We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No organisation or manners”
Review of Bishops

Bishops
Price range: US$24 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bishops is a large detached building on the beach at Lulworth cove. It has a large garden and swimming pool overlooking the Cove. It has three suites, a bar and a 30 seater dining room.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked a table for 3.30, having been told the restaurant was open all day. We thought the menu looked great but we were very disappointed when we arrived to be told that 'there's no one here'. It was all but deserted apart from one man who may or may not have worked there. We waited for about ten minutes and no one arrived so we left. Very disappointed!!!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
4  Thank Rowan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

As I have said on the previous comment. We are closed at 3.30. We have our hours of business outside. We do not take lunch bookings at 3.30 as we are closed. Whoever you did see has explained that however it looks like you have made a booking with next door who do take bookings and have a sign up saying they serve food all day. We do not and never have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were drawn to the restaurant because of the stylish decor. The candelabra on the tables and quirky background music created a lovely ambiance. My husband had the seabass, which he found succulent and very tasty and I had the pasta dish, and despite ordering the smaller portion size, it was still huge but still delicious. The service was great too and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loosesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very nice food, had prawns and smoked salmon for starters and these portions were good and salmon was very nice, prawns had too much greasy sauce. For main we had bream and sea bass (the only two fish dishes) and both were nice, however a bit small portions of the fish fillet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olenka1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Once we'd finally found you (! Our fault for not checking directions - you're at the Cove close to the beach, not West Lulworth as the address hopefully doesn't anymore say!), our meal was superb. The special of the day mackerel was perfect, and the bream and crayfish risotto sublime. As for the scallops starter... mmm. Great value for a quality meal with lovely service. Spoilt only by the ladies on the table close to us complaining the mussels were too hot (?!?!?). Sorry you had to deal with that rubbish - our service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were looking for so where nice to stop for lunch. Having done my research on trusty old trip advisor we decided on Bishops. It's was very quiet as most people seemed to have settled for the other places nearer to top. We were not disappointed! The staff were all so friendly and 3 desperate members of staff spoke to us just for the sake of it which shows how much they enjoy their roles. Between us we had the bruschetta, scallops and king prawns and everything was top rate! Yes it is a little on the dearer side but you get what you pay for! All the ingredients tasted fresh and of good quality. We will be going back before our holidays done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kayteals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishops also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing