We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
47
50
31
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
50
31
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole week each evening lake view clean towels per day would return to this hotel great holiday como town swimming pool buffet style visited this hotel reception staff the ground floor enjoyed our stay star hotel first floor road noise
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The location is good with a bus stop next to hotel and ferry point over the road. The room I had was on the 7th floor and had recently been updated with usb sockets at bedside which was handy for apple watch charging. The WIFI was good. The bathroom was ok but the window had seen better days. Now the not so good. In the dining room the containers that should keep food hot did not appear to work as vegetables were always cold. The hot meats and chicken were barely warm, which is not ideal. If you book at reception you can have your food at Simply pasta, When I booked a table the reception said it was at no 26 restaurant , but the waiter said no it's not here, its beside the pool, then reception says it's at no 26. After the run around it turns out the waiter was wrong and it was at no 26 after all. Not the best way to run a hotel !! The staff are not pleasant and don't smile. The area beside the pool is untidy with dirty with old sun loungers. A lot of work still needs to be done to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank EDWARD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Just spent a week in this hotel, first impressions were that it needed a bit of TLC. We upgraded to a lakeside room and it had been recently spruced up, a bit small but adequate. The pool area was in a terrible state, sunbeds were dirty, layed on grass, they were in the process of tidying up the area but it needed more.
The dining room was very cramped, no salt and pepper on the tables, the food was very bland with little choice. Only white bread for toasting and stale rolls and cold creusants at breakfast. Dinner was nothing to get excited about and again little choice. They were slow in clearing tables, and seldom used a spray cleaner.
They have a lovely big square bar but alas the bar staff were too preoccupied if there were Italian guests waiting to get served. We upgraded to all-inclusive which meant you got house wine and water in the dining room, local spirits, beer and wine at the bar, but in small glasses, large ones if you were Italian??? Again, staff were slow in clearing tables of empty glasses. They spent too much time trying to make cocktails, lack of training no doubt.
Reception staff were average.
Lake Como is a beautiful place, I'll definitely go back, but to another hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view on the 7th floor the best, but directly above the road.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at Lake Como as part of a tour group. We were only informed the day before of the change of hotel as we were originally booked into the Hotel Britannia Excelsior so we were slightly apprehensive about what to expect. Well we were certainly NOT disappointed.
The hotel is owned by the same family as the Britannia who bought the property just before Christmas. Since then they have completely refurbished the hotel. We were fortunate enough to be allocated a room with a lake view and balcony (would definitely recommend upgrading as the views are amazing). It is a more modern style hotel than the Britannia with netral colours throughout. The rooms even had USB sockets to charge your devices and UK sockets!
There is a beautiful bar area on the ground floor with an area to sit outside. The barman took pride in their work and enjoyed making various cocktails (not included in the classic all-inclusive package but are on the gold and platinum)
As well as the main buffet restaurant (again with another ouside eating area) guests have the option of 3 other restaurants.... the buffet restaurant at the Britannia, the pizzeria at the Lido and Simply Pasta at the Bazzoni. If you upgrade to Platinum you have loads more options.
Guests at the Bazzoni can use all 3 pools... a smallish one at the Bazzoni, the floating pool and the lido at the Britannia.
It takes about 20 mins to walk between the 2 hotels but the hotel also has a boat shuttle (included) between the 2 hotels and also to Bellagio, just across the lake.
In the evening, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus for those who prefer not to walk.
There is live music at both hotels so again guests have the choice.
All the staff from the reception staff, to the chambermaids were all very friendly and always siad good morning or good evening etc even if their English wasn't brilliant.
There is so much to see and do in this area with the hotels offering excursions into Switzerland and more locally, Como, Bergamo and Milan.

There is also the normal ferry service stop just outside as well as a bus stop for going to Como and the tourist road train which connects Lenno with Menaggio.

We had gorgeous weather whilst we were there which always helps but I would think it would be equally beautiful in winter with the snow capped mountains. I nwould love to do the Bernina Express excursion then.

All in all, I would consider this hotel and location as great value for money and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Lake View with Balcony (as high up as possible)
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Shefflady2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

On arrival at check in, we were giving wristband as we were all inclusive, they are clear bands so not obtrusive.we paid to have balcony and had great views of lake Como, glad we didn't book terrace room as they were overlooked by balcony rooms and had no privacy.
Room was large and newly refurbished, lack of power points and wardrobe rail was really high up.
There is only one lift at hotel so a lot of time waiting for lift arrival, broke down twice reported to reception who weren't that bothered, did find cleaners leaving their trolley half in the lift keeping it at the floor they were working on so that no one else could use it.
Food was plentiful with lots of choices, selection of pizza and pasta, fish meat and vegetarian choice each evening.3 choices of sweet also ice cream. Wine, beer and water served at dinner. Dining room can be a bit cramped with chairs backing on to each other. Must say well done to Daniella who worked extremely hard but always greeted us on arrival. Packed lunches can be ordered the night before, consists of 2 filled rolls, bottle of water, peice of fruit and chocolate croissant.
Large bar area with evening entertainment. There are terraced area's to sit at, upstairs and ground level. Well done to Manuel for great service.
Took a while to find swimming pool, not very well sign posted, it's as if the hotel doesn't want it used yet as still being refurbished.
Workmen around the hotel, painting and drilling at times.
Overall we liked the hotel, some very hard working staff, great location with nearby shops, bars and coffee bars, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2018
5  Thank globesetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Visited this hotel with a group last week..it's a 3* so don't expect 5* .back rooms were very small and there is still work ongoing at the back.. paid €100 euro extra for a lake view with balcony.. it was well worth it..there are no tea making facilities in the room.. and np iron in the hotel ,we were on 5th floor and Wi-Fi was fine there, clean rooms and clean towels everyday,evening meal was average and very little variety-buffet , but breakfast was good,the staff in dining room were very efficient,if i had a complaint it would be that they take the plate before you've had a chance to finish,they kind of hover waiting for you to set the fork down,some staff more discretionary than others..but all were pleasant, the bar staff in the lovely new modern bar were lovely, especially Angie who just seemed to know what your tipple was after the first couple of orders,she was very attentive,also the uniform was very classy,there was a good atmosphere in here..also a lovely bar area outside,to sit and get some air
..we had a lovely stay here and o would recommend it,

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 0621Annie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W, Director of Sales at Hotel Bazzoni, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Annie,
Thank you for your excellent review we are continuously striving to better are Services and customer care and found your review honest and very helpful.
Thank you.

All the best

TW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews