We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Wong's Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wong's Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Ate at Wong's tonight for the first AND last time this evening. Admittedly we were reasonably late arriving at 9.20pm but were surprised and very disappointed by the dried up remnants that were being served up. We left having barely eaten anything as nothing was edible to be quite honest. The front of house staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us but the food was quite honestly the worst I have ever eaten.

My advice? Save your money and go eat somewhere else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Please don't forget this is just buffet food at a relative cheap price. Most buffet places tend to be similar and the food tends to taste pretty much the same in them all. Not a lot of flavour or substance unless you count numerous 'E' additives as food. It is what it is. Great balue especially if your hungry and want to fill your belly.
The selection of dishes isn't the largest and I have always found the food to be hot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Primmer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful and Rude Staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I attended this restaurant with my two boys, and I have been there before, I found it to be average but cheap so ok for a mid week meal. However I visited it this evening and I found there to be less food than usual on the buffet and the crispy duck pancakes had some auful sauce with them, that tasted like washing up liquid/ On asking the staff if I could have the proper sauce that usually acompanied crispy duck pancakes I was told that this was the only sauce, and not offered anything else, we where unable to eat the dish. I was charged 35.00 and had little to eat, the staff did not apologise for the substandard food when I complained, but where very rude and said that was my opinion and did not offer any solution to the problem. I would never eat here again its awful and the staff are very rude. They said they had never saw me in there before, when I had seen them and had been going there quite regularly, I would not go again after this experience, it was dire!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This buffet consisted of soggy veg, no real meat (all processed and jelly like texture!) and all sauces had far too much MSG and sugar in! Upon complaining the staff became aggressive! Clientele was of a low standard and so only take your children if you want them to be high on sugary food and to learn a vile vocabulary!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harveyraison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Great selection of food, very clean, staff are friendly, kids love it and it's cheap..... What more do u need? (different larger maybe...)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kneeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wong's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing