We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit 26th July 2014”
Review of Weston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston House
Ranked #4 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recent visit 26th July 2014”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I do concur with every review left to date re welcome, room, breakfast etc. But just 2 little notes from our point of view:
1) Our bathroom was the other side of the landing, which had a key. This key opened the front door, our room door, and the bathroom which just made my partner a little uneasy. 2) The owners PC n table etc was right outside our room, again, just making us feel a little uneasy. Sorry, little things but otherwise lovely as said before.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxynFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you found so much to like about your stay. Its a shame you didn't speak to us about the things making you uneasy, as I'm sure we could have allayed your concerns. Our guest keys open the front door and their room doors only (plus the bathroom in the case of the room with the private bathroom) - they don't open other guest room doors, so the system is quite secure. And we have a PC in a public area as a number of guests find it useful to be able to check e-mails etc if they haven't brought their own device with them. Our own "office" computer is somewhere else entirely.

I hope this helps and hope we may see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have recently returned from a wonderful 5 days painting holiday at Weston House. The welcome from Peter and Catherine was warm and relaxed, instantly offering tea, I felt pampered throughout.
The room and beds were comfortable with extra touches in the room making it really special. The tuition from Catherine was perfect for me as a beginner, always with an injection of humour!
Peter's meals were delicious and plentiful, locally sourced or homemade where possible,
again attention to detail was lovely.
I would highly recommend Weston House, either for B&B or for a painting holiday. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Painting course is suitable for a total beginner, you get enough attention from the tutor and there are a lot of lovely gardens nearby, but the important part as well is excellent hosting - home cooked meals were delicious, tea and cookies served during the day! Peter also picked me up and brought me back to the station, so you really feel taken care of :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently spent a lovely day (a birthday present from my husband) with Catherine and Peter at Weston House on a 'Gardens in water colou​r' workshop. The tuition was good humoured, individual, inspiring and sympathetic and lunch was delicious as were the cakes and biscuits that fuelled our studies!

I thoroughly recommend the courses at Weston House. Whether you are a beginner or experienced painter you will be warmly welcomed and sure to find encouragement and a fresh perspective to your painting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I attended a one day non residential painting course. Apart from really good tuition and great studio Peter and Catherine were excellent hosts, catering for all diets. Lunch was home cooked and delicious. Tea, coffee & cakes was served throughout the day. I would recommend Weston House and hope to return for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night as we were on a short visit as part of a rowing training weekend up at Wimbleball lake.

It also happened to be our wedding anniversary.
We found the place very clean, spacious and comfortable. Peter was very friendly, he had been so since before we arrived with a nice email giving us details of where Weston House was etc.

He gave us great advice in what food was available in town and gave us his time.
Breakfast was excellent, more life me a hotel with choice of cereals and fruits followed by a nice cooked breakfast.
He didn't bat an eyelid at our wanting breakfast at 7 and we had a very pleasant chat before we made our way to the lake.
Do note the lovely artworks on the walls in the various rooms, my favourite was the one above the fireplace in the dining area made from recycled bits found on Beaches.

Would certainly stay again and have no problems in recommending this as a nice, easy place to stay with the pleasant hosts.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner booked this art course in Devon as a present and I could not have chosen better myself. The art was skillfully taught by Catherine in a delightful studio and the meals were tastily prepared by her husband Peter. My room was very comfortable with a large en suite. Tea and coffee making facilities and home made biscuits were provided as well as water and flowers for the room. everything was very clean and I noticed that all dietary requests were catered for. The whole thing was made to look effortless with tea and coffee arriving regularly to sustain us in our painting but I am sure a lot of hard work went into looking after the guests. Apart from staying here to paint, either as a complete beginner or more practiced, this is an excellent B&B to explore the beautiful local area. A real home from home with excellent hosts. A top stay and I hope to come again.

Room Tip: my room was at the rear of the property on the right but other guests who had a front facing room al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
5.9 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#2 of 8 in Bampton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#1 of 8 in Bampton
164 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
0.0 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 8 in Bampton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston House

Property: Weston House
Address: Weston House 6 Luke Street, Bampton EX16 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WESTON HOUSE is a beautiful Victorian house in the heart of the thriving village of Bampton, in picturesque mid-Devon, the home of Catherine and Peter Stott. We offer spacious and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation throughout the year.Bampton lies between mid-Devon and Exmoor, close to Dulverton, Knighthayes Court, Wimbleball Lake, the Exe and Barle rivers and long distance walking and cycling routes. There are traditional shops, an historic church, tearooms, pubs and restaurants all within a few minutes walk.Weston House has three spacious guest rooms. Two of these have en-suite shower rooms, and the third has a private bathroom.Each room is supplied with tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk; hairdrier; flat screen TV with Freeview/radio/DVD player; and free wifi serviceRelax in our comfortable rooms and plan your activities with the tourist information provided, or just settle down with a good book. You will find information about local tourist attractions in your room and a selection of books to browse and read.If you are planning outdoor activities, Weston House providesdrying facilities for wet footwear and clothes and secure cycle storage; maps and tourist guides to borrow on request; and early breakfast by arrangement.Check-in: 4:00pm till 9:00pm (early check-in available on request)Check-out: 10:30am (late check-out available on request)Children Policy: Children welcomeSmoking Policy: No smoking throughoutPet Policy: We regret that we are unable to accommodate guests' pets but do of course welcome assistance dogs.Support for guests with disabilities: Weston House is a Victorian terraced house. The bedrooms are on the first floor and there are 17 stairs from ground to first floor. The showers and bath have non-slip surfaces or mats and the bath has handrails to assist getting in and out. Cars can stop immediately outside the front door, which has a low threshold. We are happy to assist with luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Weston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing