We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful evening meal”
Review of Limestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Comfortable and clean room and the hotel is easy walking distance of the cove and other footpaths to Durdle door, but the highlight is the restuarant, wonderful local scallops and fish beautifully cooked. We only stayed one night but will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in Lookout, which is not large, but does have a beautiful view from the front of the hotel...
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, General Manager at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Limestone. I have passed your comments onto our chefs Chris & Alain who were both very happy to hear your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone in the future.

Best wishes,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Limestone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I took my fiancée on a surprise trip and it did not disappoint! The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much for them, best customer service we've experienced for a long time. The location of the hotel is perfect - close enough to be a few minutes' walk away from Lulworth Cove, but far enough away so that it wasn't too busy with other tourists. There was a wide range of food available in the evenings, and the fresh fish caught locally was a particular highlight. We liked the honesty bar in the front of the hotel, a great touch and it felt very welcoming. We stayed in the Stable room and we experienced a couple of issues in the room - firstly, the windows were skylights so we couldn't open them without rain entering the room. The room was hot and we needed to open the windows to allow cooler air in. Also we were disturbed by the noise of the boiler in the morning. However when we pointed this out, Robbie (the duty manager) helped us out very promptly and offered us another room, which solved both of these problems for us. Therefore if you were to book a room at this hotel, try to avoid the Stable. The only other issue we noticed was that the shower ran a bit hot and cold, but this didn't affect us.

All in all, we enjoyed the hotel, the food, and partaking in all the activities offered in the local area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Stable room as it only has skylights, so if it's raining you can't open the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muse_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend here at Limestone. Your comments are really appreciated and are rewarding for all the team to read.

I am also very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food at Limestone. We are lucky to be situated in a location with such fantastic fresh seafood.

In regards to the issues you mentioned with the Stable bedroom. Your points are very valid and I can only apologies. However, I am so pleased to hear there was another room available, it was dealt with professionally and it did not impact your weekend stay.

The Stable room is very quirky, and yes it does only have sky light windows which can prove a problem if it is raining. Some people really enjoy the stable other people do not get on with it so well. I think it is down to personal opinion. We have done our very best with the given space and odd layout of the room, I think you booked a standard room via the internet. If is sold via telephone we always try to give the most accurate description.

Once again, thank you for your lovely review and kind words.

We hope to welcome you back to Limestone Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great little hotel with a very professional and polite crew of enthusiastic staff. Very comfortable beds, good pressure in showers. In short all you need for a short break. The star of this hotel is the food. Will definitely visit again next time I am in the Dorset area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelling-lyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your wonderful brief description of Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

Your review is very accurate and exactly what we aim to deliver.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to Limestone in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a couple of days at the Limestone Hotel. We were in the Boathouse room with lovely views ver the garden at the side of the hotel and to the hills beyond. Sunsets were lovely from there. The room was just about to be redecorated but our only possible issue was that the bedside lights were not bright enough to read by. Meanwhile the breakfasts and dinners we had were top quality and the staff were all delightful.

Highly recommended. One thing to note - it's a steep climb up from the carpark but the views are worth it when you get to the terrace at thr front of the hotel - where we can also recommend afternoon tea!

The location is very good - 5 minutes walk from Lulworth Cove but set well back from the road so traffic noise (the mopeds apart!) is never a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, General Manager at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear reviewer (apologies trip advisor does not allow me to address you by name)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am very pleased to read you had a nice break.

Your informative review is extremely appreciated and allows other users to make an informed decision when looking for accommodation in the isle of Purbeck.

Once again, thank you for your 5 star review and we hope we welcome you back to Limestone in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A very nice hotel with an excellent restaurant. We had a nice room and our lovely dog was made very welcome. Small glitches need sorting out - taps drip, hot water ran out and shower dripped mid shampoo and carpet is very cheap and marked for a top price room bit we felt that the owners were very responsive to comments. It's a fab spot in a beautiful village and we really didn't want to leave! You need a decent budget for a weekend away here but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, General Manager at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I am very pleased to read your comments about our restaurant and I have passed your feedback onto the team. We are lucky to have such fresh produce on our doorsteps and such talented chef's in the kitchen.

Thank you once again, for pointing out the small glitches in your room. You will be pleased to hear, upon your check out we have put new taps in your room to stop the dripping. However, I can assure you our carpet that was put in last year is anything but cheap.

I do hope the small glitches have not deterred you from returning to Limestone Hotel & Restaurant and we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Limestone Hotel for a romantic weekend away, and were not disappointed. Despite arriving very late at night we received a lovely welcome, and the bedroom was clean, warm and cosy. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, and the hotel even provided us with a lovely packed lunch for our hike over to Durdle Door. The location was fab - two minutes from the village pub, and five minutes walk in the other direction to Lulworth Cove with its eateries and natural beauty.

We ate in the hotel on Saturday night, and it was a really 5* experience. We had a drink in the petite bar before dinner (with very generous plates of nibbles) and enjoyed the candlelight and the roaring log fire, then went through to the restaurant for a lovely meal. Portions were sensible, the range was good and the quality and service were superb.

I've stayed in hotels all over the world, and it was a pleasure to find one - especially a small one - that is getting all the basics right. It is clean, warm, welcoming, elegant, comfortable and well-located. They always seem to answer their phone when you call. Everything in the bedroom worked (TV, hairdryer etc). The towels were big and fluffy. The plug sockets were in sensible places. These things seem straightforward, but so often get overlooked.

The only tiny niggle was that our room (the Chocolate Room) was a little smaller than I expected from an upgraded room, and we could hear a fair amount of noise from the room above. Nothing major though, and nothing that could take the shine off our lovely weekend. I would certainly recommend it, and we'll aim to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, General Manager at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your excellent review!

I am so pleased to read you had a wonderful romantic weekend at Limestone Hotel. We are so lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of the world and we are delighted to offer a comfortable hotel for people to explore from.

The Chocolate room was a new room we added last year so we were able to design the room (plug sockets ect) in the correct and most convenient places. The rest of the hotel is much older and although refurbished some of the rooms were slightly harder to arrange as per a standard hotel bedroom.

Once again, thank you for such a wonderful review and I am so happy you enjoyed your weekend with us.

Best wishes,

Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

From the moment we walk through the door we were made very welcome and in a truly relaxed atmosphere, which never changed for our three day stay,the whole experience was a truely enjoyable. Our room was Seaside and Boathouse and both highly recommended, the thought that had gone into the decor was wonderful as was the rest of the hotel, each room has it`s own personality,very tasteful well done, clenliness excellent and well maitained.
The food was superb, whether it was breakfast or evening meal "Well Done Chef", Highly recommended even if you are not staying in the hotel, it is an experience not to be missed.
Finally the staff, a small team who all worked well together, they could not have been more friendly,happy and polite no matter who it was they always had time to ask how your day was and what you were going to do the next day,what a pleasure.
we already have friends looking to book a stay and we can not wait to go back. I have to say thank you to our daughter who stayed one night in the hotel and came home and said you have to go to this hotel and we are so glad we did.

Gill & keith

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and of a personal choice, some larger than others.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJW2901, General Manager at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words!

It is very rewarding to hear such positive feedback especially about the team here at Limestone. We all work very hard to ensure every guest is comfortable and well looked after while staying at Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

I am so pleased you liked the decor in both the Seaside Suite and Boathouse - a lot of thought went into the design so it is fantastic to receive your feedback. Our chefs will be equally pleased to read how much you enjoyed their cooking. Please rest assured; I will pass your comments on.

We have already received a booking from your recommendation and will make sure they are well looked after.

Once again, thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
952 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
21.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,096 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
375 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range: £110 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing