We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Lulworth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tans12
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect. Exactly as per the pics. Really clean and cosy. Bottle of prosecvo on arrival. All essentials you need available. Easy walk to pubs and village. Loved the fire. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyPe19...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage which made for a very welcoming stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This beautifully furnished cottage was very well located being a short walk from the beach in the very lovely village of West Lulworth.

We had a toddler and a teenager and there were enough attractions within a short drive to entertain both.

The cottage was well equipped for our toddler, with a highchair, stair gate, travel cot and plastic plates/bowls/small cutlery which were all very welcome.

Thanks Mel for being so helpful and welcoming.

We would definitely visit again!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest7221...
1 review
“What more can I add”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at quarterdeck and the weather was very kind, we drove to Mount Baton pier and caught the ferry over to the Barbican at Plymouth. Had a walk along the coastal path. Everything in the chalet was beautiful. If was going to be very picky then I would say as three larger people we found the sofas a bit of a tight squeeze and would have preferred a full two / three seater. BUT this did not spoil our stay one iota. Did not want to go home, could spend all day just watching the comings and goings on the sea. As a rule we don't tend to stay at the same place twice, I think this will be an exception.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenGJW
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage; wonderful location”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at "The Retreat" at West Lulworth for five nights over the Christmas period. The accommodation was excellent, with delightful rooms, very modern facilities, clean, light and airy. Mel, the housekeeper, looks after the property wonderfully, and provided great treats for our arrival: sparkling wine, chocolates, biscuits and milk. Plus a decorated Christmas tree.

Our only advice would be to consider installing a heat sensitive light externally by the front door of the cottage, as the steep steps up to the front door are completely in the dark once daylight has gone.

We have been to the Dorset coastline several times, but this was our first stay at "The Retreat". We will happily return. The cottage is just a few minutes walk from Lulworth Cove, and Durdle Door is a walk or short drive away. There are plenty of interesting places to visit close by; for example, Corfe Castle, Kimmeridge, Tyneham, Wareham, Swanage and Studland (you can take the chain ferry over to Sandbanks), to mention just a few; as well as an endless variety of beautiful coastal walks.

We had an evening meal at Mortons House Hotel Restaurant, 49 East Street, Corfe Castle, on Christmas Eve. The food was excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeAlton
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Brilliant well appointed cottage just a stones throw away from Lulworth Cove. Mel the housekeeper is lovely and you get a welcome pack of cake on arrival which is lovely. All the rooms are done really well and makes it feel like a home from home. The fact it has a car parking space is also brilliant as it can get quite busy with people coming in to the cove.
The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is really well stocked. There is an aga and log fire too for those cozy winter evenings.
Would definitely go again. Thank you

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaShine
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This cottage is ideally located in Lulworth -- walk to the beach, pubs and ice cream shops! We took a longer walk through the fields to Durdle Door. The Retreat has everything you could need -- fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and bedding and plastic dishes/cutlery for the children. Even a stair gate and potty! We loved the Aga stove and wood burner. The bathroom has been completely renovated since this photo. We only wished we could have stayed longer. For rainy days children loved The Tank Museum and Tyneham Village. Corfe Castle also close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givawer
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Excellent Cottage, Stylish, Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Better than I could have imagined. This cottage had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. Beautiful style and colours and a warm welcome with the added touch of fresh eggs, bread, butter, cake and flowers to welcome us.
Wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploring the fantastic area. Garden very steep but views fantastic. Added to this an Aga to cook on which I loved. (I now want one) Would highly recommend this to friends and family and would certainly return. Had fantastic time there. Short Walk to beach and lovely walks in area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing