We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Surroundings and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Just got back from a weekend break with some girlfriends and we stayed 1 night at the George & Dragon.

Have to say the service was excellent, the whole place is clean and newly decorated with a modern contemporary theme. The restaurant was rammed packed on Saturday night but the staff went out of their way to find us a table and the food as excellent, as was the breakfast the following morning.

Highly recommended, so pleased I am thinking of going again with my partner, nice and handy for both Chester Centre and Cheshire Oaks. Situated in a charming village.

Thanks to the manager and staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalsallWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

We booked this hotel on the last minute for a trip to Cheshire Oaks for a little retail therapy. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable and we received a very warm welcome from the staff. The bar has a very warm contemporary feel and the service is excellent.

If you are looking for quality accomodation close to Chester then the George and Dragon should not be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on business.
Rooms a good size and clean.
Staff welcoming and food in restaurant very good

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltwomanWhitegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Having eaten in the accompanying restaurant before on a few occassions I decided to
book a 1 night stay at the George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin.
We wanted to stay outside of Chester and found this Hotel via their website.
We reserved a room by phone a week before arrival.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room.
The room was clean, extremely modern with a lovely double bed, crisp cotton sheets and a wonderful bathroom. The Freeview TV and Tea making facilities were great and altogether the room felt very cosy.
We decided to take the bus into Chester and were kindly informed that they run every half hour from the centre of the village. (50 yards away). It toook 20 mins to get to Chester and this is a great option if you dont want to drive.
We returned for the evening and had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a few drinks in the bar.

In the morning we had a fantastic cooked breakfast and left feeling very satisfied with our
stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
189 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
492 reviews
10.0 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing