We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shouldnt be classed as a hotel its a bar and tiny”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Red Lion Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarvin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

sorry to say i wouldnt stay here again we were here on fri and sat 7th and 8th of sep for a wedding at the wild boar inn it was ok for a couple of nights but there was a 21st party on the sat and didnt finish till 3 in the morning there was a marque in the car park next to the cars we couldnt get to sleep for people fighting, breaking windows, and swearing, it didnt help that the windows were single glazing and the toilet window didnt close the beds were were clean and comfortable but it really does need a refit and decorating the stairs are very narrow no good for elderly people im 70 but fit but it would be no good for anyone with a disability, it is advertised as having a restaurant it does not, it does not do breakfast as advertised it does not have cots, and does not have a dvd player.the landlady was friendly but we were made to pay as soon as we got there usualy you pay when you leave but it was handy for the wedding .

Room Tip: dont stay more than a couple of nights its a pub with rooms to let.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel rooms were above the main bar, which made it very loud at night and having children staying is no good at all , it seemed that there were having a lock in after closing time. Which made it unbearable to sleep until early hours of the morning, on Saturday night there had a 21st birthday party we arrived back at 12.30 am due to being at a wedding reception, the car park of the hotel was packed with guest is went on until about 3am , could not sleep at all. The rooms were dirty with dust and with a few cob webs and we had a dirty comb in one of our draws , also the room was not turned over on sat morning only the cup was cleaned when I had a coffee, even the milk wasn't filled up , the bin was not even emptied either still had the same rubbish in from Friday. This needs to be refurbished in the near future. Will not be back ..........

Room Tip: Don't bother.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in july,quiet village 5 miles from chester.good bus service.friendly pub,but not for family's very very noisy, music untill 1.30 a.m.rooms quite small,our group was 3 adults.double bed not big enough for 2,fish and chips across the road,cafe seving good food.full breakfast with tea for five pounds.defenatly not for a small family.ok for singles,or young couples.

Room Tip: mind your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor, but were quite disappointed. Our room was below an apartment which wasn't very sound-proof, as we heard every foot-step and conversations from the people above. Worse was the pub below had an entrance below our room, which was obviously the smoking area, where the patrons were extremey noisy until early in the morning. The breakfast was a cereal box, two pieces of toast, two slices of ham, and two slices of cheese. Not what I have come to expect from most B&B and hotels that advertise breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Went with a group of friends for a night out in Chester and stayed here. At £55 for 3 in a room on a Saturday night it was great value, and the taxi was only £13 each way between 6 of us, even coming back at 2am. The staff were helpful and the room very clean with a double and single bed. Spacious clean bathroom. Had a great nights sleep! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I concur with Joan Hughes, (as we stopped over at the location together with some other lovely ladies) we stayed at the Red Lion what a delightful, clean and quirky little place, the people were very friendly and helpful. One of the best nights sleep I have had (in a single bed mind) it was so lovely, I especially enjoyed the shower (once I got it working lol - nothing wrong with the shower just my brain not working properly) I have said that we are going to go and stay again, it is close enough to Chester (13 quid in taxi). A definite if you are planning a night in Chester and need somewhere comfortable clean and well presented

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juslisash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here last night with 5 of my friends. Very clean and comfortable, not noisy at all. I stayed in the superior room which was very spacious. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, I would definetely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Was very impressed with the size and comfort of the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanHughes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
397 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,472 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.4 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#6 of 76 in Chester
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Church Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarvin
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Tarvin, Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing