We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!”
Review of The Bark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bark House
Ranked #1 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a lovely stay here. Evening meal was excellent. Good breakfasts with local produce.
We had a cream tea in the garden, which felt very decadent (proper clotted cream & homemade scones & jam - yum!)
Room was comfortable, hosts were great. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesleyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    24
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
130
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent two nights here in July 2014 and were impressed with everything - the friendly welcome, the excellent walking tips and the fantastic breakfast. There are so many lovely spots in this part of Devon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegreenpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose The Bark House as place to stay as we were given a voucher as a Christmas present and we were not disappointed at all. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and were given a hand with our luggage when we arrived. It was very easy to find and was in a stunning location. Very big car park, the room was really nice and had en suite bathroom, a TV, a tray with a good supply of mix of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms had just enough furniture in it, not so that it was overcrowded. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and did a lovely mix of cereal and cooked breakfast that lasted you all day. We had trouble with the TV and we had it replaced straight away without any questions. I could not fault the hosts at all. They even booked us in for the 2nd night that we had on our voucher without any question and at such short notice. Although it was next to a main road and had traffic travelling down it all day, you didn't notice the traffic at all at night, even with the windows open. The view we had from the bedroom window was really lovely and was so fitting for the place we were staying. Looking forward o going back again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome and wonderful hospitality. We had afternoon tea and delicious cake in the orchard and a beautiful walk in the riverside meadows. Very comfortable room and plentiful full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We revisited for my birthday having had such a great time last year. We were greeted like old friends.

Once again Martin and Mel have excelled. The welcome, the food and the service. This place really is a hidden gem and should be you hotel of choice in Devon.

If you are foodies then stay in the Bark House for dinner, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room 1 at the side of the house with the window seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts. England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just had a couple of nights staying in this quiet relaxing guest house. Very small and friendly this is an ideal place for a long weekend and there is no need to eat out the restaurant serves absolutely excellent food cooked to perfection well worth a visit and the wines are all good quality. We will return I am sure for another enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Only has a handful of rooms and they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 11-13 April 2014. Yet again an excellent welcome from Mel and Martin and we put in to room 6, which we haven't used before, and found it to be very spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean.
We bring our dogs here as a treat for them and they are made equally welcome but you would never know dogs have stayed as the carpets don't have a trace of hair etc. The field opposite is an excellent area for them to run around in and explore and even jump in to the river. It's only a relatively short drive to the coast, north or south, to visit the beaches and more exploration.
Breakfast here is excellent, local produce and cooked to perfection.
I would certainly recommend Bark House as a base to see what Devon and Somerset have to offer.

Room Tip: Room 6 - Spacious but only has a bath. Room 1 - Smaller but does have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamford69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
6.3 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
19.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
23.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#2 of 8 in Bampton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bark House

Property: The Bark House
Address: Oakfordbridge, Bampton EX16 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bark House Hotel Bampton
The Bark House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing