We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cider with OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great cider with OK food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This pub is just beautiful, its a must if you are in the local area. The cider was one of the best we have ever had, the food I had was just OK - everyone else was pleased with their choice though.
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    130
    72
    75
    67
See reviews for
94
280
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Castle Inn (the first time being a few years ago when my husband and I had a really enjoyable meal). This time, to be fair, we were a group of seven who turned up without booking on a Friday night looking for food, and certainly we had tried three other places before this pub and nowhere else could fit us in. So we probably weren't the easiest group of people to accommodate. The staff found us a table in the bar area which was great. We ordered our food but a member of staff came back to us ten minutes later to say they had run out of two of the choices - fair enough, not a problem, we chose something else instead. The adults had ordered starters and asked for the childrens' main meals to come out with the starters as they were all getting rather hungry, and that worked well for most of the children, apart from the eldest child who had ordered from the main menu not the childrens menu, so she ended up having to wait for her food. The food was decent pub grub as expected. However there seemed to be an awful lot of young staff (at least eight, perhaps?) who spent a lot of time seemingly hovering behind the bar and drinking and chatting, and one of them came over to clear the starters away when I was still eating. I held onto my plate and carried on eating for a moment or two, then finished and we waited an absolute age for anything else to happen. Then the staff started switching off the lights behind the food counter and we started to worry they had forgotten us. One of our party got fed up and finished clearing the table herself, and chased up our main courses (the child who hadn't eaten anything yet was sitting starving in the corner and grumbling in only the way a hungry teenager can!). Our food then got rushed out and plonked on the table, we weren't offered any new cutlery so got it ourselves and then I went on the hunt for condiments. So, overall, I would say it was a very nice pub, fairly decent pub grub, with hindsight we should have booked, but the young staff really ought to be sent down the road to Clavells Cafe in Kimmeridge for training in friendly service where it is on offer aplenty. Wouldn't necessarily stop us trying again another year though!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the castle for the cider festival which was good. The sampler trays are a really good idea. The festival is all year round so not really a festival! The food was nothing special with limited choice . Seemed to be alot of staff doing nothing. I would recommend for the drinks but not the food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dmtmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Along with lots of engineers, using this military area, while being involved in things militaires, we all enjoyed being able to relax and enjoy the odd beer and good steak! Very obliging staff , all of whom were only too aware of the the necessity for meals on time, and being able to park some lively motor cars at the most anti - social of hours .No matter who we entertained , of whatever "rank", all of us treated the same, ........with absolute disdain!!!.... No no I jest!!!! I won't use that bally awful word ...."haven. " however this spot absolutely is and as far as I've heard , still does, take the biscuit! Long may she sail!!
,

Room Tip: Book early , do not expect a quiet stay , exxxxtremely popular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked three nights with my girlfriend and two dogs after visiting the pub three years ago.
The location is superb and the outside of the building looks charming, but inside it is dirty, cramped and dated.
I think this is why it is marketed for dog owners. They do give dogs poor quality sausage at breakfast, but there is no extra space in the room for them to sleep and the waterbowls outside were not filled.
The breakfast was cheap and poor and serviced by young disinterested staff. The owners did not ackwlodge us when we left.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for space for your dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riccardobrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Lulworth hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Castle Inn is a cute country cottage, run as a pub and a hotel. The decor is traditional but to be honest, the rooms are dated and could do with a lot of care. We stayed in room 11, which had an en-suite bathroom with a shower. The shower had very little power and was more of a dribble! We did mention this to the landlady and they tried to descale the shower but it made no difference. I presume this is a job for the plumber! The location is great for sightseeing in Lulworth and I think it is ideal if you wish to bring your dogs with you. The staff were polite and friendly, they tried to accommodate you but did not go out of their way. The breakfast was just ok. At £95 per room per night I definitely would have expected more for my money. Saying that, we stayed in July, peak season and you really don't stay in Lulworth to be indoors so it didn't affect our stay what so ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annarose34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staff were very accommodating when we booked, as they were busy they couldn't book is into the same room for two consecutive nights but would change rooms and do the move for us.

It's location is good and we parked opposite as parking can be a bit tough at this pub. Our stay in a room for the first night was okay, but it seems that whilst being dog friendly the carpet and furnishings smelled of dogs. As a dog owner I appreciate that some dogs leave smells, and often I'm charged more because places need to clean rooms more because of the dog. In order to vent the smells we tried opening the windows but of course that let lots of noise in for this busy pub.
The second night we stayed in a room that had a bathroom down a few steps round a corner, and the loo was then up a few more steps in the narrowest of places. This room did not smell too doggy fortunately.

We ate there one night and could not believe how slow service was, we waited 50 minutes for our meal to arrive, it was warm and good value, but after such a wait I think I would have devoured the whole kitchen. The ordering at the bar procedure was very amateurish.
Breakfasts in contrast were served much quicker and were nice.

The ciders and beers on a festival list were superb and much appreciated.

This place does need a refurbishment and I appreciate the difficulties of such a quaint old building but it is tired and better management of the place would help customers and staff alike.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms both odd
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralphus2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
428 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
406 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
9.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel West Lulworth
The Castle Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing