We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days painting course in Devon”
Review of Weston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weston House
Ranked #5 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
1 review
“4 days painting course in Devon”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Painting course is suitable for a total beginner, you get enough attention from the tutor and there are a lot of lovely gardens nearby, but the important part as well is excellent hosting - home cooked meals were delicious, tea and cookies served during the day! Peter also picked me up and brought me back to the station, so you really feel taken care of :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently spent a lovely day (a birthday present from my husband) with Catherine and Peter at Weston House on a 'Gardens in water colou​r' workshop. The tuition was good humoured, individual, inspiring and sympathetic and lunch was delicious as were the cakes and biscuits that fuelled our studies!

I thoroughly recommend the courses at Weston House. Whether you are a beginner or experienced painter you will be warmly welcomed and sure to find encouragement and a fresh perspective to your painting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I attended a one day non residential painting course. Apart from really good tuition and great studio Peter and Catherine were excellent hosts, catering for all diets. Lunch was home cooked and delicious. Tea, coffee & cakes was served throughout the day. I would recommend Weston House and hope to return for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night as we were on a short visit as part of a rowing training weekend up at Wimbleball lake.

It also happened to be our wedding anniversary.
We found the place very clean, spacious and comfortable. Peter was very friendly, he had been so since before we arrived with a nice email giving us details of where Weston House was etc.

He gave us great advice in what food was available in town and gave us his time.
Breakfast was excellent, more life me a hotel with choice of cereals and fruits followed by a nice cooked breakfast.
He didn't bat an eyelid at our wanting breakfast at 7 and we had a very pleasant chat before we made our way to the lake.
Do note the lovely artworks on the walls in the various rooms, my favourite was the one above the fireplace in the dining area made from recycled bits found on Beaches.

Would certainly stay again and have no problems in recommending this as a nice, easy place to stay with the pleasant hosts.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner booked this art course in Devon as a present and I could not have chosen better myself. The art was skillfully taught by Catherine in a delightful studio and the meals were tastily prepared by her husband Peter. My room was very comfortable with a large en suite. Tea and coffee making facilities and home made biscuits were provided as well as water and flowers for the room. everything was very clean and I noticed that all dietary requests were catered for. The whole thing was made to look effortless with tea and coffee arriving regularly to sustain us in our painting but I am sure a lot of hard work went into looking after the guests. Apart from staying here to paint, either as a complete beginner or more practiced, this is an excellent B&B to explore the beautiful local area. A real home from home with excellent hosts. A top stay and I hope to come again.

Room Tip: my room was at the rear of the property on the right but other guests who had a front facing room al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having booked a weekend watercolour course I didn't have to search out accommodation but couldn't have been more delighted by my stay at Weston House and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
I stayed for three nights in the Rose room, which was clean, comfortable and quiet with good en suite facilities, fresh flowers, tea making facilities and free wifi. The hosts were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
The course with Catherine was great as were the delicious home cooked meals prepared by Peter who catered for various dietary requirements.
It was a lovely weekend which I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stay at Weston House, with Catherine and Peter, for two nights, we were going to a wedding. The welcome we got was warm, friendly and inviting, from the minute we got there they could do enough for us, really putting them self out. Our room was clean had an on suite, it was well furnished, and the bed was comfortable, I not just saying this either. it truly was. The personal touch as well as the tea and coffee in the room, were homemade biscuits, and a small vase of flowers, which made it feel special for us. .Breakfast was lush, everything that the menu said and more, as there were homemade yogurt, bread, cereals, and a excellent selection of cook choices, including salmon and eggs, Hubby was in his element. A big thank you to both of you for making our stay such a memorable one. If you are looking for some where to stay around Bampton, you truly wont be disappointed, at the Weston House, and the hospitality from Catherine and Peter.

Room Tip: Room was at the back of the house, so it was nice and quite, looking out over the garden and beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
5.9 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
0.0 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 8 in Bampton
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston House

Property: Weston House
Address: Weston House 6 Luke Street, Bampton EX16 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WESTON HOUSE is a beautiful Victorian house in the heart of the thriving village of Bampton, in picturesque mid-Devon, the home of Catherine and Peter Stott. We offer spacious and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation throughout the year.Bampton lies between mid-Devon and Exmoor, close to Dulverton, Knighthayes Court, Wimbleball Lake, the Exe and Barle rivers and long distance walking and cycling routes. There are traditional shops, an historic church, tearooms, pubs and restaurants all within a few minutes walk.Weston House has three spacious guest rooms. Two of these have en-suite shower rooms, and the third has a private bathroom.Each room is supplied with tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk; hairdrier; flat screen TV with Freeview/radio/DVD player; and free wifi serviceRelax in our comfortable rooms and plan your activities with the tourist information provided, or just settle down with a good book. You will find information about local tourist attractions in your room and a selection of books to browse and read.If you are planning outdoor activities, Weston House providesdrying facilities for wet footwear and clothes and secure cycle storage; maps and tourist guides to borrow on request; and early breakfast by arrangement.Check-in: 4:00pm till 9:00pm (early check-in available on request)Check-out: 10:30am (late check-out available on request)Children Policy: Children welcomeSmoking Policy: No smoking throughoutPet Policy: We regret that we are unable to accommodate guests' pets but do of course welcome assistance dogs.Support for guests with disabilities: Weston House is a Victorian terraced house. The bedrooms are on the first floor and there are 17 stairs from ground to first floor. The showers and bath have non-slip surfaces or mats and the bath has handrails to assist getting in and out. Cars can stop immediately outside the front door, which has a low threshold. We are happy to assist with luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Weston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing