We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of room”
Review of Hotel Lowenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lowenhof
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Varna
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of room”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights the weekend prior to Christmas to enjoy the market in nearby Bressanone. We stayed in an apartment and loved all the room. When you travel with small children, the more room, the better. I enjoyed having all the amenities of home such as a kitchen and all the utensils needed to prepare things if I needed to. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment was very clean. We enjoyed the restaurant very much and ate there both nights of our stay. Our particular waitress took care of both nights and treated my children with much love and attention (something very important to me). We did not get to use the spa or pool facilities do to the limited time we had to spend.
If you are planning on visiting the Christmas market in Bressanone, it is about a 20-25 minute walk to the center along a gorgeous bicycle path. The experience was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful in getting us situated to do the things we wanted to do.
My only complaint is the price. It was a bit over-priced regardless of how much room we had. Our breakfast was suppose to be included in our price but when we check in, I was informed it was. I think for such a high price, breakfast should be included.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    78
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
51
56
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Strathfield, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my family and we stayed in a self contained appartment. We were very please with the lounge space as we could sit around, play cards, watch tv and just spend time with either other without sitting on top of each other.

The rooms were clean and fresh, the beds were firm and the pillows had meat on their bones. The hotel did offer complementary wifi but unfortunately it ended at out front door.

Breakfast was excellent as was the menu at the Resturant in the evening.

A point for improvement would be that the self contained appartment was not really self contained. There were no cups, plates, utensils, a kettle or pots even though there was a stove and oven.

Overall, we would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Really good hotel about 40 kilometers south of the Brenner Pass.Very friendly staff with excellent English(and German,Italian,French).Very nice restaurant for both a la carte, which is a mixture of Italian and German cuisine and a Pizzeria.Family friendly,there is also a campsite attached to the hotel.
Very handy location when using the Pass,we will certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandPaul29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we arrived at the lowenhof after a very long drive from lindau . we were very pleased with the hotels apperance on arrival . and the receptionist made us feel welcome . our room was at the rear of the hotel as we had veiws of the mountains and no noise from the road , the room was spacious and clean , we had a balcony and this was nice to sit on before we set of to the town in the evening . the hotel has a lovely swimming pool which was great for us as we walked in the mornings up the mountains and came back late afternoom and was able to relax by the pool .overall this hotel meet all our needs . and would be able to recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We drove to the Dolomites for a ski weekend and stayed at the Lowenhof. It was centrally located to many ski resorts (we skied in Saint Christina/Val di Gardena and the Kronplatz) which allowed us to ski two different areas. Both were about 40 minutes from the hotel. We have been to the area many times so we wanted to stay close to the Autostrada as opposed to a nice quaint ski village, where we have stayed in the past.

The rate at the hotel was good and included breakfast. The hotel was well kept and clean. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not take advantage of that. The prices looked reasonable for massages and facials though.

The restaurant was VERY good. We had pizza all there nights and it was EXCELLENT! The prices for dinner were also very reasonable. I would highly recommend eating at the hotel.

The only "ding" I would give the hotel is that on Friday night there was a party going on in the restaurant area that was very loud. We stayed on the second floor and could easily hear the thump thump thump of the bass well into the night. It appears as though buses stay at this hotel so it was probably their party.

I would stay here again if I came to the area to ski.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnftr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varna
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gruner Baum
Hotel Gruner Baum
#3 of 34 in Bressanone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacher
Hotel Pacher
#1 of 2 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpine City Wellness Hotel Dominik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#2 of 34 in Bressanone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pupp
Hotel Pupp
#1 of 34 in Bressanone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Goldene Krone Vital Hotel
Goldene Krone Vital Hotel
#11 of 34 in Bressanone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lowenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lowenhof

Property: Hotel Lowenhof
Address: Brennerstrasse 60, 39040 Varna, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Varna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lowenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Bressanone - the gate to the sunny south. We greet you with "Gourmet and Relax" at the Hotel Loewenhof located at the doors of the city of Bressanone, near the abbey of Novacella. Surrounded by orchards and vineyards, the cordial ambiance and the cultivated atmosphere invites to stay and enjoy. We offer you a great culinary experience, wellness, free WiFi and a destination at the heard of South Tyrol, ideal to discover every valley of this beautyful Dolomite region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lowenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing