We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very odd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Lincs
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very odd”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Odd and outdated. Food not good. Public rooms outdated. Bedroom adequate, but no more. The entrance, as others have highlighted, is positively dangerous and would be a problem for the infirm. Reception staff could be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    51
    86
    51
    51
See reviews for
31
51
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

So after reading the reviews on here before we went to the lakeside international, our expectations were very low. After staying here I am surprised at some of the awful reviews - it's certainly not as bad as some say. However saying this, we didn't have a particularly great stay.

When we arrived we noticed straight away that there were hardly any cars in the car park. We worked out that it was just our group and a couple more that were there.
We were checked in quickly and easily, the receptionist was polite and efficient. Our room (187) was nothing like the bad reviews had said. We had a twin room, it was lovely and clean, the decor is somewhat out dated but it is fine for a hotel. Our bathroom was small, however it was spotless, plenty of toilet paper, and two sets of clean towels. There was a nice flat screen tv in the room with free view and a small balcony which over looked the lake (not the prettiest of views) but it was fine. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and the cups were clean.
The lounge bar was dead. So we decided to make use of the pool facilities, only to be told that it closed at half 4 due to a Xmas function. It was 4pm so we rushed to use it. The porter was there and we said half an hour? He replied - no 25 minutes. Ok then...
We met down in the lounge for dinner in the evening and were told we were not allowed to eat until gone 9pm as they were busy with the Xmas function. Did not appreciate this. We were starving. When we did get our food it was the standard would get at the wimpy. The bread rolls served with it was the best thing about it. The prices for this food was way over what it was worth.
We went back to our room at
11:30pm and discovered we were directly above the Xmas function. The disco was so loud our room was vibrating. We called reception and asked when the music would be finishing and was told midnight. It didn't finish until 12:45am. Then we were kept awake by a couple of people in the next room obviously from the party being extremely loud until 2am Either
that or the walls are wafer thin. I banged on the wall a couple of times, but instead of them quieting down, they banged back! So didn't sleep much.
Breakfast was fine. There was plenty of food and we were served tea, coffee and toast and helped ourselves to hot food and cereals etc.
We complained about our room in the morning and were told usually they move other guests away from the party.... Bit late! We got a £14 discount and a promise the manager would call us tomorrow morning. They were conventiently not around. There were quite a few others that were complaining also.
It was meant to be a relaxing night away with use of their pool, jacuzzi etc and a nice quiet sleep. If you're looking for this, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. However the staff were polite and the place was CLEAN, which is always the most important thing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enomis8719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A simple hotel, you could see it had been stylish in its time and the bar and restaurant area was quite pleasant but in need of updating in many areas. Accommodation itself was not bad, bathrooms were very basic but functional, our corridor however was very poor. The door locks were actually keys, that's ok but only one key per room (no matter how often you asked for more) and the key was needed for the room power, so if one of you wanted to turn in early and the other to stay out later, the person staying in would be in the dark with no power at all and no solution was forthcoming when staff were confronted with this question. Ground floor rooms also blocked out all mobile signals. Generally not a bad place but needs a good shake-up! Location is nice, right on the lake.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms, ask for upper floor room with views over lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wonderful charity event being held in another part of the complex. Our room (197) was lovely with a great view of the lake but unfortunately overlooked the 'smokers' outside sitting area of the bar and restaurant. Room facilities are very good. King size bed, tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board and iron, plenty of hanging space in wardrobes and plenty of drawer space. Great hairdryer and toiletries. Shower over bath with good flow of hot water. Service in the public areas was ok, reception staff very friendly, bar staff not quite so as they seemed to be a bit short of staff, one person to serve incoming clients with their need for coffees, drinks, snacks etc. On the last morning I ordered 4 coffees and we got just that 4 coffees, no pot of coffee, no mugs of coffee, no little biscuits etc £10! A tad of an overcharge in my books, this meant it cost £2.50 for a small cup of inferior coffee. Also there was no night bar so when a group of friends arrived back from our event in the early hours of the morning we were met with a blank 'no' when we asked if we could get anything at the bar, no drinks, no snacks, no anything. Sad lack of service.

Room Tip: Odd numbers are overlooking the lake and evens overlook the car park. Some rooms are at car park le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

past its peek would be fair to say , all areas were clean and tidy and the staff were polite and professional so all in all okay, pool and gym looked okay but wasn't used by myself so cant really comment, food was over priced. otherwise a good stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Like other reviewers I felt that entering this hotel was like going back in time. The decor facilities and rooms are like something out of the 1970's, including the Spanish waiting staff (very Faulty Towers).

On arrival at lunchtime the place was deserted but, having found the bar, I enquired about getting something to eat. There was no menu but the bar man said that they could do sandwiches. When asked what sandwiches were available he said that he would have to go and find out. The choice was limited to ham, cheese, beef, egg mayo or tuna mayo. My colleagues and I all decided on beef, at which point the bar man disappeared for about 20 minutes, before returning with our sandwiches which he had obviously just made!

Check in was another interesting experience. It was obvious that we had interrupted a conversation between the two members of staff and they were not at all happy about it. To say that a visit to charm school would be in order would be understating it, particularly interesting as one of the staff was the front of house supervisor.

The foyer has a domed ceiling painted with a mural that looks like it was done by primary school children and the crown shaped light fitting is something to behold.

On the plus side, my room was large, clean and quiet and over looked the 'lake' (more of an oversized duck pond) and the semi derelict floating restaurant that someone had had a half hearted attempt to make look like a paddle steamer. The breakfast buffet was fine but without the extent of choice that one would normally expect of a hotel with 'International' in its title.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nauntongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip. The hotel was booked for me prior to arrival, and wasn't what to expect following reviews by others on Tripadvisor. I was booked in for bed & breakfast, as I wasn't exactly endeared by what I read about the evening meals in the restaurant. Instead I decided to eat out instead.
My room was on the ground floor next to the car park which to me wasn't ideal, as when people returned at night and parked up it seemed that their headlights shone straight into the bedroom and the engine and radio noise woke me up each time, even with the curtains and windows closed. I did however have a decent and comfortable nights sleep despite all that. It was nice to have a bath in the bathroom which was great especially following the long drive down from the north.
Breakfast was buffet style and was quite satisfactory, although there was no toaster available. I ended up requesting toast, which the waiter went and got somewhat reluctantly. I asked for two slices of wholemeal, and she came back with one slice of white which was cold.
All in all though it was average, with no great plus points apart from the bath that is.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the ground floor due to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bancroft6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frimley Green
2.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
1,797 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside International Hotel

Property: Lakeside International Hotel
Address: Wharf Road, Frimley Green GU16 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Frimley Green
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a picturesque and idyllic lake in the heart of Frimley Green, Surrey is the three-star business-class and vacation hotel, Lakeside International, which is located on the Lakeside Complex – an entertainment hub in Surrey. A preferred hotel for business traveller with a high level of repeat clients, it is within easy reach from London Heathrow and Gatwick airports and minutes away from London Farnborough Airport and five train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside International Hotel Frimley Green, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing