We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere but average food”

The Castle Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but average food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Were recommended to go to this by our landlady - "very large helpings". No they were not only average like the quality of the food. Atmosphere and service were very good though and it was the only place to eat in West Lulworth - more competition might force them to improve.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    140
    104
    50
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good posh pub tucker”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved the place , the ambience, the people of Dorset, smells of real farm animals , just a skip and a hop nearer to the beach than should be feasible , but they are!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fab Lunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stopped off here for a bite to eat. They appear to have a permanent cider festival! I sampled a couple to see which one to choose.

We sat in the very pretty garden at the rear of the pub, snd were served our lunch.

We had a prawn salad which was a good portion with a very colourful and varied sold, with cheesy chips.

The staff were really pleasant, somewhere where we would definitely return too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brockhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good selection of food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very good olde worlde pub. Good selection of drinks, particularly ciders. Full menu well priced for the area. Plenty of table games and books to amuse the younger customers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Short walk to a local pub”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was a very earthy and quirky inn. If you like real ales and ciders this is a must as the selection is extensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank adrian_wylie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaldon Herring, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to The Castle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing