We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value”
other travellers have booked this property
Your dream house!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your dream house!
Exterior Landscape garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Your dream house!
Exterior
Landscape garden
Patio
Outdoor seating
Patio
Living area
Living area
Living area
Log burner
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
landing
Kitchen
Dining area
Views from the barn
Paddock
Sunset at Hillside!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Tarvin, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
linda6420...
Bawtry, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is not a 2 bedroom property!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Firstly, I ought to say that this property is spacious and well-furnished, and in a great position overlooking the Cheshire countryside.
However, it does not have 2 bedrooms as advertised. One 'bedroom' is actually the loft space over the kitchen/living/shower room and is open plan to it, that is, no door and therefore no privacy. The second so-called 'bedroom' is actually the sofa-bed in the living area. The double and single bed in the loft area together with the sofa-bed, and a blow-up mattress kept under the open-tread stairs, constitute what is described as 'sleeping up to 6'! For the four of us, all adults, who stayed here over Christmas (my daughter had a Christmas baby) it was very unsatisfactory. This property can only, in my view, accommodate 2 adults and possibly a small child. The description of it is misleading.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Hi
First of all, thank you very much for your positive observations on the property namely the location, furnishing and the ample space it offers. I do agree with you that the description is rather misleading and apologise for the same. However, as you mentioned, there is ample space and enough beds to accommodate 6 guests. We are in the process of adding another bedroom which will truly make it a two bed room property.
Once again, I thank you for your positive observations and apologise for the error in description of the property. I shall take suitable steps to amend it.
Thanks
Bona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbharriso...
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hi,

I would like to caveat this review with two very important points:
1) I would most definitely stay here again for this price
2) I did not contact the owners at any point regarding the following comments, and I am sure they would have rectified them.

The rental was excellent value, and was really easy to fell like a home away from home. There was only 3 things that let it down, 2 are easy to fix:
1) It was cleaned, but the little details were not. The hovering mainly was not all the way to the edges.
2) a few things mentioned on the website were only available on request. This is fine, but should have been clearer as I would not want to knock eveytime I needed access to the freezer had we brought frozen items
3) although its location is only 15mns drive from Chester, getting food deliveries is not ideal, so if you have a young family with early bedtimes, be prepared to cook.

All that said though, we are now aware, and I would not hesitate to return and have already recommended it to family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Hi
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Following your review, we have put in practice the following:
I have asked the cleaners to be more thorough with their work.
We have also made provision for the key to the laundry area (For washer, dryer and freezer) to be available to the guests without having the need to ask us.
I hope the above improvements will help all the future guests at Hillside in enjoying their stay to the full.
Thank you once again
Bona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect, secluded, long or short-stay accommodation close to all amenities!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We wanted a pet-friendly property with private surroundings and easy access to Chester for a two-night stay meeting up with family. This area was new to us and I left it late to book.
So lucky to find this lovely, spacious and comfortable barn conversion only 10 minutes from the city! Everything about this experience was easy and stress-free from booking on-line to checking in and out of the property. We were warm and cosy in minutes, thanks to
the lovely lounge wood-burner. We invited our family over for a meal on the 2nd day and they loved it. They thought it was extremely good value for money in comparison to their
hotel and would try to book it in the future. We would highly recommend this experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall space, comfort and outdoor freedom.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistermrm...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pretty and spacious barn conversion”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed over with our young son for a wedding. The place is tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a short break. It was a bit chilly when we arrived but it soon warmed up with the heaters. There is a log burner too but we didnt use it. The grounds are beautiful and it was lovely to wake up to the gorgeous countryside outside the big patio windows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting, price and comfort
Liked least: Toilet all the way on the ground floor!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiep15...
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation for our family of three adults”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found this Barn Conversion very clean and tidy. There was everything we needed for our two night stay. It is close to local shops and places to eat.

The outlook from the patio is pure country side which is lovely to look out to on any day regardless of the weather.

It is about 5 miles from Chester City Centre and not too far from Liverpool so ideally situated.

I would book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: kept hitting head on ceiling (I should have learnt after first time)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: fridge was only a cooler.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony_mc27
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I recently stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and found this accommodation perfect for us. There were 2 adults and 1 dog travelling and there was something for everyone in this accommodation.

I would definitely recommend this place for 2 adults or maybe a small family as there is only one bedroom upstairs and one bathroom which is located downstairs. The barn is furnished very well with good size TV and appliances and the location is perfect (15 mins to chester / cheshire oaks etc) and a short walk/drive into Tarvin where you will find a couple of pubs and an excellent chippy.

The barn is on the same site as the owners, but faces away from their lovely property so you still get to feel like you are on your own. The owners though are lovely and Bona couldn't do enough. We had a BBQ on the Saturday and he even came over to tidy up the BBQ once we finished. The grounds are lovely too and there is a big field by the patio so our dog was in his element.

Additional info: I booked the wrong dates in error and it clashed with a prior commitment and after contacting Bona by e-mail he quickly worked out possible options for us and was very understanding and changed our dates no questions asked - thank you Bona

We would love to return as it ticked all our boxes in what we look for when we book this type of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Patio and BBQ was great
Liked least: Downstairs toilet at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing