We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gordon and Karen's Walking Break”
Review of Lulworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lulworth Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gordon and Karen's Walking Break”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Mill House for 3 nights - 2 nights in room 3 (standard double) and 1 night in room 1 (premier double) - 19th - 21st September 2013. Room 3 had a lovely view of the duck pond at the front of the hotel and room 1 a huge view of the sea and hillside around the cove at the side of the hotel. Both rooms are lovely, newly decorated in a contemporary but warm style and with lovely matching furniture. The beds are very big and very comfortable. In fact the king size bed in room 3 is too big for the room in my opinion. The bathroom in room 3 is dated but functional, it's a pity it was not upgrated when then upgraded the bedroom. Because the TV is on the window sill in room 3 you can't fully close the curtains at night and watch TV. Ideally the TV should be moved onto the wall at the end of the bed. Also room 3 only has one bedside light which annoyed my husband slightly as I grabbed the one with first. Room 1 is huge with a full width window overlooking the terrace, cove and hillside around the cove. It was lovely to read our newspapers and watch the walkers and canooist doing their thing whilst lounging on the matching chairs with footrests in front of the window. The area is very quiet after about 10.30pm so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. The only minor issues with room 1 are the missing toggle from the mirror light-pull cord in the bathroom, the build up of mould inside the shower cubicle and no hooks on doors for hanging the lovely toweling robe that is provided. There are no door hooks in room 3 either come to mention it!

We had two evening meals and three breakfasts in the hotel. The food is very good and the menu has something for everyone. The service was very good on all occasions apart from our last breakfast. It was a busy service and I think they were short staffed. The young waiter did his best to keep on top of things and he kept smiling which was a credit to him. The manager who was on duty at the time did not seem to be able to minimise the chaos and maybe could have been more proactive. Residents were having to help themselves to cutlery, butter, milk etc from other tables and everyone had to wait a long time even for their orders to be taken. Having said all the staff that we met during our 3 days were friendly and helpful and we loved staying at Mill House and would still recommend it - everyone has an off day!

There are two other venues very close by that serve good food with amazing service - Lulworth Cove Inn and Bishops. Both have amazing interiors and large outside spaces/terraces as does the Mill House. The best coffee I have ever tasted was served at Lulworth Cove Inn.

Room Tip: Standard double room 3 overlooked the duck pond at the front of the hotel. Lovely room, very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWCPWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    49
    16
    15
    8
See reviews for
22
96
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very unimpressed with the service. We were regarded as 2nd class guests, as we weren't on an HF inclusive holiday. Very unwelcome reception from the manager, being told our room may not be ready (which we accept at 2:30pm) , but not the way we were told. Totally ignored and not informed when ready. Service in the restaurant appalling for just a cup of tea, so decided to eat elsewhere in the evening. Could not accommodate breakfast before 8:30 in the morning (for accommodation aimed at walkers!), and very slow service. Room pleasant enough, but not worth £129, neither were basic packed sandwiches for £5 each. Only saving grace was the location - clearly this comes at a price!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SWCP_Walker630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I ate at this hotel several times last year and loved it. We were shown around some of the rooms and decided we would stay here next time we came to Lulworth Cove.

This July my family werecelebrating my aunt's 80th birthday in Lulworth Cove. In February I booked a specific room for the weekend of the celebrations and then confirmed the booking a few weeks before we were due to arrive.

Upon arrival on a hot July Friday afternoon we were told that they did not have our booking and that the room was not available for the weekend. Luckily I had a print out of an email from the hotel in February confirming the booking. Even so we were told that we could have the room on the Friday night but not on the Saturday night since "head office" had made a booking for that night. So a booking made subsequent to ours would take precedence. The hotel said they would find another hotel for us - which they did - in Dorchester 30 minutes drive away. Given that we were there for a family party on the Saturdaynight this was far from ideal. They were completely unwilling to consider that perhaps the other people should relocate to Dorchester since we had the prior booking. In the end it was left that we could speak to the manager the next morning.

This completely ruined our afternoon, evening and most of the next morning. When we did eventually see the manager the next morning she was efficient and sensible. She had been the person I had exchanged emails with and spoke to on the telephone and she remembered me. She said that there was no way we would be relocated for the Saturday night and that this was not the first time "head office" had done this. Her attitude is the only reason I am giving the review an average rather than a terrible. It did not change the fact that the first part of our stay was ruined.

We will not go back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, HF Holidays at Lulworth Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review, and please accept our apologies for this mix up.
We have now resolved this issue by ensuring all bookings for Lulworth Mill House are made centrally with HF Holidays.
I do hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed on Thursday 22 August just before bank holiday wekeend.

Lulworth Cove is small but offers a fantastic scenery. The Mill House (restaurant + B&B) is located only 200m from it so park by the Tourist Centre and walk down for just a few minutes. Very likely you won't notice it is a B&B, just report to the restaurant desk for check-in.

Nice basic room (we had a view on the duck pound accross the street) at a reasonable price.

The restaurant food was very good and we were lucky enough to get fresh lobster! Big enough for two with plenty of flesh so a good deal at GBP 35. Reasonable wine card. Breakfast was also good.

Service could be improved as the waiter was a bit cold and lazy (no outdoor service although only 4 customers).

Terrace is only open for lunch and dinner but both places next door were doing business in the afternoon so we treated ourselve to some late afternoon Prosecco.

Would happily go back again for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhhhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mill house in lulworth cove for a friends wedding in August 2013. The rooms were really nice, well furnished and clean, and the location was perfect (really nice views!) unfortunately we found the service a little poor, we weren't given keys to the front door, we werent told much info (breakfast, parking passes, checkout time) and found a couple of the staff a bit rude, bit of a shame, good value, but may stay up the road next time...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE. Always loved Lulworth Cove and surrounding areas. Hotel was beautiful, food was amazing. Scenery just beyond words. Not a bad word to say to be honest. Nearby places that need to be visited are Tyneham Village which is a ghost village that got abandoned in the war, everything has been left exactly the same, beautiful little school and church, tyneham beach is also a nice place to swim. Durdle Door, reccommend driving to caravan park and parking there to do the walk down to durdle door. One of the best walks ever, absolutely beautiful! Corfe Castle and village is always a lovely attraction, had a delicious cream tea in one the of the tea rooms. Theirs also a lovely little pub down the road from lulworth, forgot what it was called but it had a lovely family atmosphere with people playing boardgames and dogs running about which i found homely and lovely :).. Would move down here if i could!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were so glad to pick LMH as of its great location - few minutes away from the bay. Close to car park, lovely sea view, good facilities. Clean rooms, amazing restaurant (great food too!) and friendly staff, will be definitely back :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m0nikazet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
442 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
425 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Lodge

Property: Lulworth Lodge
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England (Formerly Lulworth Mill House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lulworth Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the site of Lulworth’s original watermill, Lulworth Lodge is our quintessential coastal hotel with an all-day ground floor bistro. Situated a pebble’s skim from the famous Lulworth Cove, this affordable beachside hotel features 12 simple & stylish bedrooms. The South West Coast Path is on the doorstep with Durdle Door, Mupe Bay and Osmington a short ‘climb’ away. From our Super Snug bedrooms - to our Lodge Suite boasting panoramic views over Lulworth Cove. This modern beachside hotel offers comfortable accommodation; good food and friendly service enhanced by stunning sunsets and the sound of the gentle swoosh of the waves. The ground floor bistro has a youthful air and plenty of local fish on the menu, as well as an outside deck that is perfect for summer dining, soaking up the sun and enjoying a perfectly executed glass of fizz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lulworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulworth Lodge West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing