We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Swan”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Super Swan”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped a night here on our way back from Christchurch to home in Hereford. I had noted on Tripadvisor that the food was good but I have to say that dinner really exceeded our expectations. The menu was really interesting and very reasonably priced with a good wine list plus excellent service. Atmosphere was really good as it was obviously well frequented by locals and wasn't just a gastropub. Breakfast the next morning was equally good with very good coffee and local bacon and sausages and cheerfully served by owner/chef Paul. I always worry when staying in an inn that there might be noise from the bar late evening but no problems here as the rooms are above the owner's accommodation so all was very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgvwes2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Swan regularly does special nights. All excited about the 5 course fish night we turned up. We were sadly informed it was cancelled but decided to stay for a meal. What a good decision! Sticking with a fish theme I had crab and salmon dumplings followed by Bombay cod. Partner had a risotto ball stuffed with blue cheese followed by a chef recommendation of pig cheeks.
delicious ! A twist on fish and chips, but with Bombay potatoes, pan fried line caught cod and a pea purée. The pig cheeks were great with a perfect flavour combination with the onions.

Thank you for a great night. The wine list was more than a great match in price and contents for the food. If you are after quality food without the white table clothes I recommend the swan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally1012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On a four night stay in the locality my wife and I booked into the Swan Inn for an evening meal which was a return for us as we had visited twelve months ago. We were not dissapointed as the the food was very good along with very attentive and friendly service. The overall ambience of the bar area was friendly whilst still maintaining the air of a quality restaurant. The shame is that our stay in the area was quite short if it hadn't been we would almost certinly have returned and explored the extensive menu further. We will return to the area next year and will definitely book a table at The Swan Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just thought we'd drop into the Swan on our way to Dulverton for dinner. The decor and atmosphere looked and felt so inviting. When we saw the menu we were hooked.
Great British classics cooked beautifully, and well presented by quietly efficient staff. Top notch steak & Kidney pudding, superb summer pudding and stem ginger pud. Even the coffee was lovely :-) Great place - thanks guys - you've given us some great ideas to take back to NZ.
Graham & Sandi

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrahamOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were staying nearby and popped into The Swan for a drink and liked the look of the menu so we booked a table for the next night (last Friday). The food, both main and dessert, was wonderful. It was really tasty and beautifully presented. Also the service was top-rate, the waiting staff were a young girl and a young chap and both were polite and attentive. We plan on staying in the area again and having seen that The Swan also provide accommodation will certainly be considering staying there for a few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for a taking time to write a great review. Hopefully we shall see you in future as guest staying with us. Please fell free to call us if you coming for a couple of nights. We would be happy to look after you.

Paul and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal great service and engaging atmosphere. Best scotch egg ever for starter. Wonderful local lamb and steak followed by a wicked cheese cake. We will be back when we're next in the area

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fionanicol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for a kind review, we glad you enjoyed your scotch egg we are proud of it.
Hopefully we shall see you again.

Paul and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just back from a 5 day break in Bampton and stayed at the Swan hotel. Swan is a lovely historic building, full of character and has a great atmosphere. Evening meals were exceptional with originality and desserts to remember too. Stayed in room 1 with fine view around village and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast was the full house for us and a real treat. Our hosts Paul and Donna with their attentive, cheerful staff made this a " can't wait to go again trip " for us. Thanks very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswanbampton, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
It was a pleasure to look after you and we so look forward to you returning later on in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
5.9 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 9 in Bampton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
156 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterrow
243 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakford
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Station Road, Bampton EX16 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan set in the beautiful historic small town of Bampton situated on the Devon and Somerset border. This is an area well known for its hunting, fishing, shooting and is very popular with ramblers and cyclists. The Exmoor National Park is only 6 miles away and the beautiful beaches of North and South Devon is a 40 minute drive.The Swan being the oldest pub in Bampton was originally lodgings to accommodate the masons and other craftsmen who were hired to enlarge the church in 1450 which is just behind the pub and can be seen from our back terrace. The pub has recently been renovated to a high standard with a solid oak bar giving it a contemporary yet traditional feel, which has the original fireplace and bread oven dating back to 1450. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Devon
The Swan Hotel Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing