We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
383
271
111
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
383
271
111
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub greene king birthday party plenty of parking full english evening meal comfortable room tea and coffee stayed here for one night camberley venue mains receptionist tribute refurbishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Hotel - Sleepless night as plasterboard thin walls and ceilings. The walls & ceilings are so thin in the hotel block you can hear peoples vaguely muffled conversations, inserting their plugs into the electric sockets behind your bed head, running the water, using their wardrobe, tv or hairdryer. A downstairs room means you can have the additional benefit of the occupants upstairs moving about above you to add to the cacophony of sleep beating noises!!! The bathroom is a superb place to hear your adjoining neighbours every word or join in if you like!

Chef and Brewer, have by the looks of it, recently undertaken a decorative refurbishment but sadly they forgot to remedy the building faults i.e. inadequate sound proofing so only hard of hearing people are not sleep deprived. Ear plugs don't touch it - we tried!

Loved the Hypnos bed, if only we could have slept in it longer ! We would have achieved more sleep had we driven home. Would we stay in a Chef & Brewer hotel again - no we would not as we want more than decorative looks. Strangely we want to be able to sleep when we want to and not at the behest of the last retiring person in the vicinity!

Top tip: read other customers reviews on the same issue at this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulex2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are really sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Your feedback will be used to help us improve going forward and ensure we meet the high standards of customer satisfaction we strive for.

We'd be grateful for the chance to demonstrate our commitment to you in ensuring a positive experience with us.

Kindest Regards,

Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2023

A lovely stay which started with the greeting from a wonderfully, friendly and warm receptionist named Glyn. She became part of our stay as we chatted with her each time we passed through reception. The rooms were beautifully designed and laid out (although the lighting is rather poor, so dim. Luckily the bathroom light is bright). The bed was very comfy and the room (16) was very quiet. The shower was good (although I hate shower curtains, this one was clean and that matters). The room was very clean in general too. We would defiantly stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahaphillips15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Sarah,

We are delighted to hear you had a positive experience with us.

We set our standards high in ensuring the guest has a memorable experience with us, we are over the moon that we matched your anticipations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

Rooms are great and a good size, reception nice and easy. The hotel has a good menu and the food was great. The breakfast is very good too. Quite impressed with the place, and decent prices too. The staff were really helpful too, it was busy at lunchtime but they went out of their way to help us. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

The team are driven in their dedication to achieving the customer service excellence we aim for, we are delighted to hear your expectations were met.

We look forward to the opportunity of having the pleasure to serve you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

I'll start by saying that our stay here was very good on the whole. We had asked for two quiet rooms next to each other and they saw to our request for the quiet room as we were side-facing, though the rooms were not contingent but in the same corridor.
The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are spacious and aesthetically very pleasing, the beds super comfortable, parking is very easy, and the on-site restaurant serves good grub. It should be noted that there is no AC in the rooms, though a small fan is provided and we needed to use it throughout our stay, particularly in the room facing the brick wall (the room facing the garden was significantly cooler). We were glad not to have been there the week before, having experienced London at 32C!
The amenities left in the room are generous (both bathroom and bedroom - with coffee, teas, biscuits etc.), the wardrobe space is great, and both an iron/ironing board and hairdryer are provided.
That said, upon checking-in, we found no towels in one of our rooms and a scrunched up do-not-disturb sign under the bed in this same room made us wonder how well the room had been cleaned. Adding to this thought, in both rooms, the jugs left there (which we then found out were for milk collection from the restaurant) stank and one actually had brown liquid in it.
On the other hand, the receptionist on duty when we arrived (a young girl with long black hair) was very gracious and apologetic and immediately brought over the missing towels and removed the jugs. The receptionist on the day we left was similarly lovely, an older lady who was very warm and also attentive to the goings-on.
We also ate at the on-site restaurant for dinner. Most of the food was very good and the portions were generous, too, except for the seabass and scallop risotto which came with a meager portion of rice. The person eating it drew the attention of our male server to this, but he wasn't interested in our feedback, simply stating that was how it was served and offering no amends. Considering this was actually the most expensive of the dishes we had chosen, it was rather ironic that our friend needed to top up with garlic bread to be satisfied.
Our server's manner was quite cold throughout and our party felt uncomfortable interacting with him, it felt as though he was miffed to be there. The rest of his colleagues, on the other hand, were lovely. If we had to revisit, we would ensure not to be seated in his section.
We also had breakfast there the next day. The cooked breakfast options are very varied. The only issue here was that there was no staff around for quite a while after our arrival so were it not for a British person who was in our party, we would have had no idea that we were entitled to the cooked breakfast and would have loaded up on the (limited) cold buffet options.
Would we return to the Ely? Yes - because of all the positives, in the hope that other matters would be addressed in the meantime.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the garden for a quiet, cooler room.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mucciville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Dear Mucciville,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and it drives us to consistently improve to meet our customers expectations.

I can only apologise about your evening in the restaurant. Please be assured this is not reflective of our high performance in customer service we strive for.

However we are grateful for the chance to demonstrate our commitment to you in ensuring a positive experience with us.

Kindest Regards,
Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2023

We booked a table for 6 for a birthday meal - Amanda hosted us and she was very attentive to our needs and gave us friendly and excellent service. The meals were great and we had a thoroughly enjoyable birthday meal (including the waiting staff singing Happy Birthday). Will go back again.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.

The team are driven in their dedication to achieving the customer service excellence we aim for, we are delighted to hear your expectations were met.

I will pass on your kind words to Amanda and the team who will be delighted they made your birthday meal extra special.

We look forward to the opportunity of having the pleasure to serve you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews