We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of old wheatsheaf

old wheatsheaf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent liver and bacon. Good traditional pub with friendly service. The only prpblem is the small car park.

Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    56
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited this pub following good reviews on trip advisor and was very pleased we did , lovely menu traditional pub restaurant friendly welcome. I was spoilt for choice and finally decided on the calves liver and mashed potato , I was not disappointed it was tender melt in the mouth and tasty . My son devoured cheese burger and enormous hand cut chips , my husband enjoyed his steak which was well cooked. His thin fries looked a bit disappointing in comparison with the hand cut chips that came with the burger. Service was a bit slow but I think this was due to a number of tables ordering at once well worth the wait thanks

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCricketers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I'm a fan of the Old Wheatsheaf and have already reviewed the evening meals. Recently we went there for lunch and the menu was really good from meals to light snacks. We had the baguette of the day and they were excellent. With the nice weather its great to be able to sit out in the covered patio area. We will certainly be going back again at lunchtime (plus in the evening as well!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AOC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A non-review”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've visited this restaurant a few times and reviewed it once as 'Very Good' but it's unlikely that we'll go back again. Already known for their inflexible approach to customer requests, they recently managed to 'lose' our booking for a family celebration which we had made a couple of months in advance. Forced to find another restaurant at short notice, we were lucky enough to find a much better one locally.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PGL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A gem of a Pub”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A rare traditional pub in the area these days. Great food, fresh and most made on premiss, top value, always friendly. No jukebox or slot machines, just the babble of the people chatting. Great beer selection. Staff always fast, efficient and helpful. We head there a couple of times a month. The Thursday Night Pie night is great. Can hardly move after!!
Well worth a visit, kids welcomed. Clientel seem to be 40+ so can avoid the young bucks and leery ones. Nice outdoor seating area in summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mystic-merkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed old wheatsheaf also viewed

 
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to old wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing