We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it did the job but not memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Our stay here was fine, but nothing remarkable.
We had thought when we booked it that the stay included breakfast but we were quite dispaointed to find out upon arrival that breakfast was another £8 each.
The room was quite nice for pub accomodation. However the TV remote was the wrong remote so you had to use the TV buttons, the picture was not good on TV either. In general there was just a lack of attention to detail. For example there was a nice mirror with lights on the wall by the desk but where it was posiitoned meant you could not sit in the chair to use it!! Also it was a divan bed, but the sheets did not cover the checked material of the base of the divan.
The bedding was nice though and the bed comfy. Shower nice, although water drained very slowly so was ankle deep!!
Overall accomodation was nice, but nothing special!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

Originally booked for a 2 night stay but due to injury had to cut this short to one night at the last moment. 2nd night was cancelled without issue or charge.

Room was on the small side but perfectly adequate with all that was necessary to be comfortable for a short stay including tea/coffee making facilities. Bed very comfortable. Central heating did not work originally but as soon as reported it was immediately (within 5 minutes) investigated and resolved.

Dinner was excellently cooked, presented and served. Good selection and well priced as was the wine list. Not perhaps haut cuisine but certainly superior pub food. All this in a full restaurant on a Saturday night. Particularly noted that the wait staff worked as a well experienced team ensuring prompt but not rushed service.

Throughout our brief stay all staff were professional, courteous and appeared concerned that we should enjoy our stay. A tribute to the management.

We have stayed in 5 star hotels in various countries where we have received much worse service regardless of cost. Would have no hestitation in recommending the George & Dragon to anyone visiting Chester or the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I got this hotel from Laterooms at a very good price of £39.95 for a double used as a single. First impressions were mixed. There is no reception, just a bar in a very lively (for which read noisy) gastro pub. The busy staff were all very pleasant but obviously busy. I had to pay for the whole stay immediately. The hotel seems to be a bit of an afterthought to the restaurant.

I couldn't face a meal in the restaurant that night because of the noise, caused by its popularity, a bar area with hard wooden floors and music playing that nobody was listening to but everybody was trying to talk over. So I went elsewhere. Fortunately there are several eating places in the village. I chose a very good Chinese restaurant at the edge of the village towards Chester with very nice dim sum.

Next night I did eat in the restaurant, choosing the bargain 2 course menu available before 7p.m. In the carpeted area and before the crowds got in it was a very pleasant experience. The pate starter I chose was tasty, and the steak pie had real meat in it - can't always be guaranteed. The vegetables were nicely cooked too. Good, then, if not exceptional, but it was the budget menu so I expect some of the other dishes to be of a higher standard.

The room was rather small for a double, but perfect for me. It was apparently recently refurbished with a flat screen television and comfortable bed. The shower room was like any other, the shower itself being good, though the white enamel mercilessly showed (small) deficiencies in cleaning. As in so many hotels, however, small but important omissions detracted from guest comfort. There was nowhere in the shower, for example, to put your soap or gel, except on the floor. Worse was the omission of a shaver light, making a good shave something of a hit and miss affair.

Overall, then, a nice enough room which could have been better with a little thought. Fortunately the room, above the pub, was not as noisy as I feared and I was more distressed by the bell ringers who started up at the church nearby - all very atmospheric but even I could tell they had a lot to learn. Mercifully they gave up after half an hour.

The village is very pleasant with less through traffic than most. In addition to the very solid church there are a couple of handsome buildings, including an impressive Cheshire style half timbered one beside the church.

Two other things to note, one good, one not so good unless you like lying in. The WiFi is free and very fast - just ask for the code. However the breakfasts are ridiculously late, not starting till 9a.m. If anyone knows of a hotel with a later breakfast I'd be surprised. It was possible to find breakfast elsewhere but really it has to be put down as a black mark.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Sadly the staff and management that we met on our particular visit does not bare any relation to the previous comments. The rooms though small are very comfortable but the attitude of staff and management had something to be desired. We felt hassled all the time for bills to be paid immediately and had to point out charges for meals that we didnt have.Missing tv remote control was reported but never materialised despite assurances to the contrary.This is a lovely pub in a great location but not to be recommended from our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dales2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Just got back from a weekend break with some girlfriends and we stayed 1 night at the George & Dragon.

Have to say the service was excellent, the whole place is clean and newly decorated with a modern contemporary theme. The restaurant was rammed packed on Saturday night but the staff went out of their way to find us a table and the food as excellent, as was the breakfast the following morning.

Highly recommended, so pleased I am thinking of going again with my partner, nice and handy for both Chester Centre and Cheshire Oaks. Situated in a charming village.

Thanks to the manager and staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalsallWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We booked this hotel on the last minute for a trip to Cheshire Oaks for a little retail therapy. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable and we received a very warm welcome from the staff. The bar has a very warm contemporary feel and the service is excellent.

If you are looking for quality accomodation close to Chester then the George and Dragon should not be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on business.
Rooms a good size and clean.
Staff welcoming and food in restaurant very good

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltwomanWhitegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
421 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Townhouse Chester
The Townhouse Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
343 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing