We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a wonderful experience! We stayed 2 nights in a very large, spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Very large bed, plenty of space in the room to stretch out on a sofa or comfy chairs. Bathroom with corner bath and large shower. Everything was new and high quality. The best part of the experience was the hosts who are the most friendly and helpful people possible. Can't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stricky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Visited in March with family and friends and stayed in the main house b&b. Room was large, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. The hosts could not do enough for us and we can't wait to return in October. The area is superb and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cokenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

A friend and I stopped here for one night and were disappointed we couldn't stay longer. Super, spacious room, warm and friendly welcome and delicious breakfast in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelopepitstop36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We used this as base camp for one night during our cycling route and booked a room for 3 adults. The B&B side to their business is fantastic, the room was a much higher standard than our £85 expected, plus the breakfast and hospitality were excellent from Jane and her husband.
We ate at the local pub in the evening, an easy walk and fairly good food. Nothing else in the area really although Builth Wells is a short taxi raide away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benno1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband and myself stayed at this lovely B&B in wales with my daughter. My husband and myself had tried camping and treated ourselves to one night of luxury, we were also poorly and had come down with throat infections which and by the time we had finished our breakfast we felt alot better. The owners were lovely,very warm, caring and friendly, it was like visiting your favorite Aunt and Uncle and they were extremly kind to our young daughter. The breakfast was a real treat and made with real care.Absolutely idilic location. Must go back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed in the B&B accomodation and was amazed at the quality of the rooms. Myself and two friends took all three of the B&B rooms available. Each room was extremely spacious and included either double or twin beds, sofa, tea making area with fridge and a decent size table for sitting round and chatting/playing cards etc. All had a decent size cupboard for storage of your suitcase or hanging up your shirts etc. Each bathroom was finished to a very high standard. Mine had both a corner bath and a seperate shower. We received a very warm welcome and the breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. (I believe that a cooked breakfast can also be offered if you are staying in the cottages).

We had a look round the cottages as we were so impressed with the B&B accomodation. The cottages are are again finished to an extrememly high standard and I think that if we were to return with more people that we would definately give one of these a try.

The pub at the top of the road was excellent and we went there for both evenings. Especially would recommend the steak.

We went to play golf and played three top courses within a 25 minute drive of the accomodation (I beleive that there is at least one other decent course within a similar distance).

Thanks for a great stay, we will certainly be returning in the future and have already recommended to a couple of golfing friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glassbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in the recently-opened b&b next to the cottages. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are excellent and the owners are really hospitable. We couldn't have asked for anything better.
Other members of our family stayed in one of the cottages and were similarly impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruisedpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilmeri
1.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
814 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
912 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
10.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
626 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Address: Pwllgwilym Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Cilmeri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cilmeri
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pwllgwilym B&B And Barn Holiday Cottages Cilmeri, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing