We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional fayre”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just thought we'd drop into the Swan on our way to Dulverton for dinner. The decor and atmosphere looked and felt so inviting. When we saw the menu we were hooked.
Great British classics cooked beautifully, and well presented by quietly efficient staff. Top notch steak & Kidney pudding, superb summer pudding and stem ginger pud. Even the coffee was lovely :-) Great place - thanks guys - you've given us some great ideas to take back to NZ.
Graham & Sandi

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GrahamOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were staying nearby and popped into The Swan for a drink and liked the look of the menu so we booked a table for the next night (last Friday). The food, both main and dessert, was wonderful. It was really tasty and beautifully presented. Also the service was top-rate, the waiting staff were a young girl and a young chap and both were polite and attentive. We plan on staying in the area again and having seen that The Swan also provide accommodation will certainly be considering staying there for a few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for a taking time to write a great review. Hopefully we shall see you in future as guest staying with us. Please fell free to call us if you coming for a couple of nights. We would be happy to look after you.

Paul and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal great service and engaging atmosphere. Best scotch egg ever for starter. Wonderful local lamb and steak followed by a wicked cheese cake. We will be back when we're next in the area

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank fionanicol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for a kind review, we glad you enjoyed your scotch egg we are proud of it.
Hopefully we shall see you again.

Paul and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just back from a 5 day break in Bampton and stayed at the Swan hotel. Swan is a lovely historic building, full of character and has a great atmosphere. Evening meals were exceptional with originality and desserts to remember too. Stayed in room 1 with fine view around village and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast was the full house for us and a real treat. Our hosts Paul and Donna with their attentive, cheerful staff made this a " can't wait to go again trip " for us. Thanks very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
It was a pleasure to look after you and we so look forward to you returning later on in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went to Bampton for the Bampton Fair on the last Thursday in October. Initially we went on the Wednesday and stayed at Weston House and fanstic B and B. We were advised to go to the Swan for evening meal. The Swan was really well full o we were pleased that we made a booking. Great surroundings, the girls who worked so hard took our order and suggested certain lines, which were delicious. Even though it was very busy the meals were quite on time and very very good quality. The whole staff worked so hard I felt tired just waching them. Definaytely the place to go for good food, atmosphere and well priced too. Many thanks for making our stay so good.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here bt if the rooms are as good as the food you would be on to a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in a lovely cottage in Bampton for a week. We found the Swan on the first evening and enjoyed it so much we visited almost every day. We had 3 evening meals there, with 2 desserts and they were all superb. Not typical pub grub but first rate meals, interesting, well cooked and beautifully presented. The atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was also very welcoming, and its obviously very popular with both locals and visitors.
We would definitely recommend it to anyone.
This is a review of the Inn/Bar - we did not stay in the hotel

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This local pub is an excellent example of how to make both locals and tourists, oh and their dogs, welcome. Delicious food and good local beer are just what we wanted and The Swan delivered!
Prices are commensurate with a good city bistro, so perhaps a little too steep for some, but the ambiance of what a good English pub should offer locals and guests alike, makes up for this.
Put it on your list of pubs to visit in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Madrugbyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
5.9 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#2 of 10 in Bampton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Quarrymans Rest
The Quarrymans Rest
#6 of 10 in Bampton
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
170 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#1 of 10 in Bampton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Station Road, Bampton EX16 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan set in the beautiful historic small town of Bampton situated on the Devon and Somerset border. This is an area well known for its hunting, fishing, shooting and is very popular with ramblers and cyclists. The Exmoor National Park is only 6 miles away and the beautiful beaches of North and South Devon is a 40 minute drive.The Swan being the oldest pub in Bampton was originally lodgings to accommodate the masons and other craftsmen who were hired to enlarge the church in 1450 which is just behind the pub and can be seen from our back terrace. The pub has recently been renovated to a high standard with a solid oak bar giving it a contemporary yet traditional feel, which has the original fireplace and bread oven dating back to 1450. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Devon
The Swan Hotel Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing