We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to budget hotel chains?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great little hotel. Friendly owner, attentive staff, comfortable room and bed, good quality linen and massive breakfast!

If you are fed up with the budget chains, this little hotel knocks them into a cocked hat!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had planned a shopping weekend in Chester and only booked in a few days before. The brief was somewhere quiet within easy reach of Chester but out of the city. This place fitted the bill exactly and we were happy to have found a gem. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean & well presented and we had an enjoyable stay. The food we had was plentiful and tasty and reasonably priced. Overall no complaints at all. Definitely going back, definitely worth a visit. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a little gem. Lovely staff and landlady. Fab rooms. Great shower. Had a lovely bar meal before we went off to Delamere. Such a bargain. We will definitely return. We would recommend to anyone. Cheshire does it in style yet again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I'm pleased to say the chef that made this restaurant successful several years ago is back, and what a pleasant surprise it was. The old team was poor, but with a fresh team in place, the sizzling platters are flying out of the kitchen again. The potions are a good size leaving little room for the sweets. A good range of beers and a pleasant surroundings, happy staff makes for an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryP208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a family wedding.

The rooms are smallish but clean and well decorated with complementary tea/coffee, TV and full en-suite facilities. There are no toiletries provided other than hand-wash but the towels are changed daily.

We dined here for one evening meal and Sunday lunch. The food was of a good standard, not fine dining but tasty and well presented. Value for money the bar food was about average price. The whole of the staff were cheerful and attentive and the bar has a good range of local and continental beers.

The overall experience was both welcoming and homely and so I would recommend the Inn to anyone looking to stay in this part of Cheshire.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich53y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to the George and Dragon some years ago and was impressed by the decor but didn't eat there. So as we were in the area we thought we would give it a go. We wished we hadn't. My French onion soup was nothing like any I've had before and the 2 bits of toast floating on top were in no way like the cheesy bread thing that should have been there. It was ok but really only half a bowlful.
The Club sandwich was really poor, done on sliced white bread with tasteless bacon and even more tasteless chicken. The lettuce was the most tasty thing there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A new team has taken over following two years of uninspiring management and poor quality. They have rescued the reputation of this erstwhile excellent restaurant and it is now returning to the previous high standard.
Visited during the first week in which the restaurant re-opened
Well worth putting back on your places to eat at list

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertTheAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
8.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
708 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
402 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing