We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better This Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I made a previous visit to this hotel last year and got put in a fairly dismal room on the lower ground floor overlooking the car park but this time I was given a lovely light modern room on the first floor with a huge window looking out over the lake. The room was large with a king sized bed and large television. Lovely and warm with no noise.
The restaurant did not open untill 7pm and as I could not wait that long I ate in the bar from the bar menu. They have bar menu specials displayed at reception and I chose peppeed steak that was lovely. Breakfast was only average though. I found all the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. I had room 191 whach was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a lovely valentine break. Room was beautiful and clean lovely decor. The evening meal was out of this world, really good value. The full English breakfast was lovely too, a lot of choice. Lovey friendly waiters. Wonderful service. The pool , jacuzzi and sauna was lovely. A great night away, can't wait to go again, thankyou !

Room Tip: We asked for top floor with lake view, lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for the 3rd time and recently scored 5 stars because of the novelty factor but unfotunately even that has now worn off.
Nice easy check in, nice clean rooms but this is masively undone by the staff who are either rude or have no idea what is going on.
Oh, and the food was terrible. Frozen yorkshire puds, frozen apple pie, coal like roast potatoes and no veg all for £18 !! Breakfast was the same. No eggs or beans, soggy toast, cold coffee.
Even the spa area is now rubbish. The pool was cold as was the sauna. At least they were on though because the steam room looked condemed.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Really, it's awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave120977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having stayed in the hotel last year which was nothing to write home about but still functional I booked again this year for a trade show visit. What a mistake, this year I was given a 'lodge'. Nothing could have been further from this description.....tucked round the back up dodgy stairs with nasty carpet and chipped paint the actual room was small and looked directly into the room across the way. The bed was small and noisy and lumpy, the floor tiles in the shower room were cracked, there wasn't even a phone to use to call reception to complain. Needless to say I didn't stay but am £124 worse off as they make you pay in advance, clearly so that you will stay rather than lose the money. My advice is not to stay here, do not pay in advance!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Recently stayed at the Lakeside International Hotel on a business trip. Overall, the hotel could use some updates, but had a plesant stay in general. The breakfast buffet was included in our rate - a very good benefit so we didn't have to go far for breakfast before heading to work. This hotel still has room keys with very large key fobs. The reception desk was always willing to keep our keys during the day and give them back to us when we came back in the evening. The rooms have a kettle for coffee in the morning. Other room amenities include hair dryer and iron. Ask for a room facing the lake - my room was facing the road and heard traffic noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get traffic noise in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Odd and outdated. Food not good. Public rooms outdated. Bedroom adequate, but no more. The entrance, as others have highlighted, is positively dangerous and would be a problem for the infirm. Reception staff could be better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

So after reading the reviews on here before we went to the lakeside international, our expectations were very low. After staying here I am surprised at some of the awful reviews - it's certainly not as bad as some say. However saying this, we didn't have a particularly great stay.

When we arrived we noticed straight away that there were hardly any cars in the car park. We worked out that it was just our group and a couple more that were there.
We were checked in quickly and easily, the receptionist was polite and efficient. Our room (187) was nothing like the bad reviews had said. We had a twin room, it was lovely and clean, the decor is somewhat out dated but it is fine for a hotel. Our bathroom was small, however it was spotless, plenty of toilet paper, and two sets of clean towels. There was a nice flat screen tv in the room with free view and a small balcony which over looked the lake (not the prettiest of views) but it was fine. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and the cups were clean.
The lounge bar was dead. So we decided to make use of the pool facilities, only to be told that it closed at half 4 due to a Xmas function. It was 4pm so we rushed to use it. The porter was there and we said half an hour? He replied - no 25 minutes. Ok then...
We met down in the lounge for dinner in the evening and were told we were not allowed to eat until gone 9pm as they were busy with the Xmas function. Did not appreciate this. We were starving. When we did get our food it was the standard would get at the wimpy. The bread rolls served with it was the best thing about it. The prices for this food was way over what it was worth.
We went back to our room at
11:30pm and discovered we were directly above the Xmas function. The disco was so loud our room was vibrating. We called reception and asked when the music would be finishing and was told midnight. It didn't finish until 12:45am. Then we were kept awake by a couple of people in the next room obviously from the party being extremely loud until 2am Either
that or the walls are wafer thin. I banged on the wall a couple of times, but instead of them quieting down, they banged back! So didn't sleep much.
Breakfast was fine. There was plenty of food and we were served tea, coffee and toast and helped ourselves to hot food and cereals etc.
We complained about our room in the morning and were told usually they move other guests away from the party.... Bit late! We got a £14 discount and a promise the manager would call us tomorrow morning. They were conventiently not around. There were quite a few others that were complaining also.
It was meant to be a relaxing night away with use of their pool, jacuzzi etc and a nice quiet sleep. If you're looking for this, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. However the staff were polite and the place was CLEAN, which is always the most important thing.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enomis8719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frimley Green
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Frimley
Travelodge Frimley
#1 of 2 in Frimley Green
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Camberley
Travelodge Camberley
#5 of 8 in Camberley
228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aviator
Aviator
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Camberley Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside International Hotel

Address: Wharf Road, Frimley Green GU16 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Frimley Green
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Price Range: £94 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a picturesque and idyllic lake in the heart of Frimley Green, Surrey is the three-star business-class and vacation hotel, Lakeside International, which is located on the Lakeside Complex – an entertainment hub in Surrey. A preferred hotel for business traveller with a high level of repeat clients, it is within easy reach from London Heathrow and Gatwick airports and minutes away from London Farnborough Airport and five train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside International Hotel Frimley Green, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing