We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation in a peaceful setting”
Review of The Old Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Barn
Ranked #4 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We only spent one night at this B&B but would have liked to stay longer. We had a nice room with a very comfortable bed. The location was very quiet at the time we visited but there is a pub within walking distance for dinner which was recommended by the owners. Sarah provided an excellent breakfast. The Old Barn is an interesting building with a lot of history and it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wisteria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family stayed here for 3 nights and we all had the most wonderful time. The B&B is lovely inside and the rooms are spacious and feel like home from home (flowery wall paper!). I love the fridges in the bedroom - great idea! The breakfast tasted delicious and really set you up for the day - try the pancakes & maple syrup! The cooked breakfast is terrific too! As the weather was hot and sunny, we decided to have lunch and dinner in the garden a couple of times as this is enclosed and away from the road. They have lovely wooden garden furniture and a huge sun umbrella, it was also great for our dog as she had lots of room to play around. We would stay here again. Great place and lovely people!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a very nice B&B. The staff and service was excellent. They were very friendly and helpful and always stopped for a chat when possible. The breakfast was full of choice, from a full english, cereal and fruit to crossiants and toast. The staff were very happy to toast our gluten free products.The Old Barn was located in a perfect area with some amazing surroundings. It is only a five minute walk to the cove. The cove is found at the end of a small area full of restaurants and shops. Durdle Door is 1 mile from the Old Barn, with plenty of scenic routes to take you there. It is a 10 minute drive away from Lulworth Castle. The whole area is full of hill walks, some high and some along the cliffs. The rooms were very pretty cosy and comfortable. It had everything we needed for a long weekend away. There is a small room equipped with a sink, cleaning products and other essential household items and appliances.

Room Tip: For a long weekend away the small double room is perfect but for a longer duration, a larger room wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My other half has been raving about this place for the last 12 months, following a most agreeable stay here. I can only concur with other reviews: this place is faultless. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxed stay, look no further. The rooms are immaculately decorated and maintained. The owners offer exemplary courteous, friendly service. Although this is a "B&B", customers are encouraged to use a small kitchen, should they wish to, during the day. The location within the village is perfect, with a nearby shop and numerous pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance and, of course all the walks that the area has to offer. The standard of "customer care" is such a refreshing change and is something that many such places can only aspire to. Oh! Did I mention they're dog-friendly? 100% recommended to you! A little gem!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved staying here! Cosy clean rooms with comfy beds. Very welcoming hosts indeed. Great location just a short walk from the coast (and pub). My only point for improvement would be a runny yolk in the poached eggs please :) Only being picky though. Will hope to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smithreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in West Lulworth in 2013 for a weekend and really enjoyed our stay at The Old Barn. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a beautiful view across a field and of a local church. The breakfasts were excellent - tasty and generous portions. Would thoroughly recommend The Old Barn for anyone looking to stay in the West Lulworth area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williammartyn .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and I have to say it was absolutely perfect.the location was great and perfect for our walking trip right on lulworth coves doorstep. the room we stayed in (room 1) was very spacious with beautiful views. and the owners were very friendly and welcoming.A beautiful b and b in a beautiful part of dorset.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gtevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
480 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,107 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
8.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star family run B&B with Silver Award and Breakfast Award, set in beautiful Lulworth Cove area. Restaurants and pubs both in the village and at the cove which are a short walk away [approx 5 minutes]. Guests are encouraged to use our quiet gardens to relax in,or to access the coastal walks. All the beaches are a short distance away, with Lulworth Cove only 8 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel West Lulworth
The Old Barn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing