We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limestone Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Limestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel just a week after it opened and are delighted to say the new young owners have decorated it beautifully and are already offering excellent service. There is a choice of very comfortable, clean and relaxing rooms, a nice cosy bar with a real coal fire and excellent quality food. It sounds too good to be true but the chef actually walks down to all Lulworth Cove each morning to buy the fresh fish for his 'catch of the day' dish. They even served huge fresh oysters and scallops while we were there. So, if you are just planning a short break or a romantic weekend and want a good quality hotel in a lovely setting then give this a try. And, on the last morning we woke up to see the village blanketed in snow - perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your fantastic and informative review!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Limestone. We have just spent many months undergoing a major refurbishment program and it is wonderful to hear we are not the only ones pleased with the outcome.

The snow was an unexpected surprise and we got some great photos. Please do come and visit us again in the summer when you can take advantage of the beautiful beaches here.

Kind regards,

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    67
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
306
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely little hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for the young management team. Our room (the Boathouse) was very comfortable, the evening meals in the restaurant excellent and breakfasts a treat. Our room was a superior one with a wonderfully comfortable super king bed and ensuite bath/shower. Beautifully quiet. (Room rating below based on our room as we did not view others). Would have liked to stay longer and definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Phone to discuss your requirements - the staff will do their very best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank findcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

Your feedback is really appreciated and is motivation for the whole team here at Limestone Hotel.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limestone hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,


Edward J Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have just spent two nights at this lovely hotel which has been extensively refurbished.The new owners Edward & Darcia were extremely welcoming. As it was our anniversary a card and flowers were in the room upon our arrival. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is decorated to a high standard. The food was excellent and service was very efficient and personal. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful trip advisor review!

Congratulations once again! It was a pleasure to host you for your anniversary and I am extremely pleased to hear you had such a good time.

Our restaurant has only just opened and it is fantastic to receive such feedback so early on. We are continuously making changes to enhance the dining experience so please do visit us again soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Called in to see the newly refurbished hotel to see for myseklf as have heard alot about it, very welcoming lovely people towards me and my family. Sat in the lovely bar area with its warm roaring fire which my children loved and felt so cosy and relaxed like we were in there home. Ordered Dorset Apple Cake and Lemon Drizzle Cake both were gorgeous yum with clotted cream and a lovely pot of tea devine x Thankyou for making my family welcome as you probaly dont get too many little ones there

Loved the quirky decorations around the hotel and we were shown around the rooms they are perfect in every way and its an ideal place for even just a night to get away and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere good food & drink and be around such friendly people. Next time I want to come back for a romantic stay - hint hint to my husband .

I wish them all the luck in the world and everyone should come here I cant praise it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaroseink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

I am so pleased you had a wonderful relaxing afternoon at Limestone. Our main aim is to offer a welcoming hotel with personal service, it is very rewarding to hear such feedback.

I am also extremely pleased you liked the newly refurbished bedrooms. All 10 of our rooms have a different theme and as you stated, many quirky features to make them that little bit more special!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone hotel when your husbands treats you to that well deserved romantic night away.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcersteshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just spent a night at this lovely boutique type of hotel which has recently re-opened under new management. It has a great position set up a hill with lovely views. There is a short climb up from the carpark which might be a problem for people with limited mobility but there is a path as well as steps so a case on wheels can be pulled up without too much difficulty. The friendly young couple running it have really gone to town with the decor and furnishings and our room was excellent -we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was not busy. The bed was really comfy with crisp white sheets and good quality pillows. There is a cosy small bar with an open fire. The evening meal was excellent, fresh fish is sourced daily from the local harbour. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were given the coice of a ground floor top floor suite -both lovely. We did not see the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor!

We have spent many months working extremely hard extensively refurbishing the hotel. Your kind comments make all the hard work worth it and are really appreciated.

I am also very pleased to hear you had a nice meal in our restaurant. We are very lucky to have such fresh seafood on our doorstep and we take advantage of it as much as possible. Please rest assured I will pass your comments onto our chef who I know will be delighted to hear.

Your informative review allows other to make an informed decision when looking for a relaxing break on the Jurassic coast.

Once again, thank you for your 5 star review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone Hotel.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
21.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Property: Limestone Hotel
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing