We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Burngate Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burngate Farm
Ranked #11 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

What excellent value for money this B&B is. They even accepted our dog free of charge. Carpets in bedroom were stained but who's going to worry about that when the bed is comfortable, the room spacious and the breakfast superb.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Spent two nights and we (my teenage daughter and I, from London & her godfather and his teenage son, visiting from South Africa) thought Burngate Farm was absolutely wonderful. We were made to feel very welcome by Sophie upon our arrival, and throughout our stay. Bedrooms were warm & spacious, with beautiful linen and lovely furniture. We especially enjoyed the cosy living room with crackling log fire (much appreciated after a long day's walk to Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove and all around Studland) where, from the comfort of the enormous sofa, we watched South Africa beat Ireland at rugby before moving on to delicious dinner at The Old Granary in Wareham (recommended by Sophie). We had a fantastic meal the night before at The Weld Arms, recommended by Sophie, who also kindly booked a table on our behalf. A very happy stay in a breathtakingly beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferelith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Loved the location, very peaceful. Our room was lovely, only thing we didn't like was no lock on door, and no way to have heating on. The breakfast was lovely. The bacon and homemade bread was the best part.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suedean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here to celebrate my father's 70th birthday and had a great time. The owners, David and Sophie, were lovely and looked after us well. They were very relaxed and accommodating. We were able to take our dog and this place is very dog friendly. Both rooms were of a decent quality. My wife and I were in the loft room which was very spacious and had a great ensuite.

We found the attention to detail was good, with lots of little things - decent quality makes of tea / coffee and toiletries in the room, a lovely breakfast (full English, different types of juice & cereals, fresh home made breads and james), thick duvet, soft towels, flat screen TVs, use of a lounge with games and DVD player.

Burngate is about 1.5 miles from the nearest pub, which is down in Lulworth, so it is a short walk, but the owners offered to pick us up to return us back if we wished. They were so kind that they even produced a bottle of Champagne to celebrate my father's birthday with!

We would be more than happy to recommend Burngate as a great place to stay near Lulworth.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skarloc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at Burngate Farm. We felt as though we had been staying with friends rather than at a B&B.

The breakfast was lovely - so much choice - and the recommendations for eating out couldn't have been better.

We found that we were really central for all the places we wanted to visit and we will most certainly go back - always assuming there is a vacancy!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We visited Burngate for a 5 day family holiday. Our young son loved it and thought he was at "Big Barn Farm"; especially as you are able to see cattle and sheep around the back of the farm which is part of the Lulworth Estate. There was also use of the owners children's play area available outside with climbing frame, Wendy House and numerous toys; a downer though was the amount of dog poo on the grass which was an obvious h&s concern.
The B&B is 1 1/2 miles from Lulworth Cove and we enjoyed 2 evening meals at the Lulworth Cove Inn; one at The Weld Arms in East Lulworth and one at the New Inn, Church Knowle. We would recommend all these pubs.
The main issues we had were the lack of attention to detail. Half the lights in the lounge didn't work and it was therefore too dark to read. A screwed up dirty orange towel sat at the top of the stairs for 4 days, we began taking bets on when it would finally be moved!
The room was cleaned and tidied only once during our stay.
Yes, the breakfast was good and very varied but these days that is surely a minimum requirement.
Worryingly a couple were literally thrown out during our stay. They thought they had booked for 2 nights but the owners thought it was one. They stayed the night and filled out their arrival form stating the 2 nights. It was only after they returned from a day's walking that they were met by the owner who had packed their rucksacks for them and had them ready at the front door. The room was then prepared for the other double booked guest. This upset the female guest greatly, especially as it was her wedding anniversary weekend. There was an air of Fawlty Towers with the chaos that surrounded this incident and the screaming and shouting we heard coming from the owners about it. Humorous yes, but that somebody's holiday that was ruined there.
I have no idea who was at fault but surely this could have been checked when they arrived. So our over-riding memory was of a series of own goals which was a shame as the owners mean well and want to provide a good service but arguably lack the organisational skills to currently achieve this, worrying as there are other reviews on here of double booking AND they are planning to expand their business.
We would recommend, but with caution and it does depend upon where you set your standards.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Having read the reviews and knowing the area very well, including other B&Bs (not available) we booked for five nights. We were also attracted because we could take our two terriers.
First impressions were not the best. Entrance to the B&B is not well signed and the route across the untidy yard meant we had to dodge the dog poo.
The rooms were pleasant and the facilities good. We liked the use of the owners lounge and the selection of board games.
Double bed was not the most comfortable, mattress was lumpy and pillows very hard. Bedlinen had seen better days. We walked a lot and were sufficiently tired not to be bothered too much.
Breakfasts were lovely and Sophie makes excellent home made bread.
Our main observation was the lack of attention to detail. We have experienced a lot of hotels and B&Bs and would say the housekeeping was well below standard. For example, the hall and stairs were very grubby and were not hoovered for at least four days. Neither were the rooms serviced during the day apart from replenishing the Tea and Coffee. Most places will tidy round and put out towels and clean the sinks/toilets etc. There was very much a 'take us as we are attitude' We have had much better standards for less money.
We would give a cautions recommendation if we felt there was more care and pride shown in the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairns-on-Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,033 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lulworth Lodge
Lulworth Lodge
#5 of 13 in West Lulworth
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burngate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burngate Farm

Property: Burngate Farm
Address: West Lulworth BH20 5PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Burngate Farm West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing