We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a difference a year makes....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lulworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lulworth Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I ate at this hotel several times last year and loved it. We were shown around some of the rooms and decided we would stay here next time we came to Lulworth Cove.

This July my family werecelebrating my aunt's 80th birthday in Lulworth Cove. In February I booked a specific room for the weekend of the celebrations and then confirmed the booking a few weeks before we were due to arrive.

Upon arrival on a hot July Friday afternoon we were told that they did not have our booking and that the room was not available for the weekend. Luckily I had a print out of an email from the hotel in February confirming the booking. Even so we were told that we could have the room on the Friday night but not on the Saturday night since "head office" had made a booking for that night. So a booking made subsequent to ours would take precedence. The hotel said they would find another hotel for us - which they did - in Dorchester 30 minutes drive away. Given that we were there for a family party on the Saturdaynight this was far from ideal. They were completely unwilling to consider that perhaps the other people should relocate to Dorchester since we had the prior booking. In the end it was left that we could speak to the manager the next morning.

This completely ruined our afternoon, evening and most of the next morning. When we did eventually see the manager the next morning she was efficient and sensible. She had been the person I had exchanged emails with and spoke to on the telephone and she remembered me. She said that there was no way we would be relocated for the Saturday night and that this was not the first time "head office" had done this. Her attitude is the only reason I am giving the review an average rather than a terrible. It did not change the fact that the first part of our stay was ruined.

We will not go back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, HF Holidays at Lulworth Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review, and please accept our apologies for this mix up.
We have now resolved this issue by ensuring all bookings for Lulworth Mill House are made centrally with HF Holidays.
I do hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    46
    16
    15
    8
See reviews for
17
87
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed on Thursday 22 August just before bank holiday wekeend.

Lulworth Cove is small but offers a fantastic scenery. The Mill House (restaurant + B&B) is located only 200m from it so park by the Tourist Centre and walk down for just a few minutes. Very likely you won't notice it is a B&B, just report to the restaurant desk for check-in.

Nice basic room (we had a view on the duck pound accross the street) at a reasonable price.

The restaurant food was very good and we were lucky enough to get fresh lobster! Big enough for two with plenty of flesh so a good deal at GBP 35. Reasonable wine card. Breakfast was also good.

Service could be improved as the waiter was a bit cold and lazy (no outdoor service although only 4 customers).

Terrace is only open for lunch and dinner but both places next door were doing business in the afternoon so we treated ourselve to some late afternoon Prosecco.

Would happily go back again for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhhhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mill house in lulworth cove for a friends wedding in August 2013. The rooms were really nice, well furnished and clean, and the location was perfect (really nice views!) unfortunately we found the service a little poor, we weren't given keys to the front door, we werent told much info (breakfast, parking passes, checkout time) and found a couple of the staff a bit rude, bit of a shame, good value, but may stay up the road next time...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE. Always loved Lulworth Cove and surrounding areas. Hotel was beautiful, food was amazing. Scenery just beyond words. Not a bad word to say to be honest. Nearby places that need to be visited are Tyneham Village which is a ghost village that got abandoned in the war, everything has been left exactly the same, beautiful little school and church, tyneham beach is also a nice place to swim. Durdle Door, reccommend driving to caravan park and parking there to do the walk down to durdle door. One of the best walks ever, absolutely beautiful! Corfe Castle and village is always a lovely attraction, had a delicious cream tea in one the of the tea rooms. Theirs also a lovely little pub down the road from lulworth, forgot what it was called but it had a lovely family atmosphere with people playing boardgames and dogs running about which i found homely and lovely :).. Would move down here if i could!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were so glad to pick LMH as of its great location - few minutes away from the bay. Close to car park, lovely sea view, good facilities. Clean rooms, amazing restaurant (great food too!) and friendly staff, will be definitely back :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m0nikazet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We arrived on Friday for a romantic weekend away. We had been to lulworth cove before, however never stayed ther, visited durdle door many times, as it has such an amazing calmness about it. When we arrived, we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, number 7' this room over looked the pond. The bed was huge, molten brown bubble bath and clean towels each day. A beautiful, clean, friendly and perfect spot. It is quiet at night, was great as we walked up the road for a drink and back. Food is the best, the variety at breakfast was fantastic, even for a lady on her diet.
The evening meal I had was a fresh crab salad was the best I have ever had, the staff are very attentive and are honestly interested in what you have to say.
The drink list made us laugh with the names of the beers, one we tried was piddle in a bottle.........
The walk from lullworth cove to durdle door was a nice stroll, it is up hill but worth it when you get to the top.
I can not fault this amazing little spot, for the food, rooms, staff and location, one of the nicest places we have been to. Thank you lullworth millhouse for a fantastic break and my amazing husband for a perfect 2 nights away

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickioliver2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

What can i say the best stay ever, FAB rooms, FAB Staff, FAB food. what more could you want. My husband and I eat on both nights that we stayed and could not fault the food at all, the staff could not do enough for you, they even let my husband put his boat in the back garden.

Look forward to staying with you again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Lodge

Property: Lulworth Lodge
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England (Formerly Lulworth Mill House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Hotel Class:4 star — Lulworth Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the beach at Lulworth Cove, Lulworth Lodge has recently been refurbished by walking experts, HF Holidays, into the perfect choice of accommodation for walkers who want to explore the spectacular Jurassic Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lulworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulworth Lodge West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing