We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

having just been married at gretna green we my daughter son in-law and 3 children decided to stay here we for 2 nights them for 1 night we had previously phoned to make a reservation for dinner at 9 as we thought we were going to be late on arrival we were met by a receptionist who could hardly raise a smile who also kept pronouncing our surname wrong we asked her to change our dinner reservation from 9 to 8.30 as we had arrived earlier than what we expected she phoned the restaurant and said we are a party of 3 adults and 2 children only seconds before we had told her it was 4 adults and 3 children and we were all standing in front of her. In the restaurant the baby who's 15 mths old was making a bit of a noise because he was hungry we asked for some bread for him to keep him quiet after 15 mins we were still waiting so i went to were the kitchen was to ask for the bread again and was told they would have to ask the chef eventually the bread arrived at the table the baby was being quiet almost immediately the waitress came and asked to speak to my daughter and was asked to leave the restaurant because the baby was being to noisy in earshot of other guests because 2 couples had complained the 5 yr old started to cry because he thought he wasn't going to get any dinner we were taken to the boardroom to have dinner feeling utterly humiliated we also didn't go for breakfast the day after because of the humiliation we felt bearing in mind they have children's menus and highchairs in the restaurant also the fold up bed provided for the children was full of stains and not fit for a tramp no bedding for them either even tho my son in-law had asked for some at reception when we changed our dinner time rubbish still in the room both our rooms were on the ground floor and had seating right outside the window my husband had to get up early in the morning and tell someone to shut up because they where sat there on there mobile it was like someone sitting on your window sill information folder dirty dead insects on the window sill when my son in-law complained at check out and asked to speak to a manager was told no one was available and he would be contacted on monday but that didn't happen till tuesday on a good note the food was really nice just the hotel is badly managed and not suitable for disabled or families with prams

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JILLSHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write following your disappointing experience at Hazlewood Castle. I can assure you that a full investigation into the matter has been conducted to review how the issues raised were dealt with. We pride ourselves at providing excellent customer service and standards to all our guests and take all guests comments seriously to improve how we operate.

The team and I wish to pass on our sincere apologies that their actions caused distress to your family and I am at a loss as to why the matter could not have been handled in a different manner so that the outcome of your stay could have been more favourable. I have since spoken to the Duty Manager and the Heads of Department to discuss the sequence of events leading up to your party being moved to a private room, when as quite rightly you mentioned if the child had been catered for from the beginning then the this particular issue would not have arose.

Having worked for a number of years with the Duty Manager, I do not believe that her intention was to embarrass your family or to make you feel uncomfortable and she would not intentionally discuss moving you to an alternative room in the earshot of others, she was particularly distressed to have that conversation and felt it necessary to discuss the matter with the Head Chef prior to coming to the table. She obviously wanted to make your party and other guests in the restaurant as comfortable as possible and after she had received complaints from guests who had booked their tables for 8.30pm and she felt that a private room would be the best solution. We have discussed your comments since the night and we have talked through other ways of dealing with the same situation.

I have spoken to the receptionist who was on duty, who clearly did not respond to your requests and the housekeeping team who did not clean the room to the level that I expect from Hazlewood Castle and will be dealing with the matter through our disciplinary procedures. This matter has highlighted that we have internal issues to deal with and I am sorry that we were not able to resolve the issues highlighted whilst you were still at the hotel.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to show you our true hospitality, if you wished to return at any point.

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We got married at Hazlewood Castle on the 26th May and we are still on cloud 9!

We were blown away by the staff both on the day and on the lead up to the day.
Kelly, our wedding co-ordinator was fantastic. She was easy to chat with, approachable and when I had a question I was able to talk to her within minutes, however big or small my need.
Heidi and her team on the day were equally as brilliant, calm, organised and professional as well as a pleasure to be around getting on with us and our guests like friends throughout the day.
My only wish is that I had got the names of all the staff, as they all deserve a mention for their excellent service right from the night before the wedding when we arrived to the morning after when we left.

Hazlewood Castle is a stunning venue, all our rooms were immaculate. We held a blessing in the Chapel, which was beautiful, and Father Ian absolutely made our day. Many of our guests commented on his service and how this was the best wedding they had ever been to. We arranged most of our suppliers with Kelly's recommendations and this also made planning our wedding as stress free as possible, as they were all reliable and efficient.

This is a big venue holding a lot of weddings, but we were made to feel like we were the only bride and groom they had ever had. I highly recommend Hazlewood and plan to return every year for my anniversary.

Thankyou again to everyone
Sarah and Rob Ascough

Room Tip: Lavender is the perfect room for bride and bridesmaids to use the morning of the wedding as this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahAscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Well congratulations to you both.

We are absolutely delighted that you both enjoyed your Wedding Celebrations from start to finish!

The team are an asset to the hotel and truly enjoyed their jobs and it shows in their work - they get so excited about each and every wedding day!

We hope that you will not become strangers to the Hazlewood Team and hope that you will have time in our busy married lives to return and enjoy Hazlewood again.

With best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well what can I say other than again Hazlewood Castle has not disappointed me. Me and my husband have just got back after a stay in the castle for our first wedding anniversary ( We got married there last year). Service was excellent, the staff are so friendly and really can't do enough for you.
We had a three course meal in the resturant, again the staff and service was brilliant, we were also given complimentary champagne as it was our first anniversary such a lovely touch :). The food was amazing and really good quality.
I cannot recommend Hazlewood Castle enough and we will most certainly be going back :).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephdaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Happy Anniversary!!

Well what can I say - your comments are delightful and goes to show that we are not a one trick pony!

The staff are truly an asset to Hazlewood Castle and makes the service and standards that we provide - part of the norm and not just for events.

Don't be strangers we are open all year round!!!!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a fantastic place. I took my wife for a late birthday treat and was not disappointed. It got all the important bits right. The approach is delightful, the reception staff friendly & helpful, the room very very clean, big TV, fantastic shower, quality tea
facilities and the bed wonderfully comfortable. Didn't really want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatmower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we really do appreciate them!

My whole team are a joy to work with and are an asset to what Hazlewood is all about.

Please do come back to see us very soon

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had our wedding at Hazlewood Castle at the end of May and were amazed at the whole experience!

The food was brilliant and dinner service was impeccable. One waitress noticed we weren't drinking the wine on offer (neither of us really drink wine!) and offered us Pimms instead, free!

The way the day was managed by Heidi and her team was fantastic and there really is nothing we could criticise! Even when an issue arose, it was dealt with quickly and efficiently with no adverse effect to our day.

Our wedding coordinator Kelly was extremely good in helping us to organise our day and was able to answer all of our questions, no matter how silly they seemed to us!

Overall, a brilliant experience from start to finish, couldn't recommend the venue more!

Room Tip: The original castle rooms are amazing, with a separate lounge area and classic decor to suit the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbrady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Well congratulations to the two of you!!!

The team and I are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your wedding celebrations with us, Kelly, Heidi and her team truly love their jobs and get excited about every single aspect of the wedding day, they are an asset to Hazlewood.

After all that planning you probably need a rest, but don't be strangers as Hazlewood is always welcoming to Brides Old and new!!!!!!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My partner and I received a gift for an afternoon cookery masterclass at Hazelwood castle, via Red Letter Days. As it was around 100 miles away from home, we decided to book a nights stay at the castle, so we could indulge in a few drinks, and make the experience more relaxing on a whole. We arrived at 12 and after coffee and biscuits, we were given a guided tour, along with the other 8 guests, from the bedrooms, to the grounds, to the onsite chapel(I think), whilst being informed of its history from our guide. That lasted an hour or so then it was lunch time which was a 2 course meal, tender steak for the main which went down a treat with the red wine we ordered. By the time we had finished lunch we were able to check in before attending the masterclass. The room was fine with a lovely view of the grounds. We were a bit unsure about the masterclass, whether we would be taking part or just watching. It was a bit of both to be honest, and even though the demonstrations were not super advanced In skill techniques, (risotto, fish, cheesecake and those caramelised sugar baskets) they were still enjoyable to watch, taste, and get involved with. Our chef Tim Hamer was a really nice guy. At around 5 the session was complete and we retired to our room, before enjoying a drink in the grounds, as there was not really anywhere else to explore as were in an unpopulated area. As we had eaten earlier in the day we opted for a light bite for dinner, and some more drinks, both were thoroughly enjoyed. After a good night's sleep we decided to go visit York as it was only 30 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjones909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed both the mini break and masterclass.

The Masterclasses are now quarterly and are based on seasonal menus and are to suit all levels of cooking skills, for some its just great to watch someone else do the cooking and eating the profits of the class! And I appreciate that if you are an accomplished cook the skills may be lower level than expeccted - we will review this for the next set of classes to see if we need to increase the skill base or inform people what the level is likely to be.

We do hope that you fancy a mini break in the future and get to see the other sites in the local area.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We held a 50th birthday dinner party here for 9 people and the experience was disappointing to say the least, especially so in light of the cost. We wanted to make the evening special and were prepared to pay for it but instead our experience was marred by mediocre food and inexperienced staff.
The menu was very limited, especially for vegetarians, and the food when it did come, looked unappetising and only tasted ok. The marinated chicken breast was over cooked and therefore dry, as was the roasted cod dish. The chips that accompanied the steaks were so unappealing that no one ate them - 6 flabby, over-brown warmish things per plate, which considering some of our party were teenagers, is saying something. The only good thing about that meal were the onion rings which isn't much of a recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SallySRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your celebrationary meal in the Vavasour. The team are terribly upset that they did not pick up your disappointment whilst you were with us.

They are here to delight the guests, not disappoint. They remember your party very clearly being the first ones in the restaurant, the cocktails you were drinking and that they moved you to the bar for your desserts as the party who had been to the races were rather loud on the table close to yours.

My Restaurant Manager is keen to get in touch so he can gleen further information, as we do take all customer feedback seriously so that we can improve on our service and standards.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity to visit us again and we will ensure you of our Yorkshire welcome.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,855 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,723 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: £62 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing