We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gunnery Brasserie - CLOSED

The Gunnery Brasserie
Price range: US$10 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a warm, welcoming, inviting bar and restaurant located in the scenic village of Tarvin in the heart of Cheshire. Our charming premises date back to the early 19th century and many of the original features remain, culminating in a rustic and traditional dining setting. Coupled with our enthusiastic and motivated team we hope to provide an experience not to be forgotten.
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a really lovely dinner tonight at at the Gunnery. The fish sharing platter was Delicious. Nice bistro atmosphere with polished wood tables and candles. Very Good time had by all!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshiredeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    56
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent French Gourmet Evening”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

5 course meal with an excellent glass of wine selected carefully to complement each course.
I look forward to the next Gourmet evening ......

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic and professional venue”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch with a friend who has a great love of steak, when booking advised this and was immediately facilitated although steak is not normally part of the Sunday menus. True enough on arriving we were warmly welcomed and after good starters the steaks were produced and well received. being lunchtime we were not able to sample the wine list but the two local ales were excellent.
I wish I lived nearer and could attend their 'French Gourmet Evening', all in all a most welcoming and professional performance. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnDSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak night”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thursday night is steak night and we can thoroughly recommend a visit. (Although of course steak is on the regular menu too.)

I had the fillet which was divine and cooked to perfection. My partner's steak was equally delicious and neither of us left a even a morsel. Fluffy baked potatoes and great coleslaw were included, together with a sour cream dressing and ratatouille (the latter isn't my favourite, but was still fresh and tasty).

Great cuts of meat, cooked well - what more can you ask for. Yes, the staff are great, as is the ambiance.

Steak night will be a regular occurrence if the standard remains this high!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We got a voucher off AmazonLocal and dined at the Gunnery in Tarvin. Nice & handy with easy parking and a warm welcome from the staff. Very personal service but nothing too gushing, just nice and relaxed. We were shown to our table in the restaurant; wooden floors, high ceilings, a fire and candles. The waiters were polite and just had a naturally relaxed air about them.
Good choice of food on the menu and it stipulates a bit of a wait for the food as it's freshly prepared. We had to wait but it didn't matter as the staff were attentive and the atmosphere was great. The squid in chilli for a starter was divine and the corned beef hash, my boyfriend said, was delicious. He had steak, which was excellent and my spaghetti marinara was gorgeous. The shiraz and NZ sauvigon blanc, well, what else......excellent!
We would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoosieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gunnery Brasserie also viewed

 
Tarvin, Chester
Tarvin, Chester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing