We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
3
6
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The hotel is rather worn, and really needs remoddeling. The food is not good. But the staff is friendly and the room seemed clean enough. Location is good in a charming small town, directly opposite the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeeBeeOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We were booked into this hotel as part of a cycling trip around Norway and it is very well located right opposite the ferry port and close to shops and the village bakery.

The hotel is rather strange with a maze of random rooms and corridors, all last decorated in the 1970s by the look of it, and it desperately needs updating. The same was true of our room, but in fairness it was clean, the bed comfortable, and the wifi fast and free.

The service at both reception and in the restaurant was minimal, with just one member of staff in evidence throughout our stay. She was surly and seemed inefficient, although as the only member of staff she may have just been utterly overwhelmed. She certainly seemed so at breakfast which had run out of tea, coffee and bread (which was pretty much all that was on offer) with no-one apparently checking and re-stocking items.

Having said all of the above, a three course dinner was included with our stay and - aside from a slight hitch when I was served prosciutto as a starter despite indicating that I am vegetarian (both at the time of booking and on sitting down for dinner) - our meal was the best that we had during our visit to Norway (during which we ate at two award-winning restaurants). The dessert of chocolate fondant was truly one of the best desserts I've ever eaten.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigeonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Recently spent 5 days in Skanevik during the Blues Festival and stayed at this wonderful hotel. Very friendly staff and wonderful location. The front balcony with its views over the fjord and snow capped mountains in the background was a wonderful place to have a meal or drink.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

We were a large group celebrating a family birthday, 90 years. First we settled into our rooms. The hallway smelled nasty, from dry rot. Later in the evening one of us asked to change rooms because the ceiling in the bathroom was black from dry rot. After being served dinner in the dining hall our group was supposed to spend the evening together in a cosy livingroom with an open fireplace. Unfortunately the room was way too cold to use for a couple of hours, until they could heat it up to an acceptable temperature. The electric heaters did not work, and two small temporary heaters were too much for the crappy electric system. Therefore the fuses blew multiple times, and we were literally left in the dark for up to 30 minutes.

Pros: the woman in charge there was accommodating, friendly, and tried to make the best out of the situation. Nice breakfast.
Cons: the most critical ones are mentioned above.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank dreamBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Basic hotel, rooms were dated, but clean and comfortable. Only one hair dryer for the whole hotel. Small, but friendly and helpful staff. We had a great couple of evening meals there and the staff were very helpful in arranging a cake and allowing us to decorate for my niece's 14th birthday, which we celebrated while in Skånvik. We enjoyed walking around the small town and exploring the oldest working farm in the area with the tour provided by the owner, including a tour of their home! Beautiful area with a small island nearby. It is also home to the Pippi Longstockings Festival...music I think.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsknittingmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews