We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall happy.”
Review of Lulworth Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lulworth Cove Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall happy.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Staff - Good. Setting - Excellent. Location - excellent. Clean & tidy didn't have to wait long even though very busy! Food was average though. Nothing special but filled a hole and wasn't over priced. Would visit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maxster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    230
    74
    28
    25
See reviews for
137
475
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

pros: what a setting !! hard to beat, in the heart of the village , steps from the beach. very helpful and friendly staff.
cons:
truly awful food, if you like food cooked with love from scratch, avoid. clearly everything is pre made and finished in their kitchen. NO locally caught fish, very limited salad selections... like no green salad?, awful fish & chips. even the beer wasn't that great.
Breakfast was OK ... but despite having what looked like a very expensive fancy coffee machine and signs boasting of how they steam their milk to the perfect temp, the espresso drink I had was awful. something I thought was strange... the coffee with breakfast was bad too, i asked for a Latte (equally bad) , the server seemed put out that I asked for an espresso drink with breakfast.
on to the rooms:
i know some people love this style, but they are full of useless 'nick knacks" that overly clutter the small rooms .. look at my pictures, just not my cup of tea.
lastly, one of their food delivery trucks ruined my last morning, parked right below the rooms, engine and very noisy refrigeration unit left running for at least 20mins while he checked in the "pre made food". It wasn't a hot day and the back door on the truck was left wide open. Did he have to leave the engine and A/C running ? ruined the peace of the village.

Room Tip: we had 4 rooms, wi-fi was weak in some of them. twin room on 2nd floor has a tiny shower .. ok for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Lulworth Cove Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us on TripAdvisor. We carefully consider all comments from our guests, and we understand that criticism can help us develop and learn. We have sent you a private message regarding this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lulworth Cove Inn has good surroundings and a good ambience with friendly staff. We had fish and chips on the first night of our arrival to lulworth cove. Delicious! Excellent batter, crispy, hot chips. Faultless. Very welcome after a long, hot car journey lasting five and a half hours. We decided to return the following night based upon our first experience. This time the chips were cool and the presentation was awful. Bread stacked on top of fish ( which was ok, batter not as good as the night before), stacked on top of cool chips. Presumably, the hot fish was placed on top of the chips to give them some warmth. It did not work - they were cool and soggy. Ketchup, which had been well presented the night before, was plonked on the table in sachets. Our waitress responded well and it was sorted out quickly. We chose not to eat here again because we did not want to have another bad food experience on our short break. We bought fantastic Devon Chunk pork pies, chutney, cheese, fruit, etc from the local Londis and had great hearty picnics. We continued to have drinks at LCI due to the good surroundings and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here while on a short photo exped to Lulworth and the surrounding area. Situated in the very beautiful area of Lulworth Cove within easy access of many of Dorset's best attractions and the fabulous Jurassic Coast. The Inn is a Hall and Woodhouse (H&W) establishment and as such serves up some very nice Badger ales both cask and from the bottle (I was asked if I preferred my bottle of beer cellar, room or cooler temperature!). The food, both from the H&W menu and the special board was of top quality and the breakfast menu was varied and well prepared; the fresh smoked haddock kedgeree was superb! The room was fresh and airy very nicely decorated with a great view and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom ideal. I experienced nothing but excellent service from all the manager and all the staff but especially enjoyed the service and interaction with Richard, Helen and Kerry. many thanks guys for making the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked this hotel not knowing where Lulworth Cove was and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has been tastefully renovated our room with a balcony was very good. The restaurant was good, breakfast could be earlier, 7.30am would better suit the travellers. The big down side is that there is no car parking near the hotel. You have to use a public carpark that you cannot see from the hotel even though it is only 10 mins walk. From past experience when we lost all of our clothes etc out of the car \I would not use this hotel again. However if you want to go walkingand can live with the carpark you will not find a better location.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night very last minute, great location, lovely room and great bar (a Badgers Pub). Staff were great, food was top notch and all at very good value. Highly recommend though warning the cockerel nearby will have you up early... Though given the great views and walks you'll want to be out early anyway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a 2 night stay here end of May 2014. Absolutely fabulous accommodation every room is decorated to the highest standard. Bathrooms are small but this didn't spoil our stay. Staff are friendly and very helpful, especially the Manager. Excellent food and bar area. We loved this place so much we re booked straight away for the same weekend next year. This place is an absolute must. The outside beer garden was packed at all times which is always a good sign. Thank you everyone at the Inn for making us feel so very welcome all four of us. See you next year. Karen & Warren and Rosie & Degs.

Room Tip: Rooms with Balconies are beautiful but the rooms above have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
6.7 mi away
Bradle Farmhouse
Bradle Farmhouse
#4 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Cove Inn

Property: Lulworth Cove Inn
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lulworth Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the doorstep of Lulworth Cove, boasting stunning coastal views and scenic Jurassic footpaths, the Lulworth Cove Inn is an idyllic location for paradise seekers. Offering award winning Badger cask ales, lagers from around the world and a menu full of fresh, unpretentious, seasonal dishes cooked by our team of talented chefs, using quality ingredients from our regional food partners.Our hospitable teams aim to make your day, whether it be a slight change to your meal, making a celebration extra special or simply providing you with a newspaper to read whilst sipping a refreshing drink in our garden or balcony.We take real pleasure in making your visit memorable and your retreat unforgettable. Lulworth Cove Inn offers 16 En-Suite rooms with WiFi access and stunning sea views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lulworth Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulworth Cove Hotel West Lulworth
Lulworth Cove Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing