We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Your dream home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your dream home!
Hillside House Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Your dream home!
Hillside House
Living area
Living area
Seating area
Living area
Kitchen area
kitchen with breakfast table
dining area
log burner
foosball
Full lenth dressing mirror
Downstairs bathroom
landing
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
En suite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Outdoor seating
Patio
Recliners
patio with seating
Landscaped garden
paddock
Paddock
Distant views
Views into Cheshire countryside!
farmland views
flowers galore!
car port
garden
kiki the hen!
jokers of the garden!
lucy the lamb
Driveway
approach
turn left now!
Sunset at Hillside!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tarvin, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stuart488
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

spent a pleasant 3 nights in safe and comfortable surroundings, with lovely views. Walked into Tarvin and had a very good meal at The Gunnery. We look forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
1 review
“A VERY IMPRESSIVE BARN CONVERSION HOLIDAY LET”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

An excellent holiday venue only 5 miles from the lovely city of Chester, but with plenty of other attractions listed in the helpful folder provided within easy reach. We only had two days there due to illness but the barn was lovely, with great countryside views - and we were allowed to bring our Westie!.

It was clean and secure with electronic gates, spacious and comfortable, although you have to mind your head upstairs. There was even covered parking for the car and no problems with noise from the main road once inside the barn. There were a few minor niggles - although very smart the shower was awkward to use, there was no kitchen paper towel roll and we couldn't find athe handle for the oven grille pan. .Nothing really serious enough to warrant a reduction in the 5 full star rating but maybe if there was the facility it would have been 4 and a half. We still loved it!
We met the owner who was very understanding when we had to leave earlier than expected, and we were sorry to have to go.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunieBonB...
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious holiday let set in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Spent three weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the barn. Whilst close to the village of tarvin and the city of Chester, the location and grounds allows you to gain peace and tranquility after a busy day. Our son who is 3 absolutely loved the outdoor area and neighboring fields and it proved a safe and lovely setting for him to simply roam and have fun.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoannaP41...
1 review
“Great place to stay near Chester!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I've been travelling with family (4 adults and a teenager all together). We wanted to visit Snowdonia, Chester and Liverpool. We've been looking for accommodation near enough to visit those places in one weekend. Hill house seemed to tick all the boxes.
The house is located few minutes drive from Chester. Well equipped and nicely situated, clean and warm. It has a parking space under the roof and set of chairs and table outside. At house we found set of useful info left by Bona, with all the details about attractions around. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to a friend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoors countryside views
Liked least: Some finishing touches were required, i.e. blinds, bedroom side tables, pedestal bins.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing