpriced at £7 each, this only contained a cheese sandwich, flapjack and an apple with a small bottle of mineral water. Other than that we did enjoy our brief stay and it is in a great location for walkers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
19.1 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
652 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 10 in Bampton
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Quarrymans Rest
The Quarrymans Rest
#6 of 10 in Bampton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#5 of 10 in Bampton
39 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bark House

Address: Oakfordbridge, Bampton EX16 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bark House Hotel Bampton
The Bark House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing