We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went to Carfest for the weekend and stayed here, Staff were so friendly and when we needed anything they were more than happy to help. Rooms were spotless, beds were comfy, facilities were great (T.V, WiFi, Tea + Biscuits :) ) Overall the place was great!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamJoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We don't normally stay in B&B's because of a number of bad experience. The George & Dragon is located in the centre of a little village not far from Chester, so a great base for exploring the local area. Greeted in a warm and friendly manor and shown up to our well appointed room on the first floor. Room 2 was big enough with everything you need and a large en suite. It was very clean and everything worked. A rarity in my experience of B&B's. The rooms are above a lovely pub run by a small but efficient team. Although the pub is frequented by a lot of locals we were made to feel welcome and had a good night. There is also a restaurant attached to the pub which provided us with a delicious evening meal. High quality ingredients cooked to a very high standard. I had the the oriental pork belly and my wife the bacon wrapped chicken. Breakfast was served outside in the little courtyard. Once again delicious food, and one of the best hotel breakfast I have had in a while. If every B&B was as well run and welcoming as this I would frequent them more often, but in my experience this is the exception to the rule. Top marks to the G&D and a big thank you to all the team.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My friend and I have just returned from having a fantastic evening meal here. Very homely and welcoming greeting given to us by a very pleasant man when we arrived.
We had tried to book into another place not far away but they where closed for the evening due to a private party or something.
If you have never dined here then I would highly recommend that you try it as the food we had was excellent and very reasonably priced.
My friend and I could not fault the food or customer service which was shown to us.
Another plus point for this hotel is that it has a children's menu and a car park.
Well done to the owner of this hotel my friend and I will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great little hotel. Friendly owner, attentive staff, comfortable room and bed, good quality linen and massive breakfast!

If you are fed up with the budget chains, this little hotel knocks them into a cocked hat!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdgmconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had planned a shopping weekend in Chester and only booked in a few days before. The brief was somewhere quiet within easy reach of Chester but out of the city. This place fitted the bill exactly and we were happy to have found a gem. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean & well presented and we had an enjoyable stay. The food we had was plentiful and tasty and reasonably priced. Overall no complaints at all. Definitely going back, definitely worth a visit. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a little gem. Lovely staff and landlady. Fab rooms. Great shower. Had a lovely bar meal before we went off to Delamere. Such a bargain. We will definitely return. We would recommend to anyone. Cheshire does it in style yet again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I'm pleased to say the chef that made this restaurant successful several years ago is back, and what a pleasant surprise it was. The old team was poor, but with a fresh team in place, the sizzling platters are flying out of the kitchen again. The potions are a good size leaving little room for the sweets. A good range of beers and a pleasant surroundings, happy staff makes for an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryP208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#32 of 44 in Chester
483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
351 reviews
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Property: George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing