We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All round first class base for sightseeing in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Farriers and Anvil Cottages
All Three of our Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blofield, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moyra S
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“All round first class base for sightseeing in Norfolk”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Located in the centre of arable farm land this wonderful cottage was a great find for us when searching for somewhere to stay in Norfolk that was centrally situated for everything. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the host and were provided with a very thorough overview of the property and all of its amenities. No item was missed from the very thorough inventory. The property was spotless both inside and out and it can be see why this lovely cottage has earned itself an English Tourism Gold award. We had the benefit of the sun sitting out on the decking in the morning at the rear of the property and on the front decking in the evening. Our cottage was equipped to accommodate two and was in fact spacious in all areas. The bed in the property is an extra large king size and was very comfortable. There is a fridge, freezer, dishwasher and microwave. Everything was supplied that we required to manage the house while there and a welcome basket was provided with everything we needed until we were able to shop for ourselves and included breakfast and a welcome bottle of wine. The property also provides free Wi-Fi, TV and iPod dock as well as books and games for those less technically focused.
I hope to return to the area again and will have no hesitation in booking this little gem in the heartland of Norfolk.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGaCa
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Such helpful hosts”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I and our three cats were moving to England and we needed a place to stay for one week before our house became available to us - the cats arrived with their travel carer before we did and our hosts let the cats be freed into the cottage until we arrived from our long journey from Canada. During our first week we had a lot of time sensitive documents to attend to and Tanya was always there for us if we had internet issues - let's face it, people should be relaxing out here and unplugging, not being hyper vigilant of every email, but we had to be and so appreciated her assistance. It's a convenient location to both city and country with gorgeous sunsets.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and modern with lots of extra touches
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glyn J
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful tranquil cottage.”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Anvil cottage.
The cottage is well equipped and very clean and comfortable.
The hosts have spent a considerable amount of time making the stay as pleasant as possible and there is information packs on everything you would wish. I have never seen such well researched information so well done for providing this!
We found the cottage really near the Norfolk broads and also a short drive to the sea. Plenty of pubs and restaurants only a few minutes drive away so we found this cottage a great location to explore the area.
All in all a really enjoyable stay and I would be very happy to recommend Anvil Cottage for a welcome break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moss892
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent a delightful week from the 7th May in this superb immaculate cottage.
Tania and Felicity have made it so comfortable with lots of extras including tissues and cotton wool etc

Thank you for the welcome pack, so useful when you first arrive.

Cottage is in lovely quite lane, buses pass the bottom of drive into Norwich and other areas, cottage also near everything on the broads, short drive to coast.

Decking area overlooking fields, very private and great for a quite read or having a glass of wine in the evening.

I am sure we will return in the near future.

Well done to you both.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absoloutly amazing, so glad i found it!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Only found this place as we wanted to go on holiday and take our dogs with us however cannot believe how amazing it actually is. Everything is so perfect they have thought of everything possible to live comfortably for the time you stay it is like a second home!! The bed in this cottage is unbelievably comfortable its so hard to get out of bed in the morning! To top if off a welcome pack is left by Tanya and Felicity aswell as things such as bread, milk and eggs for breakfast which is an added bonus. I cannot even begin to explain how amazing it is in the evening when sitting outside on the decking and you can see the stars, very romantic and relaxing! ive stayed 3 times now and will be staying for a 4th in Easter, the best thing I have ever discovered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb country cottage - First Class +++ - Simply the best time”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This holiday cottage is superb. It is spotlessly clean, very well equipped with good quality fittings. Everything you could want for and more - the hosts have thought of practically everything. The bed is extremely comfortable, I slept 8+ hours each night. Plenty of room for clothes. Kitchen well equipped and modern. Although the weather turned freezing cold the cottage was warm. Outside the patio doors is a large decking area overlooking fields and those big skies Norfolk is so well known for. And two buzzards every day, hares, red legged partridge, pheasant and all manner of garden birds right outside the door. Complete peace and quiet with huge dark skies just bursting with stars. Gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. I couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough. The hosts were very welcoming and information provided at the cottage about the local area was ample, especially for local eateries. I had simply the best time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort, peace
Liked least: low lighting, chilly shower room
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing