We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a great time we all had at Pwllgwilym. Perfect hosts with lots of ideas for things to do locally. The place was spotlessly clean and our room was perfect. thanks for such a great time, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0p_0f_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I hired this barn conversion for my 40th as it would easily accomodate 10 adults and 9 children (aged 2-8). It's an amazing property, wonderfully restored and it has everything that is needed. Big communal kitchens, good sized lounges, lovely bedrooms. The land around it kept the children entertained all weekend with the walks around the back and the area it is located in is perfect for cycling and walking. Builth Wells just down the road has everything needed for a short stay and the cottages are a perfect base from which to explore the surrounding countryside.
Jane and Richard were perfect hosts and obviously keep on top of the upkeep of the place. The hot-tubs are a nice touch and provide a great way to unwind of an evening.
Most telling was on the last day when all the families were sat there waiting for someone to be the first to leave - none of us wanted to go! I can see why the place has repeat bookings, it truly is a hidden gem

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I wish there were a higher category so that we could show our appreciation for the wonderful accommodation and exceptional hospitality offered by Pwllgwilym B&B.
The location is in the verdant countryside only a few minutes by car from the market town of Builth Wells. You can do two walks around the property which have been developed by the owners, Jane and Richard. There is a colourful pamphlet describing the flora and fauna you will see in the area.

Everything was of the highest standard. Our room on the ground floor was elegant and extremely well equipped and comfortable. It was very large and had a super king size bed (or twin beds, if preferred), desk, table and two chairs, a large two seater lounge and a bench which housed a fridge. Light streamed through the two windows and there were three ceiling lights and two lamps on the bedside tables.
A generous courtesy tray was welcome after a long drive.
The views from the room were glorious - green meadows, grazing sheep, rolling hills, flowers, trees in spring dress and the small village up the long driveway. Idyllic!
The bathroom was very spacious and fully fitted out for disabled guests. Absolutely spotless. A nice touch were the monogrammed towels.

Breakfast was served in a charming dining room and was generous and delicious. We particularly appreciated the fresh fruit served with creamy yoghurt and a selection of cereals and fruit juice. An ample cooked breakfast using local products was served freshly cooked and very tasty. There was a whole tray of different homemade jams to go with the toast. A great beginning to the day!

But the element which made our stay more than just a "night at a B&B" was the warmth, attention and hospitality of Jane and Richard. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel like friends rather than paying guests. We truly enjoyed our chat with them and the other guests around the breakfast table. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We have stayed several times here and always enjoy it. We've rented the cottages in the past but this time we stayed at the B&B. The last day of February this year. The bedrooms are fantastic and the breakfast superb but what we like best is the fact that all the produce used for breakfast are grown and bought locally. They are delivered to the door while your having breakfast. When we were there last time the eggs arrived, the milk and the bacon. Each one of the Tradesmen having driven down the long drive to deliver our breakfast to the door - brilliant

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eironwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent 2 lovely nights at Jane and Richard's welcoming home. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfasts were amazing! We were given excellent advice about where to go in the area, and with the help of the map Richard lent us, we saw some wonderful scenery. The 2 pubs they recommended and booked for us provided delicious, good value food. This was memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Lovely location, very friendly welcome, huge tasty breakfast. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. Owner was very helpful about the locale and where to eat, highly recommended, we will definitley stay there again when traveliing this way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A real Welsh welcome from Jane and Richard and lovely accommodation - very welcoming, spotlessly clean, modern and excellent facilities in the room. A great breakfast and excellent value for money. What a great find - will return again in the future next time I'm in Builth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djb2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilmeri
4.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
6.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Address: Pwllgwilym Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Cilmeri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cilmeri
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pwllgwilym B&B And Barn Holiday Cottages Cilmeri, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing