We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Guesthouse(Builth Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abernant Lake Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Ty Carreg(Llanwrtyd Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Vue Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neuadd Arms Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
57
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening mealmid walesout of this worldlovely coupleexcellent reviewswonderful countrysidea great place to staytwo nightsa real treatattention to detailperfect hostsdining roombuilth wellspoached eggsnothing is too much troublewelsh cakeselan valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from a supurb weekend with Muiread and Ciarans at their wonderful home.
Where can we start, well the food and hosts was of Michalin Standard.
The Rooms were so cosy and welcoming.
The Location Wonderful, Central but surrounded by wonderful Welsh countryside.
It was our Anniversary and Muiread provided some Excellent Extras such as Flowers,Cava and
even delicious Canapes pre Meal.
I am surprised there are not many more excellent Reviews but can only assume everyone wants to keep it for themselves
Well Ciaran and Muiread the cat is out of the bag!
You are going to have to put up with me returing again and again to sample your wonderful Hospitality.
I have probably missed loads of other great things to say especialy your Wonderful Cooking.
Just go and Treat Yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phllstph4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muiread, Owner at Rhedyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we did have fun didn't we! Loved your tales of the locals in the pub. They and we are looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've been privileged to enjoy Muiread and Ciaran's hospitality and welcome for the past three years during the Royal Welsh Show .. and we're booked for 2013.

The evening meal is exquisite and always original, served in the dining room with views of garden and those green Welsh hills. The breakfasts are irresistible - particularly Muiread's home made jams The setting - in the middle of a field surrounded by Welsh hills - confirms that you really are away from it all. The rooms and their facilities are excellent. The hosts are very special. Grab a stay while you can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My girlfriend and I chose to spend Christmas at Rhedyn this year on a recommendation from a friend. It was absolutely wonderful! Muiread and Ciaran are so welcoming, warm and helpful with lots of suggestions should we want to be active. We visited Hay-on-Wye, went to a local cider farm and went on brilliant walks. Our room was beautiful, with lots of lovely thoughtful details like local guides, magazines and great,cute toiletries We still miss the fabulous shower!
Special mention must be made of the food! The food!! Great value for a three course meal but the dishes they served us were seriously high rate restaurant standard! Most meals we had featured Ciaran's homegrown veg and on Christmas morning we had homemade crumpets with homemade jams. We have already booked to return in April and are delighted we have found such a treasure.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

It was other hoteliers in the area that recommended us to Rhedyn Guesthouse and after the glorious weekend we spent there we understood why. Muiread and Ciaran are wonderful hosts and Rhedyn is just lovely - spot on! To go out for the day on any number of fantastic walks with outstanding views, come back to 'MasterChef' standard cooking, enjoy a glass or three by the log fire and have a great crack with your hosts and other guests - it doesn't get much better. Just relax...just eat....just lovely....just go!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We wanted peace, quiet and a breath of fresh air for a few days, it was almost like sticking a pin in a map. The Rhedyn, and the magical couple who own it,were enchanting. The room with it's private entrance was spotless and very welcoming, small touches like a decanter of sherry in the room, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge for whatever. We decided to book for Dinner as we didn't know the area and the paintings on the plates served to us by Ciaran almost made us gasp. It appears he grows his own vegetables in the garden outside and Muiread is a gifted talent in the kitchen. I know why I am writing this review but I also know we shall have to wait in turn for a vacancy to revisit, This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Only three rooms and I mean to try them all
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muiread, Owner at Rhedyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Mary and Francis were charming guests. They asked our advice regarding the area and spent a lot of time with Ciaran pouring over maps. I am so glad they enjoyed themselves and hope they keep their threat and do come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews