We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Only stayed the 1 night wish we stayed longer.... Any other B&B I know will never live up to our experience and value for money....Lovely room... Excellent hosts Richard & Jane can't wait to return.... The breakfast is a must

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMorgan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Winds were blowing, rain was lashing but inside this bed and breakfast all was cosy and warm. Jane and Richard are great hosts and make a real effort to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was amazing. Our room was very spacious and clean. Summer at this venue must be wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages for new years eve and can only support the previous excellent reviews. The cottage accommodation and surrounding area beautiful, lovely breakfasts and great hosts. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Richard and Jane were perfect hosts - I was a single traveller and only stayed a night for the Llywelyn II Commemorations, but will be taking my wife there in 2014 for a few days. I've travelled to over 20 countries on business and leisure and stayed in around a thousand places in the UK and overseas - this is easily one of the best. The rooms are beautifully furnished, large and well-equipped with lovely views. Friends had another room and were equally impressed with the hospitality of the hosts. I booked in very early as I wanted to leave my car there, and there were gusts of laughter coming from the breakfast table. It was the same when we ate the next day, with Richard and Jane joining us to make sure everything was OK. The breakfast is totally fresh, locally sourced, and outstanding. Pwllgwilym has its own nature walk, and is a two field walk, on its own tarmacked road, from the excellent Prince of Wales pub which does great food all day. All in all - a wonderful centre to base yourself for exploring Cymru. Terrific, Diolch yn fawr.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

From the moment we pulled up outside and were met by Jane we felt completely at ease and made very welcome, I can't put into words what lovely hosts Jane and Richard are, they really care about their guests comfort and do all they can to help to make the holiday/break one to remember, we were shown to our room "Gwenllian" which was more like a suite in a boutique hotel than a B&B so spacious light and airy, the bed was super comfy and the views were spectacular, the bird feeder clearly visible was visited by a variety of birds including robins, great tits, and even a great spotted woodpecker.
We were advised on places eat and on the second night Richard booked us a table at the Red Lion a couple of miles away and even drove us there and picked us up after!..the meal there was delicious.
After a restful sleep, breakfast was a real treat with everything you could desire, my partner had the large breakfast.. (warning, this is large!! enough to last till teatime!!) and i had the small which was ample. A selection of cereals and fruit yoghurt toast homemade jams etc also.
Richard and Jane suggested several places of interest within easy driving distance, we visited the Red Kite feeding centre at Girgrin farm Rhayader 13 miles north and also the Elan Dam this time (which was spectacular!) as we only had limited time and the weather was quite rainy however this in no way spoiled our stay. There is a lovely walk around Pwllgwilym which is super and the trail map is available in the entrance hall.. the story of Prince Llewellyn the last true Prince of Wales (who was killed nearby) is so very interesting and there is a carving of him in a tree at the rear of the cottages.
We have stayed in many hotels b&bs in the past all over the UK and Europe and we both say this has to be the best in every way, we will be coming back in the spring/early summer to make the most of the beautiful walks and enjoy a longer stay. We were really touched by the kindness as they were expecting a large wedding party the day we left and obviously had a lot to do but this in no way made them care less about our comfort etc.
thank you so so much Richard and Jane.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed just one night, during a 5 day car tour of Wales, but I could have stayed longer. The setting was lovely and bucolic. The hosts were personable and attentive. The room was clean and comfortable, with a massive breakfast that is sure to last you to tea time. My mother-in-law has mobility issues and the wet room was ideal for her. I loved it, as well! I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winthedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife & I spent one night at Pwllgwilym on route to Ireland, in hindsight we should have booked perhaps another two nights. I've read a few of the other superb reviews of this B & B & totally agree with what has been written. Both Jane & Richard are exceptional hosts that go beyond the call of duty.
We ate dinner at the local pub " The Prince Llewellyn Inn" recommended by Jane & enjoyed a great meal & friendly banter with the bar staff & local diners.
This B & B has it all....comfort,large rooms,great breakfasts,great scenery & wonderful hosts. We've had the pleasure to stay in many B & B's over the years ( some good & some pretty ordinary) in our opinion there is none better than this, by the way ask Richard how to pronounce Pwllgwilym ....I'm still none the wiser. Neil & Patricia Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NePat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilmeri
4.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
6.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Address: Pwllgwilym Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Cilmeri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cilmeri
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pwllgwilym B&B And Barn Holiday Cottages Cilmeri, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing