We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has already grabbed crown as best curry house in and around Norwich”

Tamarind Fine Indian Dining
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Blofield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$44
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Has already grabbed crown as best curry house in and around Norwich”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Set up and run by Giyash Miah, the guy who owns the Spice Lounge in the City. That used to be my favourite curry house in the area, but this one takes everything to the next level. They've made a great job of converting the Old Two Friends pub in Blofield Heath. No expense shared in the decor and the service matches the environment. Ultimately though, the acid test for any restaurant is always going to be the quality of the food and The Tamarind delivers in spades. It's only been open 10 days and we've already eaten in the restaurant once and had two takeaways. This is the first Indian I've ever come across, where the takeaway food matches the standard of the eat-in fare. And no sign of grease floating on top when you open up the foil container, as is the case with most takeaways.

All in all, I simply can't fault it and the rest of the Wood family are similarly smitten. The question is whether they can maintain their outstanding start over the long haul. My betting is they can, as Giyash is very hands on and just doesn't seem to type to let standards slip. The only downsides of having the Tamarind in our village will be the effect on the wallet and the waistline.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tonymichaelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    61
    24
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had to wait a week or so after the opening to get a table, and the wait was worth it. The venue is unrecognisable from what it was before, you can see that the owners have bought the very best materials; a very stylish renovation! The seats are extremely comfortable, there is plenty of room between the tables so you don't feel like you are sitting on top of each other. The atmosphere is welcoming and friendly, and definitely no stuffiness. The staff are very attentive, but also give you space when you want it. The food was a delight from the first poppadom and lime pickle through to the chocolates at the end of the night. All of our party enjoyed the food immensely, highly recommend the Biryani, Monkfish Bahaar, Zinga Laziz and the Paneer Shashlik. We will definitely be returning both to sit in and take away!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MattGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Takeaway”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have a takeaway from this Thai most weeks and it never fails to provide fresh, fragrent food. The prices are very reasonable and I would totally recommend the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbarrettsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - quality food cooked fresh to order”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I asked for this to be put on TripAdvisor as we have been numerous times for both eat in and take away - everytime it's been perfect. (must say I've never had a takeway that tastes just like it does in the restaurant!)
Whilst it is set in a pub (The Two Friends - Blofield Heath) they are run separately with the food being provided by a family - the wife being a superb Thai chef. You always get a warm welcome and drinks are ordered from the waitress and provided from the pub end, but you pay for everything in one go at the end.
The standard menu is varied, but not huge - as it's fresh food it can't be - but if you're not an expert on Thai food help is at hand, and you can have it mild, medium or spicy!
Additionally on a Thursday night is an all you can eat buffet (£14.95) but this is different to most. You order from a menu whatever you want and it comes all freshly done as a normal order would - no sitting around in a tray for all to dig in - very nice way of doing it and it's beautiful. The starter platter is wonderful. The service is great, very clean restaurant etc and presentation is superb (even coffee comes with a variety of pots and jugs...).
The pub serves a few real ales and the usual selection of other drinks and is good value - and the beers always kept well.
There is no website but the contact details are 01603 712853 (Tues-Sat 5.30pm to 10pm) booking on Thursdays advisable or lunchtimes (varies).
I and numerous friends have been here time and time again and never been disappointed, we all rave about it and always look for an excuse to go again. We went last Thursday (less than a week after last takeaway) and a party of five were in and they couldn't eat everything - so the chef's husband put everything in takeaway cartons for them - if only I had have known that I wouldn't have made sure I ate everything! (Then again maybe not - I can't leave good food!).
I think you can see we love it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaosChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Fine Indian Dining also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Tamarind Fine Indian Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing